Ratings based on 677 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from München

Charme & Chic

Posted Apr 25, 2016
Pros: Frühstück, Einrichtung
Location: Bushaltestelle vor der Tür
Wunderbares, kleines Hotel mit Frühstück. Wir hatten ein schönes Zimmer mit eigenem Bad (auf dem Flur). Alles war sehr liebevoll hergerichtet und sowohl Bad als auch Zimmer absolut sauber! Das Frühstück war wunderbar, es gab richtiges Geschirr (keine Pappteller!!). Es ist zwar ein kleiner Bereich in dem man speist, aber es ist ein kleines Hotel und ganz ehrlich: Amerika ist nicht Deutschland! Wir waren sehr zufrieden, das Frühstück war ausreichend, es gab Obst und alles war sehr appetitlich angerichtet. Auf unserer weiteren Reise hätten wir uns ein solches Frühstück gewünscht! Und es gibt kostenfreies Parken. --- Very nice and clean Hotel, with tasty breakfast! Definitely would stay there again!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NH

Quaint hotel near our family

Posted Apr 20, 2016
Pros: See above
Cons: I'm not a fan of plastic/rubberized/waterproof mattress covers.
We were just there for one night - arrived rather late and left in the morning, but we enjoyed the ambiance of the hotel. Room was clean and comfortable; bed gave a good night's rest. Soundproofing excellent. Private bath down the hall - not ideal but no problem either. Staff friendly and helpful; location great for us; very reasonable; breakfast options good.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NJ

A nice comfortable stay

Posted Apr 20, 2016
Cons: The Inn does not really have a place to relax in when not in your room. Would be nice if they had an outside patio.
Location: the Inn is located just up the block from the Seadogs minor league stadium. Downtown area is more then a mile away where most of the restaurants are.
We went to Portland in April and that was the only thing wrong as we should have researched the time of year better as it is a very seasonal place as far as activities are concerned. The Inn itself was very nice and well kept. We were on the second floor with a private bath. The bed was big the bathroom was too. we were greeted by a welcome basket which was very nice. You just have to be aware and it is stated on their website that the Inn has no elevator so you have to carry your bags up a set of stairs. So if your on the top floor you will have a couple of stairs to climb. The continental breakfast was very good with great coffee. They also had cookies out the rest of the day along with the coffee or tea and bottled water. Definitely would stay here again but after May.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, PA

More than expected.

Posted Apr 16, 2016
Could use more parking and should use shower curtain.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Belfast, ME

Traditional comfortable hotel

Posted Apr 16, 2016
Pros: All the above...the light-filled rooms and old world charm make this inn a pleasure to check in to.
Cons: Rooms are sometimes better without an en-suite bathroom. See above comment.
Location: Close enough by car to centre; lots to do and see, including excellent restaurants. We went to Bowdoin College Art Museum en route.
Inn at St. John is one of our go-to hotels; always reliable for a restful stay. The decor is traditional, neat, clean, and the hotel well-staffed. Our room was spacious, airy and light, bed comfortable, everything immaculately clean and fresh. This visit our en-suite was a little cramped (a shelf for visitors' toiletries would be helpful) and the shower could have been hotter. I appreciated the coffee-making facilities in our room (suggest milk rather than sachet-creamer would be nice). Breakfast is in a small area alongside reception, which is a little snug, but a very good continental selection is provided and there's the option of taking this to your room. All in all I happily recommend the inn; it's also very reasonably priced.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

Posted Apr 9, 2016
Inn is located within 15min on foot from all happenings. This is a charmingly renovated old hotel that gets the cozy feel. Bed was a bit smaller (not double) as described but the ambient, friendly staff, tiny details they added here and here made our stay very enjoyable. We will definitively stay there again! You can't beat the value for the buck
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sao Paulo

Hotel charmoso, construção antiga, mas bem mantida

Posted Apr 9, 2016
Pros: Arquitetura do prédio, aquecimento do quarto apropriado para o frio extemporâneo em abril. Garagem sem custo e café da manhã incluído.
Cons: A garagem poderia ser coberta.
Location: Viagem foi a trabalho e de apenas 1 dia. A área não me pareceu ser de uma região especialmente turística de Portland.
A principal queixa é quanto ao site do expedia que não revelou que o quarto reservado não contava com banheiro. Tive que fazer a troca no lugar e tive sorte em contar com disponibilidade de quarto com banheiro privativo com pequeno acréscimo no preço. Desta forma, o pessoal do hotel foi solicito não demandando maiores dissabores.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Accommodations are great

Posted Apr 8, 2016
Sharing a bathroom might seem off-putting but the cleanliness and diligence of the staff is so upward that you wouldn't even know it was shared.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Halifax, NS

what a gem!

Posted Apr 6, 2016
this place is a total bargain--lowest price in town, and a wonderful, quaint atmosphere. the staff was accommodating, the room was beautiful, and the bed was comfy! just a 15 minute walk to see the concerts downtown! that's nothing!!! I will return!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from lewiston maine

Nice place and great breakfast too

Posted Mar 12, 2016
Good staff and great location with many things within walking distance