Ratings based on 367 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cute but loud

Posted Jan 7, 2017
Awakened in the middle of the night and before 6 am both mornings of our vacation by rude, loud neighbors. The hotel staff even called them to try and get them to be quiet but that didn't help. We were not asked how our stay was when checking out so the didn't want to hear any concerns. Running up and down the halls and yelling by adults in most nice places would get you kicked out.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Good located in Alphabet, @ tram station

Posted Jan 1, 2017
Pros: Fun, whimsy, unique decor. Location: quiet, off beat but close to shopping and restaurants
Cons: Heating in room was loud
3 day visit to see friends in Portland in December.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 30, 2016
Great place, parking, close to good eats and shopping.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location next to 23 and streetcar

Posted Dec 24, 2016
Good time Wish I'd gotten to bridgeport Bbbbbbbbbbbb
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tampa, FL

Hotel is located in the alphabet section

Posted Dec 21, 2016
Great area to walk around lots of shops very convenient location
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vietnam

Unique Portland hotel in great location!

Posted Dec 21, 2016
Love this place! Great staff, perfect location, wonderful breakfast, free parking, rooms fully stocked with everything you need. Highly recommended!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A place to work, shop and play

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Pros: Visually exciting decor with lots of lights in the room.
Everything I did was pretty much within walking distance. The light rail systems stop is right outside Northrup Inn. It took me within a block of a block of the Portland Ballet Performing Arts Center. All kinds of shops. My work was an enjoyable ten-minute walk away with downtown Portland just another five-minute walk away. To me, it was like visiting a fascinating foreign city without having to go too far from home.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

What a hotel should be.

Posted Dec 9, 2016
Pros: The coordination of thought that went into planning for the travelers experience. The room amenities were well thought out, the layout was perfect an
Cons: If I had a complaint it was that my room was right next to the elevator and at 4:30 a.m. when people started moving around the hotel I could hear the
Location: The N.W. 23rd district is a hub of activity.
This Inn is simply the best! Needed a "reasonable" place to stay near the Good Sam Hospital. Well they didn't disappoint. Every single detail was attended to. It's a perfect location, VERY comfortable and one can walk or take public transportation anywhere in the City core because transportation is at the front door! Literally. The staff were great, helpful and knowledgeable about surrounding support services, restaurants, shopping, etc. The entire experience from arrival through departure was flawless and there is nothing more I could say except that it was probably one of the premium hotel experiences I have ever had. I spent a career as a meeting planner for large conventions and have traveled a lot. These guys/gals know what they are doing and do it well. Hands down my favorite place I've ever stayed.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Portland Industrial District

Posted Nov 17, 2016
Tucked away in a residential area of the Portland industrial district the Northrup Hotel is a boutique style facility designed for the urban traveler. Close to restaurants, coffee shops, and several neighborhood grocery stores, the Northrup offers an unique hotel experience. Request a room on the north side as the commuter train runs a scheduled out the south side. The complimentary breakfast is adequate, but falls short of memorable. Most of all units have kitchens so beware of unsolicited cooking "smells" lingering in hall ways and making their way to you room. Somewhat of a turn off. If your travels take you to this area of Portland and you what to try something a bit different, then my all means give the Northrup a shot.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 16, 2016
Excellent. We were traveling for a family reunion of sorts and this was our midway stop to gather. Very friendly staff which made us feel welcome.