Ratings based on 836 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from United Kingdom

Great Staff

Posted Nov 5, 2017
Very friendly helpful staff. Beautiful old hotel. King size room great with private bathroom. On a busy road in downtown Portland so a bit noisy at night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Flagstaff, AZ

Will be back to enjoy this charming place again

Posted Nov 4, 2017
Pros: Great staff and good value.
Cons: Bathrooms a bit dated.
Location: Borderline walking distance to downtown. Several restauants close by. Easy parking and plenty to see and do nearby.
Charming traditional good sized BnB. Older building with several narrow flights of stairs, dated bath rooms, and equally older style but comfortable rooms. Came back for a second night stay and will return in the future as this is an affordable place within borderline walking distance from downtown. Excellent staff and a good atmosphere. First time visit to Portland, ME. Ended up staying elswehere night 2 as I had only booked one night. Fortunately they had an opening again night 3.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Hampshire

Nice hotel convenient to the city.

Posted Oct 28, 2017
Pros: staff and "atmosphere"
Cons: elevator
Location: easy access to food etc.
Nice staff, nice atmosphere, nice room. Only issue is that there was no elevator. Being handicapped, I had to negotiate numerous stairs. Wish there was a way I could have requested from expedia to put me in a first floor room as that would have made it a lot easier....made the reservation far in advance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place

Posted Oct 26, 2017
We are busy and enjoying ourselves.all I wish to say.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Brunswick, Canada

We had to walk up four flights of stairs.

Posted Oct 20, 2017
Pros: The staff were friendly and helpful considerate of our issueses with climbing stairs.
Cons: An elevator, more bathrooms. Place no elevator on the website in large capitals.
Location: Location is convient and handy to downtown Portland
Hotel is ok if you are physically fit. We are not. When we reached the 4th floor we found out we had to share a bathroom. The bed was very narrow and not suitable for two people. The staff apologized and said we should have booked directly through them rather then Expedia and explained our problem with stairs and they would have given us a room at a lower level. On the positive side the staff were friendly and the breakfast was fine.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not comfortable about sharing bathroom.

Posted Oct 5, 2017
The staffs were very friendly and very informative. Overall it’s not bad but wish our room came with private bathroom.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Pros: price was good
Location: pretty convenient
the staff was nice and was accommodating but the room had a weird smell and I did not like the shared bathroom arrangements; that was my issue as it is clear that that was part of my stay but I would not do that again parking is also pretty tight
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Should be advertised as a hostel since there is a shared bathroom for the whole floor of guests.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tucson, Arizona

Neat classic hotel near Maine Medical Center

Posted Sep 13, 2017
Small but neat and a couple of miles from the waterfront. Fine friendly staff and free parking. A nice addition to a surprisingly hip and revitalizing downtown Portland. Expect to have some fun accessing your private hallway bath with some rooms. Don't forget to put your robe on first!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

I stay here each time I am in the area.

Posted Sep 12, 2017
I have stayed here at least 10 times, in different rooms. It is charming in a European way! It has character.