Ratings based on 215 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
57% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Improve breakfast, no smoking - drunkenness policy

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Pros: Quiet heater. Location.
Cons: Breakfast, non-smoking/drunkenness policy. Improve the pool appearance/cleanliness. Upgrade outdated equipment. Clean icy walkways.
Location: Nice central location, adjacent to the Mall.
The facility met expectations for the price. Was not happy with the ice on the parking lot and the walk-ways to the entrance. Overall the hotel was ok, but needs some upgrading. There was no bath tub in the room, but the shower was of good size. Visible dirt line around the shower floor. Sink is located in the room, and the faucet is loud. Beds were overall clean and comfortable. However, one of the beds had a fitted-sheet on that was too small for the bed and kept slipping off, which crumbled the bedding. I liked the fact that the heater was working well and very quietly. The curtain kept falling down on one side. The maintenance guy (who smelled like he hasn't showered for a month) tried to work on fixing it, but stated that the curtain rail is too old and outdated to be fixed. So, we tried not to touch the curtain any longer. Continental breakfast is nothing special, very simple and snack-like. No hot foods, except waffles. No eggs. I didn't even bother getting up for breakfast on the second day of stay, although the continental breakfast was one of the conditions we considered when choosing the hotel. The inside pool was another condition, but we never got to use it, because the water (or the bottom of the pool) looked rather arguable, so we went to YMCA instead. One thing that bothered me the most is that people, including the staff, were smoking right infront of the entrance door to the hotel. We were told by the staff that the facility is non-smocking, but had to in
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Nice!

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Pros: Nice location, nice pool!
Cons: The breakfast room was crowded and not well arranged
Location: Many places to eat and shop, easy location to everything!
Close to Vancouver Mall, friendly staff arranged for our multiple family rooms to be close by!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland, Or

Posted Jan 13, 2017
Pros: Friendly,and clean
Location: The Howard Johnson is next to the Vancouver, WA mall
It was a clean, and the staff were welcoming. The breakfast setup was pretty good.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Spokane Washington

Overall stay.

Posted Jan 1, 2017
Pros: Good breakfast, easy access to freeway,
Cons: Explanation of room, what is included with price. I was told that the hotel room I paid for did not have a refrigerator due to the cost of the room.
Location: Near Vancouver Mall.
Disappointed that the hotel room had no refrigerator. Had to buy bagged ice to keep items cold in the cooler.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Eugene, Oregon

Poor staff knowledge and rules

Posted Dec 31, 2016
Was a great location, but for the staff and professional courtesy was a lack there of. Just because I expressed my frustration that one staff member failed to relay the information that the pool was closed to children after 9, Nate, the night watch not only had his child there behind the counter, but preceded to tell me he could check me out right then and that he could call the police. How or why would you threaten such a thing? He also said he would knock on every door till he found me. This was at 10:45 at night. Poor poor customer service, I will never be back mainly for that. Also the picture of the breakfast bar was not the one on site. Poor misrepresentation, very sad.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from vancouver wa

sorry, im not homeless

Posted Dec 27, 2016
these ppl wanted 200$ to hang on to for 5 days because my drivers license address was from the same city. citing that 'you must be homeless '. Is this is how they treat ppl that need a room? it was like 35 degress outside, what if i were homeless? ill never chose Howard Johnsons again if i have choices.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle WA

Cheap for a reason

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Pros: Not much. The shower was better than expected, though.
Cons: Everything
Location: Well, it's near the mall which should have been my first warning...
We needed a place to stay for a quick overnight. Loved the price but was hoping it wouldn't be as grungy as it was. No fridge, bad flourescent lighting, burn marks in blankets, holes patched up in walls, loud intercourse in the middle of the night from neighbor, grimy pool that we didn't go near, very outdated, dude at the front desk barely acknowledged us...pretty nasty experience all in all. You get what you pay for, apparently.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good thing it close to the mall.

Posted Dec 11, 2016
The carpet is dirty...the building needs some renovation...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Pleasent experience!

Posted Nov 8, 2016
Pros: Staff is very friendly. The beds are super comfy. The rooms were very cozy & clean. I would defiantly stay here again.
Cons: A mini fridge in the room would have been nice. But other than that, hotel was perfect!
Location: Perfect location! Easy to get too. Easy freeway access, & just footsteps from the mall! :)
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Perfect for what it is.

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Location: Directly across from the Vancouver mall, you can walk to it. Many restaurants and stores within a few minutes drive. And very easy to get on I-205.
Nice location, staff was very friendly. Only problem I had was the room above me seemed to have kids running around stomping on the floor. Once I was sleeping, it was no problem, but it didn't make watching tv easy. I was only in the room to sleep really. This is not an issue with the hotel at all, just rude guests.