Ratings based on 801 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from oregon

Classy, friendly, european

Posted Jun 3, 2017
The hotel is beautiful and historic and the staff were the friendliest, most helpful of our trip! There are lots of steep stairs and the bath is in the hall, but they provide robes and will carry your bags. Our room was very large with a nice bay window. We loved it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vermont

Great hotel option in Portland

Posted May 10, 2017
Pros: Very convenient location and helpful friendly staff. Clean comfy rooms. Nice continental breakfast. A great bargain in Portland.
Cons: Room decor is a little dated, but very comfortable and everything worked.
Location: The Portland Museum and nice restaurants
A very nice small hotel within walking distance to downtown Portland.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very pleasant stay while visiting colleges.

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Very pleasant stay. Used as a home base during my son's overnight college visit. Nice continental breakfast. Convenient to Portland attractions.
4 out of 5
by Nazmul

Posted Apr 18, 2017 on Hotels
The staff was amazing. They were very helpful and friendly.
5 out of 5
by william

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 10, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, friendly staff

Posted Apr 8, 2017 on Hotels
Nice place, well kept. The only disadvantage is that the (private) restroom is outside the room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC

Charming, soothing, calm, enfolding.

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Pros: continental breakfast, cosy-elegant atmosphere, historic property, knowledgeable staff
Location: A shopping centre across the major street has some eating joints, a thrift store, a dollar store, etc. Within 2 blocks are pizza & ethnic eateries.
The Inn At St John, despite a short stay, was a welcome respite during the workweek of business meetings. I loved that the continental breakfast is served until 10am and that there is a variety of whole pieces of fruit. My 3rd-storey room overlooked a road on the outskirts of downtown Portland, Maine, and was very quiet. The heating worked well and there are (yay !) bathrobes in the room. A very clean, comfortably elegant independent hotel / b&b. As to the stairs, if the Victorians could do it, so can we !
5 out of 5
by Ashley

pleasant stay

Posted Apr 4, 2017 on Hotels
good beds, good breakfast, very well kept, clean
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Anniversary

Posted Mar 20, 2017
The place is just not our cup of tea. Funny smell. Trucks very loud all night. Bed hard as a rock.
5 out of 5
by Jolene

Charming and friendly inn

Posted Mar 19, 2017 on Hotels
A delightful overnight in Portland. The Inn was accommodating and friendly. It was great how they provided robes and slippers since the bathrooms are not in the rooms. The staff was upbeat and helpful. The Inn reminded of a Wes Anderson set, with reds, maze-like stairs and interesting decorations. I loved it! While not in a great part of the city, it is in inexpensive Uber to some great food and shops.