Ratings based on 889 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
56% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Everett, WA

Nice place, great value for the money.

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Pros: Really nice place, very friendly people. Good breakfast.
Cons: A little maintenance
Location: Loved going to the Ilani casino
This place was much better than the high end $200+ resort I stayed at on this same trip.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2017 by Beth Assistant Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us. We hope that you will visit us again soon. Have a wonderful day.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

OK but over priced based on the conditions

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: It was quite enough, except our AC unit.
Cons: Overall it just needs to be renovated, the breakfast needs someone attending it so when things run out they can be replenished.
Travelling with my two boys I needed a place to crash and I didn't make a reservation ahead of time. I booked with Expedia on my mobile phone after trying two other area hotels that didn't have any rooms available. This hotel was probably built in the early 80's and it appears no major renovations have occurred since. The beds were comfortable enough, the bathroom had some noticeable mildew on the baseboard around the shower. Grout in bathroom was pretty filthy. The rooms have been repainted and they went right over the existing wall paper, not bothering to remove any obstacles such as towel bars, switch covers, etc and they all had paint on them. Overall the room was OK but for the price paid for two queens it seemed a bit on the high side considering the accommodations. AC unit was very loud. TV was the size of a typical computer monitor and was only low def. We were not able to access a guide with the remote provided and had to surf thru all of the shopping channels to find anything to watch. Included continental breakfast was bit sparse. We came down at 8:30 and it ends at 9:00. Only one of the three cereal choices remained. The waffle batter dispenser was empty. I grabbed the last banana and the apples looked like they had been there for awhile. Other choices included yogurt, bagels and toast and pre-made pancakes that I guess you were supposed to put in the mircowave as they were in the case with the bread. So overall a pretty disappointing breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 13, 2017 by Beth Assistant Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your time to leave us a review. We wanted to let you know that we are now under new ownership and that the hotel will be getting a makeover. This doesn't happen overnight, but it will be happening. We hope that you will give us another chance in the future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Less is not always more

Posted Jun 29, 2017
First, they wouldn't cancel our Thursday night even though we didn't need it and called with plenty of time to cancel it. They were very un- accommodating with our reservations. We were on the third floor and the only ice machine was down in the lobby. And there was no fridge in the room, which we were specific about needing. It was an uncomfortable stay. The bed was miserable to sleep on, we kept rolling in on eachoyher and there was still cookie on the floor left by a previous guest. Definitely not my best hotel experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2017 by Beth Assistant Manager, Hotel Management
We are sorry that you didn't have a good experience at our hotel. Because you booked through Expedia; they are the ones responsible for your room choice and cancellation. Your other concerns have been addressed by our staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from edmonton Alberta Canada

Good stay.

Posted Jun 11, 2017
I had no issues staying here, rooms were clean and staff was friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 12, 2017 by Beth, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us. Come back anytime.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Klamath Falls, OR

Great place to stay, close to shopping.

Posted May 30, 2017
Cons: It would have been nice to have a small refrigerator and we were surprised there wasn't one. But everything else was fine.
Lovely pool and hot tub; breakfast adequate with waffles too. We appreciate the staff as they addressed our issue of the TV not working by offering us another room which we declined; we weren't that worried about not having a TV for 2 days. But upon checking out, the desk clerk volunteered and gave us a $25 credit because of the issue. Very nice!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 1, 2017 by Beth, Hotel Management
Thank you for your stay with us. We hope to see you again soon.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from wa

Close to the mall but only ok.

Posted May 12, 2017
The location of this hotel is great. But the quality is deffinitly going down. The tv only worked with the remote and could only go up on chanel. No volume control, no down for channel, could not select numbers. Door also does not shut when you close it. We had to push it closed with our bodies. Make sure it really shuts all the time! Took us 25 minutes of waiting to check out cause they only had 1 person in staff. Breakfast was good. Bed was comfy.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 14, 2017 by Beth, Hotel Management
We are sorry that you had trouble during your stay. At any time you can contact the front desk to have problems fixed. The reason we had trouble with the lobby doors is because we are remodeling the lobby and we didn't want the paint fumes to bother the guests. When the doors remain open for to long they have to reset.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It work out well

Posted May 11, 2017
Pros: quite for sleeping
Cons: nothing
Location: it worked out well
it was good the staff was fine and I enjoyed staying here
Comment from Hotel Management
May 14, 2017 by Beth, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us. It was a pleasure to have you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, WA

A pleasant way to take a break away from home.

Posted May 1, 2017
Pros: The shower stall was remarkably big,, and the water stayed at temperature throughout the whole showering time
Cons: There could be a covered area to smoke (Smoking not allowed in buildings in WA) away from driveway area.
Location: The location to the I-205 and SR 500 freeways is convenient for trvelers. For locals the location is within minutes from anywhere in Vancouver.
This Howard Johnson is located right beside the Westfield Shopping Mall (Formally Vancouver Mall). The rooms are furnished with nicely maintained items, the color scheme in the room we were in was very tasteful and (in my opinion) soothingly relaxing. ( color theme was a marine blue and dark/light greens for fabrics and dark 'mahogany' wood for furniture) If your looking to get away from the kids for a night of relaxation THIS would be the place to do it.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 4, 2017 by Beth, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us Jon. We hope to see you again soon.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, WA

Saturday Night at Howard Johnson sucks

Posted Apr 25, 2017
The check in front desk person was great but the grave yard front desk person was awful and kicked me out at midnight for having a conversation with my friend that has a really loud speaking voice but she was dropped on my conversation outside my hotel door and then kicked me out for no really good reason not even a warning to keep the loud speaking down. I believe she was having a bad night and had to pick on the first guest possible, so I need my money back or a free night in the hotel cause she doesn't know customer service even if it bit her in her butt.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 27, 2017 by Beth, Hotel Management
You were removed from our hotel for many guest complaints about you and your guest fighting quite loudly and then not answering your door after repeated attempts by our front desk agent.. Our front desk person could hear you fighting in the hallway. As adults, you should know what is acceptable in a hotel environment and shouldn't have to been warned.
5 out of 5
by Lisa

Recommend this hotel!

Posted Apr 16, 2017 on Hotels
We stayed at a hotel across the way which was a disaster! This hotel was great! Beds supers comfy, staff was friendly, hotel and rooms were clean and the pool and hot tub were great!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 20, 2017 by Kimberly, Hotel Management
Thank you for your stay. We are so glad you enjoyed your time at our hotel. We hope to see you again soon.