Ratings based on 1,635 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oregon Coast

Old hotel that needs updates

Posted Nov 19, 2015
We have stayed here 2 other times and it was fine. Not very modern but good enough for sleeping. Our last stay was horrible! Will be never stay again! The room was freezing cold, the room was so tiny you couldn't set two suitcases up and the bed was almost on the floor and was sunken in the middle.I think it was an original from 1950. Don't stay here. Pay the extra and stay down the road at the Raddison.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ants, saggy bed, way dated and run down.

Posted Nov 19, 2015
Ants, saggy bed, way dated and run down. Breakfast is nothing but egos, stale bagels and terrible biscuits and gravy. ie zero protein, worth zero rating.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 14, 2015
I would not go back there. I would not ever book there. Expedia should end their relationship with this hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Temecula, CA

Expensive for what you get.

Posted Nov 9, 2015
Pros: Rooms and staff.
Cons: Shower heads were somewhat difficult to use, couldn't seem to find a standard spray pattern.
Location: Right across the street from 'The Grotto' which is nice, and Namaste restaurant right in front.
Location is kind of a sketchy area. Construction materials piled around everywhere. Room was small but functional and clean. Staff was helpful and prompt.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Albany, Oregon

Close to the freeway and downtown

Posted Nov 8, 2015
Pros: Clean, safe.
Cons: Nothing to suggest
Location: Shuttle service to the airport. Within walking distance of restaurants. The Grotto is basically right across the street (google the Grotto)
I was attending a conference in downtown Portland and didn't want to spend a lot for a room. I was pleased with this Howard Johnson. Little things like real glass glasses and coffee mugs were thing I really appreciated. Nice restaurant in the same parking lot so I could walk to dinner. Felt safe and even though right next to a busy street my room was quiet. Bed was comfortable. Housekeeping did a nice job.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

Awesome, except the construction noise...

Posted Nov 6, 2015
My room is simple, but beautiful. The bed linens are surprisingly upscale for a HoJo, I have an enormous private deck off my room, there's a coffeepot, iron and board, hairdryer, microwave, and mini fridge. The free breakfast is great; biscuits & gravy, waffles (with peanut butter, for the win!), cereal, fruit, toast, coffee, tea and juice. The room is very reasonably priced. I live here, so that counts for a lot. People want to complain about the area, but it's very close to the airport, which is convenient, and they have a shuttle. Yes, it's on 82nd Ave, but come on people, this is Portland, not Compton. You're not going to get caught in the middle of a gang fight; you have to go to Rockwood for that these days. My only gripe is the construction noise during the day, but most people aren't in their rooms during the day.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Milwaukee

Some place to sleep near the airport

Posted Nov 1, 2015
Pros: The shuttle to and from the airport was timely and the driver friendly.
Cons: Update the wiring and improve safety in the parking lot
Location: Drive into the city-there is not anything to do near by. The Indian restraurant across the parking lot did have a great buffet. .
The rooms were tiny, one electrical outlet had a metal object protruding and the surge protector strip was dangling from the wall causing the lamp, refrigerator and clock that was plugged into it to flicker off and on. One of the lamps had a burnt out light and there were panhandlers in the parking lot.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Close to airport but far from city happenings

Posted Oct 28, 2015
Pros: Friendly staff and clean room
Cons: The building needs upgrades and construction material should not be in the walkways where guests need space to transport luggage.
Location: The Catholic Church, The Grotto was nearby and a great place to visit.
The room was comfortable and staff friendly, but the building and rooms are old and used. Weird coincidence that a guest was double booked after I checked in and having a person enter my room was jarring...and this happened twice! Human error is acceptable but you start question safety. Wi-Fi worked well, TV was better than expected. Bathroom was clean and bed comfortable. Breakfast was a disaster and their options were limited...carbs and sugar options only...no great options for food to start your day. 7-11 and Pizza Hut was really close. Complimentary shuttle was a plus. Bus line #12 was really close and gets you to Old Town Portland in 35 minutes or taking Red Line Train into Downtown...$5 all day pass.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Milwaukee, WI

Wanted to stay cheap

Posted Oct 28, 2015
Pros: The airport shuttle.
Cons: I was worried about how poorly the electrical outlets seemed to work/not work.
Location: Nothing to do nearby
Got exactly what we paid for-biggest issues were all the things that didn't work: burnt out light bulbs, keys that kept de-magnitizing (happened 3 separate times), outlets that didn't work and tiny, tiny room. Neighborhood was a little sketchy-approached by a homeless man one evening in the parking lot and while we were waiting to check in another quest that had used the hotel for a park and fly was in the process of calling the police because her car had been stolen while she was away. The airport shuttle worked great. The breakfast was the same every day, but it was fresh. I would NOT stay here again and while I love a great discount I am seriously reconsidering how I balance value and price.
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Salem, OR

Far away from everything

Posted Oct 27, 2015
It was clean and check in was easy. But the hotel was far from restaurants and any entertainment