Ratings based on 796 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from oregon

Classy, friendly, european

Posted Jun 3, 2017
The hotel is beautiful and historic and the staff were the friendliest, most helpful of our trip! There are lots of steep stairs and the bath is in the hall, but they provide robes and will carry your bags. Our room was very large with a nice bay window. We loved it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vermont

Great hotel option in Portland

Posted May 10, 2017
Pros: Very convenient location and helpful friendly staff. Clean comfy rooms. Nice continental breakfast. A great bargain in Portland.
Cons: Room decor is a little dated, but very comfortable and everything worked.
Location: The Portland Museum and nice restaurants
A very nice small hotel within walking distance to downtown Portland.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very pleasant stay while visiting colleges.

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Very pleasant stay. Used as a home base during my son's overnight college visit. Nice continental breakfast. Convenient to Portland attractions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC

Charming, soothing, calm, enfolding.

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Pros: continental breakfast, cosy-elegant atmosphere, historic property, knowledgeable staff
Location: A shopping centre across the major street has some eating joints, a thrift store, a dollar store, etc. Within 2 blocks are pizza & ethnic eateries.
The Inn At St John, despite a short stay, was a welcome respite during the workweek of business meetings. I loved that the continental breakfast is served until 10am and that there is a variety of whole pieces of fruit. My 3rd-storey room overlooked a road on the outskirts of downtown Portland, Maine, and was very quiet. The heating worked well and there are (yay !) bathrobes in the room. A very clean, comfortably elegant independent hotel / b&b. As to the stairs, if the Victorians could do it, so can we !
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Anniversary

Posted Mar 20, 2017
The place is just not our cup of tea. Funny smell. Trucks very loud all night. Bed hard as a rock.
5 out of 5
by Jolene

Charming and friendly inn

Posted Mar 19, 2017 on Hotels
A delightful overnight in Portland. The Inn was accommodating and friendly. It was great how they provided robes and slippers since the bathrooms are not in the rooms. The staff was upbeat and helpful. The Inn reminded of a Wes Anderson set, with reds, maze-like stairs and interesting decorations. I loved it! While not in a great part of the city, it is in inexpensive Uber to some great food and shops.
5 out of 5
by cindi

Posted Mar 19, 2017 on Hotels
What a lovely pet friendly hotel. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. We will be back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Puerto Rico

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Wonderful hotel. A blast from the past. Great staff. Cozy rooms. The continental breakfast is very complete, fruits, bagels, English muffins, cereals, cream cheese, coffee, tea, chocolate, different kinds of juice. Free newspaper and amenities. They always make you feel at home.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vermont

Walk to Maine Medical

Posted Mar 12, 2017
Pros: Everything
It's a wonderful old building with great architecture. Our room was large and comfortable with windows that open. The staff left a basket of snacks and bottled water in the room for our arrival.They are pleasant, friendly and helpful. The continental breakfast has many choices and coffee is available around the clock. It doesn't get any better.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from R

Beautiful economical place!!

Posted Mar 5, 2017 on Orbitz
Beautiful place. Staff is above and beyond wonderful. Nice breakfast. Nice place. Room was small but cheap. Nicely done. I loved my stay