Ratings based on 790 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vermont

Great hotel option in Portland

Posted May 10, 2017
Pros: Very convenient location and helpful friendly staff. Clean comfy rooms. Nice continental breakfast. A great bargain in Portland.
Cons: Room decor is a little dated, but very comfortable and everything worked.
Location: The Portland Museum and nice restaurants
A very nice small hotel within walking distance to downtown Portland.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very pleasant stay while visiting colleges.

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Very pleasant stay. Used as a home base during my son's overnight college visit. Nice continental breakfast. Convenient to Portland attractions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC

Charming, soothing, calm, enfolding.

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Pros: continental breakfast, cosy-elegant atmosphere, historic property, knowledgeable staff
Location: A shopping centre across the major street has some eating joints, a thrift store, a dollar store, etc. Within 2 blocks are pizza & ethnic eateries.
The Inn At St John, despite a short stay, was a welcome respite during the workweek of business meetings. I loved that the continental breakfast is served until 10am and that there is a variety of whole pieces of fruit. My 3rd-storey room overlooked a road on the outskirts of downtown Portland, Maine, and was very quiet. The heating worked well and there are (yay !) bathrobes in the room. A very clean, comfortably elegant independent hotel / b&b. As to the stairs, if the Victorians could do it, so can we !
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Anniversary

Posted Mar 20, 2017
The place is just not our cup of tea. Funny smell. Trucks very loud all night. Bed hard as a rock.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Puerto Rico

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Wonderful hotel. A blast from the past. Great staff. Cozy rooms. The continental breakfast is very complete, fruits, bagels, English muffins, cereals, cream cheese, coffee, tea, chocolate, different kinds of juice. Free newspaper and amenities. They always make you feel at home.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vermont

Walk to Maine Medical

Posted Mar 12, 2017
Pros: Everything
It's a wonderful old building with great architecture. Our room was large and comfortable with windows that open. The staff left a basket of snacks and bottled water in the room for our arrival.They are pleasant, friendly and helpful. The continental breakfast has many choices and coffee is available around the clock. It doesn't get any better.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Staff is great. Very conveniently located. The place has character and priced very attractively
5 out of 5
by david

Good stay

Posted Feb 21, 2017 on Hotels
Never stayed at an inn, very pleased. Had the room with private bathroom . Very clean !! Staff was so friendly . Breakfast and parking included . Will be returning . Great BBQ one block up the hill !!
5 out of 5
by Ashley

Awesome

Posted Feb 18, 2017 on Hotels
Beautiful place, very friendly staff.
4 out of 5
by Kimball

A Portland ME hidden gem.

Posted Feb 16, 2017 on Hotels
We enjoyed our stay, personable staff, comfortable room. When we return, I would request a room on the back of the building however, as there is a lot of street noise at night, mostly trucks engine breaking it sweems, right in front of the hotel. Nice amenities, cookies, water, coffee always available, room was big, clean, good TV. All in all, a comfortable and very affordable night in Portland.