Ratings based on 734 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from S; Illinois

A beautiful, quaint hotel.

Posted Nov 17, 2016
A wonderful stay. The staff was very friendly and extremely helpful. A lovely atmosphere. We will most certainly be back the next time that we are in the area.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Historic hotel for Maine Medical Center interview

Posted Nov 6, 2016
Pros: I have stayed at St. John's inn before - it is a good price and located very close to MMC. There is a parking lot in the back, and complementary continental breakfast in the morning (pastries, cereal, yogurt, coffee, water bottles). The hotel staff is extremely nice, and the rooms were clean and comfortable. You share a semi-private bathroom with other rooms on your floor (maybe 4 other rooms?) but I didn't mind this. The hotel reminds me a a bed and breakfast, but operates like a hotel. Very comfortable stay - would come back again!
Cons: You do share a semi-private bathroom with other rooms. I don't mind this, but some people might.
Location: MMC, Western promanade (park) is very closeby. Portland is very walkable city, and there are many restaurants within walking distance.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Great hotel, reasonable cost

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Cons: There is nothing to improve, though potential customers should know some of the rooms have a separate bathroom in the hallway that is shared.
This hotel has a beautiful atmosphere and offers all of my favorite amenities - free bottled water and coffee, cookies and free wi-fi.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sedgwick, Maine

A Delightful Treat to What an Inn Should Be!

Posted Oct 27, 2016
Pros: The inn is so wonderfully decorated yet is cozy and comfortable without that "look but don't touch" feel. I could not have been more pleased to find the Inn at St John like the inns in Europe and a few places here and there in the US. The staff at this inn are a big part of this high praise. I was truly pleased in every way. Will choose to stay here whenever in Portland!
Cons: Not a thing! I found that even my dietary restrictions were addressed by the Management at the Inn at Sst. John!
Location: Restaurants within walking distance are excellent. Pharmacy and other services also within a short walk. I was in Portland for a meeting.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nous avons apprécié cet hôtel

Posted Oct 15, 2016
L'hôtel est légèrement à l'extérieur du centre de la ville, mais nous pouvions s'y rendre en marchant environ 20 minutes. La chambre était confortable, mais le mobilier était un peu vieux. C'est donc vieux, mais chaleureux.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Deutschland

Für eine Nacht ok

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Pros: Nettes Personal, kostenloser Parkplatz, großes Zimmer, kostenloses Wasser.
Cons: Sehr laute Umgebung, Dusche/WC separat auf dem Flur, Frühstücksraum sehr klein, kein Aufzug, enge und verwinkelte Treppen.
Location: Am Stadtrand und direkt an stark befahrener Straße (deshalb auch nachts sehr laut); kein guter Ausgangspunkt, um die Stadt zu Fuß zu erkunden.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Think ahead with access issues

Posted Oct 5, 2016
Location: Too far to comfortably walk to old port area
The ONLY issue we had was flights of stairs sans elevator. If stairs are an issue, be sure to reserve a room in lower floors
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

St. John's in Portland, ME

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Location: Lots of bars/restaurants within easy walking distance. Check out the local fare and music. They do not disappoint.
Very cool turn-of-the-century hotel in the heart of downtown Portland. Albeit, the layout of the hotel is bizarre, to say the least. I'm not sure why it was designed in this manner (I heard stories from some locals there that this place was a brothel at some point, and perhaps it was intentional) but there is a labyrinth of stairs, landings, and puzzles to get to your room unless you happen to luck out and get one on the ground floor (which I would suggest if they are available). In any case, the place has lots of history, free hot chocolate, cookies, and breakfast. What else do you really need? Oh, and there is a cool little bar next door (Salty Sally's) that has a really good happy hour every day of the week, so if you are there definitely stop by!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Beautiful old hotel, comfortable bed, clean rooms and extremely helpful and friendly staff.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Albany, NY

Unique city hotel w/ great value

Posted Sep 8, 2016
Pros: Location and value. Many place we researched were closer to the nightlife but much more expensive.
Cons: All guest should be offered assistance with their bags as there is no elevator.
Location: Twenty minute walk to the hipster downtown neighborhood. And forty minutes to the touristy Commercial St on the waterfront. Taxis are cheap.
Excellent value. Easy on & off I-295 at Exit 5B. Good directions to hotel parking. Good location to activities. 20 minute walk to hip downtown area. Forty minute walk to the waterfront (Commercial & Fore Sts). We used a taxi to the waterfront in the evening. $5.00 one way - a real bargain. The hotel staff was very accomodating and helpful for new visitors. One caveat - our room was on the third floor - no elevators at the inn. OK. So I'm fit enough to carry our bags upstairs. But no offer was made to have staff bring our bags up. But that is the only negative. Nice contential breakfast provided. Also we enjoyed late drinks with the locals at the Pizza Villa across the street. Again unique setting and excellent value. We would go back here.