Ratings based on 883 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

What a hotel should be.

Posted Dec 9, 2016
Pros: The coordination of thought that went into planning for the travelers experience. The room amenities were well thought out, the layout was perfect an
Cons: If I had a complaint it was that my room was right next to the elevator and at 4:30 a.m. when people started moving around the hotel I could hear the
Location: The N.W. 23rd district is a hub of activity.
This Inn is simply the best! Needed a "reasonable" place to stay near the Good Sam Hospital. Well they didn't disappoint. Every single detail was attended to. It's a perfect location, VERY comfortable and one can walk or take public transportation anywhere in the City core because transportation is at the front door! Literally. The staff were great, helpful and knowledgeable about surrounding support services, restaurants, shopping, etc. The entire experience from arrival through departure was flawless and there is nothing more I could say except that it was probably one of the premium hotel experiences I have ever had. I spent a career as a meeting planner for large conventions and have traveled a lot. These guys/gals know what they are doing and do it well. Hands down my favorite place I've ever stayed.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Portland Industrial District

Posted Nov 17, 2016
Tucked away in a residential area of the Portland industrial district the Northrup Hotel is a boutique style facility designed for the urban traveler. Close to restaurants, coffee shops, and several neighborhood grocery stores, the Northrup offers an unique hotel experience. Request a room on the north side as the commuter train runs a scheduled out the south side. The complimentary breakfast is adequate, but falls short of memorable. Most of all units have kitchens so beware of unsolicited cooking "smells" lingering in hall ways and making their way to you room. Somewhat of a turn off. If your travels take you to this area of Portland and you what to try something a bit different, then my all means give the Northrup a shot.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 16, 2016
Excellent. We were traveling for a family reunion of sorts and this was our midway stop to gather. Very friendly staff which made us feel welcome.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfectly quirky

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: The feel of this hotel is just different - as far from a chain hotel as it is possible to be. Yet, everything works - the bizarre 1960s colors, the unexpected architectural touches and, especially, the taffy and Starburst conveniently located in the lobby and breakfast room! The bed is quite comfortable and the rooms are quiet. The location is great, just on the north side of the Pearl District - easy walking distance to any of the Pearl restaurants. We love this place - it is now our go-to Portland hotel.
Cons: The rooms are a little dark even with all the lights on. Also note that there is really little that is modern about the place - which is the idea.
Location: Perfect location for the Pearl District - it is a fifteen minute walk to Powell Books. Also, close to Forest Park - a gorgeous place to hike.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Canton, USA

Quirky Hotel in Alphabet District

Posted Nov 9, 2016
Pros: Loved the location and funky decor of this hotel. We explored most of the Alphabet and Pearl Districts. Very short walking distance to multiple great restaurants, cafes,bars and shops
Cons: I'm not a fan of Tempurpedic mattresses but ours was very comfortable
Location: Serratos for dinners, Besaws for brunch. Anna Bannanas is a wonderful quirky coffee cafe right around the corner that serves excellent breakfast
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from chicago

Posted Nov 6, 2016
Pros: Unique decor Location wins perfect for trolley or walking to many things
Cons: more professional behavior by front desk staff while guests are having breakfast. The close proximity allowed every word of personal stories to be heard .
Location: Excellent location. Trolley stop right in front of hotel and walking distance to great restaurants and shopping
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 5, 2016
Amazing hotel in an adorable neighborhood. Very close to everything and extremely friendly staff. I would recommend it to anyone wanting to gain the optimal Portland experience.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Great hotel for the money

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Location: Tons of places to eat and shop
Conveniently located in the Alphabet District and one of the very few hotels in that location, we loved the hotel. The rooms were super large and the morning continental breakfast was excellent with 24 hour coffee available for early risers. Staff was friendly and efficient.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

LOVE this Portland Classic Hotel.

Posted Oct 26, 2016
Pros: Service was prompt and friendly. Easy check in and check out. Breakfast super good and lively.
Cons: I loved everything except the rain. All in all for the price I have nothing to add here. All good.
Location: So much to do in this neighborhood. All walking distance!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Milwaukee

The Most Fun Place to Stay

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Pros: This hotel is totally different from any hotel we have ever stayed. It was relaxed, laid back and totally fun. The staff was young and great; interested in us as guests. The colors are bright and fun in the hotel. The room had extra touches like a gift box filled with goodies for us. There were jars of candy on the tables in the breakfast room. We loved the special nights; wine tasting, beer tasting, movie night. It was like staying at someones house where you felt totally comfortable and at home. We asked the staff questions every day and they never lost patience with us. Parking is free and that really made a difference when I decided on the hotel initially.
Cons: We had no complaints about this hotel. This is very minor but the drain in the sink was a bit slow. Very fixable.
Location: There are great restaurants and shopping within walking distance of the hotel. The street car is right outside of the hotel and they give you passes!