Ratings based on 769 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Anniversary

Posted Mar 20, 2017
The place is just not our cup of tea. Funny smell. Trucks very loud all night. Bed hard as a rock.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Puerto Rico

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Wonderful hotel. A blast from the past. Great staff. Cozy rooms. The continental breakfast is very complete, fruits, bagels, English muffins, cereals, cream cheese, coffee, tea, chocolate, different kinds of juice. Free newspaper and amenities. They always make you feel at home.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vermont

Walk to Maine Medical

Posted Mar 12, 2017
Pros: Everything
It's a wonderful old building with great architecture. Our room was large and comfortable with windows that open. The staff left a basket of snacks and bottled water in the room for our arrival.They are pleasant, friendly and helpful. The continental breakfast has many choices and coffee is available around the clock. It doesn't get any better.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Staff is great. Very conveniently located. The place has character and priced very attractively
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maine

Nice, near downtown Portland.

Posted Feb 16, 2017
The hotel was clean, staff were friendly and helpful, and the continental breakfast was good. The only possible down side is that because it is an older hotel not all the rooms have private baths, and some that do you have to access through the hallway. Each room does have a set of robs if you are uneasy about walking the hall in you pjs. There are a few rooms that have private baths in the room, it should say in the listing but if you are unsure you can call the hotel and they can tell you and there is always someone there to answer the phone day or night.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NH

Fine

Posted Feb 11, 2017
Lobby was beautiful staff was amazing. Room was UNBELIEVABLY SMALL. there was a bed and barely enough room to walk around the bed. Room was honestly the size of a closet!!! There also are pipes in EVERY ROOM except the ground floor. These pipes made obnoxious and loud noises throughout the entire night. Very loud popping sounds, sounded like metal clanging all night. Did not get any sleep and there was NOTHING hotel staff could do about it because its part of how the building is. Unless you plan on getting the best room money can buy here and sleeping on the ground floor, its not worth it. Staff was great, and the look and decore are great. But rooms are SMALL
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Paris

Portland Stay

Posted Feb 8, 2017
Pros: small and nice
Cons: I would not change a thing
Location: very central
nice place, good location, good food nearby, friendly staff
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maine

Met our needs.

Posted Feb 8, 2017
We were between houses, it was 1am when we arrived and were exhausted. The desk staff was warm and inviting, the room, though small was all we needed for a good night's sleep. It was quiet and comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lincolnville, Maine

Home away from home

Posted Feb 2, 2017
Pros: I am welcomed, safe and content.
Cons: Nothing, really, do not change a thing.
Location: Close to hospital and downtown and the bus station and the ball park. Easy to find from highway.
I live two hours away from Portland, but when there for business, pleasure, or to be near someone at the hospital across the street, the Inn at St. John is where I want to stay. It is old, funky, there is no elevator and most of the rooms are up a flight or two of stairs. That encourages me to travel light. Everything is clean and neat, the small television and wi-fi are enough, I don't need bells and whistles. The rooms are surprisingly quiet, as are the narrow hallways. The simple breakfast is enough. The staff is of the finest kind.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NH

Tiny and charming

Posted Jan 27, 2017
Location: On the outskirts of downtown Portland, but on the main drag so it doesn't take that long to walk to the commercial district, also it's on a bus route.
It's a tiny little hotel, but they took that and ran with it very well. The European style accommodations were a nice change of pace from a standard hotel. Friendly staff, and the location was a lot quieter than I expected since we were across from the hospital. A note about the size of the rooms: if you want a place that you can stay in all day this may not be right for you, but if you want a nice place to sleep it works. I'm 6'2" and I filled the bathroom just by stepping inside but that wasn't an issue because I went to Portland to do stuff outside of the hotel, so don't be scared away by the size of the place.