Ratings based on 858 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
56% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from wa

Close to the mall but only ok.

Posted May 12, 2017
The location of this hotel is great. But the quality is deffinitly going down. The tv only worked with the remote and could only go up on chanel. No volume control, no down for channel, could not select numbers. Door also does not shut when you close it. We had to push it closed with our bodies. Make sure it really shuts all the time! Took us 25 minutes of waiting to check out cause they only had 1 person in staff. Breakfast was good. Bed was comfy.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 14, 2017 by Beth, Hotel Management
We are sorry that you had trouble during your stay. At any time you can contact the front desk to have problems fixed. The reason we had trouble with the lobby doors is because we are remodeling the lobby and we didn't want the paint fumes to bother the guests. When the doors remain open for to long they have to reset.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It work out well

Posted May 11, 2017
Pros: quite for sleeping
Cons: nothing
Location: it worked out well
it was good the staff was fine and I enjoyed staying here
Comment from Hotel Management
May 14, 2017 by Beth, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us. It was a pleasure to have you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, WA

A pleasant way to take a break away from home.

Posted May 1, 2017
Pros: The shower stall was remarkably big,, and the water stayed at temperature throughout the whole showering time
Cons: There could be a covered area to smoke (Smoking not allowed in buildings in WA) away from driveway area.
Location: The location to the I-205 and SR 500 freeways is convenient for trvelers. For locals the location is within minutes from anywhere in Vancouver.
This Howard Johnson is located right beside the Westfield Shopping Mall (Formally Vancouver Mall). The rooms are furnished with nicely maintained items, the color scheme in the room we were in was very tasteful and (in my opinion) soothingly relaxing. ( color theme was a marine blue and dark/light greens for fabrics and dark 'mahogany' wood for furniture) If your looking to get away from the kids for a night of relaxation THIS would be the place to do it.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 4, 2017 by Beth, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us Jon. We hope to see you again soon.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, WA

Saturday Night at Howard Johnson sucks

Posted Apr 25, 2017
The check in front desk person was great but the grave yard front desk person was awful and kicked me out at midnight for having a conversation with my friend that has a really loud speaking voice but she was dropped on my conversation outside my hotel door and then kicked me out for no really good reason not even a warning to keep the loud speaking down. I believe she was having a bad night and had to pick on the first guest possible, so I need my money back or a free night in the hotel cause she doesn't know customer service even if it bit her in her butt.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 27, 2017 by Beth, Hotel Management
You were removed from our hotel for many guest complaints about you and your guest fighting quite loudly and then not answering your door after repeated attempts by our front desk agent.. Our front desk person could hear you fighting in the hallway. As adults, you should know what is acceptable in a hotel environment and shouldn't have to been warned.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel easy to find

Posted Apr 13, 2017
My wife, infant daughter and I recently stayed here. When my wife called to ask about a crib in the room, she was informed that the king size beds were over booked, and we had been bumped to a 2 queen room. If we'd have known that was going to happen, we wouldn't have reserved it in the first place. We went to the indoor pool to swim and relax. Apparently the pool heater was turned down, because the pool was cold. My wife noticed in the shower, there was virtually no water pressure. The water was trickling out of the shower head. That's pretty much the 3 strikes rule for me. I'm working on this side of the state for a few more months. We won't be staying here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 15, 2017 by Beth, Hotel Management
Austin, We are sorry that you had so many problems during your stay. We wanted to let you know that our pool is automated and the temperature is set. We have looked into the water flow in that room and everything seems to be in working order at this time. We are sorry that you had trouble with it. We wish you luck and safe travels.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Kids loved the pool and hot tub, as well as the breakfast!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 13, 2017 by Beth, Hotel Management
We are so happy to hear that the kids enjoyed our pool. Safe travels and thank you for staying with us.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to mall, indoor pool

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Hotel is within walking distance of Vancouver mall and several restaurants. It has an indoor pool and hot tub which is great for the kids. Free breakfast in the AM. Overall good hotel for the value however I was required to pay additional 200 deposit on the room upon checking in. The deposit was returned after check out but was just disappointing with the last minute notice. The overall feel to the hotel was cheap and not inviting.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 11, 2017 by Beth , Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us. We wanted to let you know that on our website and on all the 3rd party websites, it does say that we require a deposit. We are sorry that you missed it (it happens a lot). As an economy hotel we try to make our guests feel welcome. We are in the process of updating our rooms and the rest of the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel

Posted Apr 8, 2017
The beds were hard and the pillows were too the cont. breakfast could have had more choices. Nice hotel though
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 8, 2017 by Beth, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us. The beds and the pillows are new, so hopefully they get broken in a little more to your liking. We hope to see you again soon.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 30, 2017
Loud guests with no staff involvement to cease the noise. No microwave or fridge.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 1, 2017 by Beth, Hotel Management
Thank you for letting us know about the problems you had during your stay. We wanted to let you know that for a little more money you could have had a microwave and refrigerator. You just have to speak with or front desk agent to have that arranged, or if you booked 3rd party you need to speak with that company about your needs. Also we have someone on duty 24hours a day. If you ever have trouble with noise please let them know so that they can remedy the situation. Thank you for your stay. Safe travels.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ID

Out dated, old.

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Clean can't fix run down old ... Towels need to be replaced. Walls, blinds, refrigerator, air conditioner and phone, need to be replaced... Nothing worked properly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 28, 2017 by Beth, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We wanted to let you know that we are in the middle of painting the rooms. We are sorry that you didn't get one of the finished rooms. We are confused that if nothing in your room worked correctly, why you didn't contact the front desk to have the situation corrected?