Ratings based on 861 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great

Posted Feb 13, 2018
Great cozy place, very clean. Once of the best cheap hotels I've been to. Parking in the back. reccomend taking your significant other here and go to breakfast at tandem cafe
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

Quaint and comfortable

Posted Feb 5, 2018
Pros: Location
Cons: Room temp. Size of beds
Location: You are basically in downtown Portland so there's tons to do---lots of restaurants. Limited activities in winter.
Overall good. Room was a bit chilly. Draft from the AC unit, but it was manageable. Comfortable. Double bed vs queen or king. Remember to ask for a private bath or you get one in hallway. Staff was overly accommodating. Nice free breakfast in the morning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Friendly staff, great location, great value

Posted Jan 19, 2018
Booked last minute, very satisfied with all aspects of the stay! Exceptional staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Comfortable & Cozy Stay, Unbeatable Value

Posted Jan 15, 2018
Pros: Friendliness, Cleanliness, Value
Location: A little out of the way, but only a $7 uber drive to downtown
Adorable Inn. Friendly staff makes you feel like family. Clean rooms & bathrooms (shared not an issue at all). Breakfast spread was fantastic. Simply unbeatable for the price of this stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 25, 2017
Location-check Comfort-check Cleanliness-check Efficient, friendly staff-check What’s not to like in a modestly priced small hotel??
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newport, NH

WOW

Posted Dec 14, 2017
This hotel far exceeds what I would have expected for what I paid. I was in Portland for a brief business trip and was looking for something close to downtown that had the character of the area. My concern was, in my experience, that hotels that are older are exactly that. This hotel has the old world charm but is absolutely perfectly maintained. Even the tissues are folded into a peacock pattern. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and not be worried that they would be disappointed. What and absolute pleasant surprise.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from webster MA

Great location

Posted Dec 1, 2017
Great location Best rates in town always friendly staff and clean place to sleep great location just down the street from all the restaurants. We stay there every time we go to Portland
5 out of 5
by Jessica

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 17, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Keith

Cozy friendly restaurant

Posted Nov 17, 2017 on Hotels
Cozy hotel close enough to the main town, but cheap parking in town when I chose to drive in. Very welcoming staff, great cookies and great breakfast.
5 out of 5
by Lesley

Surprising and cosy little hideaway

Posted Nov 10, 2017 on Hotels
Great and comfortable little hideaway, with friendly staff, very clean and well decorated rooms, with a few nice touches here and there. I'll be staying here again! Definitely great for the money. Comfy beds. We had a queen room with private hallway bathroom, but I'd also love to try out one of the private suites in the future. It's an old inn, so it comes with winding, vertiginous flights of stairs, but I like the charm of staying in an old building. And they've made it feels really warm and inviting. Feels quite romantic. And the location isn't bad either. I felt safe the whole time. It has a Holy Donut right nearby, as well as great barbecue a stone's throw away. It's a short walk from the top of Congress Street to the main shopping streets, the historic docks, everything you could want. And only a 15-minute walk to the Portland transport centre. I hesitate to use the word 'gem', but there you go...