Ratings based on 684 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

cool and funky, urban centre.

Posted Dec 1, 2016
Pros: Loved the originality and,concept of the hotel. The staff were all excellent.
Cons: The hotel needs to be updated,with more than just a coat of paint.
Location: The location is central ,in a funky rough side of town. Lots of great bars and antique shops nearby.
Got in on a stormy night,and had to walk through deep puddles to get to the room,but the room was nice.The hotel didn't appear very busy,and I was thankful for that ,because the hotel is a very social place,and had it been in the summer,I think overall it would have been pretty noisy.The staff was excellent,and welcoming,the decor was original. A great original concept. I would go back.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not what I was expecting.

Posted Nov 26, 2016
The staff was nice and helpful but the hotel was different. Cool for a first time but wouldn't book again. Bed was not comfy, tiny bathrooms and unless you book the biggest room with the extra corner and couch there's little to no room.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from s

Loved it! Such a beautiful place to stay!

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Amazing, unique, beautiful and fun! I brought two teenage girls on a birthday trip to a concert and they were so excited to see the unique rooms. They both said it was the coolest place they had ever stayed. Nice work, Jupiter!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from FL

Nice motel but small and noisy

Posted Nov 12, 2016
The hotel has cool design. Actually it is a tricked up motel. Rooms are pretty small. Warning for those with large suitcases:) it will be hard to find spot to store it in the room. The restaurant is open till very late and outside area is very loud. Nearby train tracks work all night too. I'd say try it for a short stay as it is unique. You get free coffee every morning if you go to the reception.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Always fun at The Jupiter!

Posted Oct 17, 2016
My favorite place to stay in Portland! Staff are always welcoming, friendly and so helpful. Great location, lots of good shopping, food, etc in the area. Easy parking. Fun atmosphere - LOVE IT! So great having The Doug Fir right there too.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

Loud

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Pros: Drawing on the door with chalk.
Cons: The noise levels
Great hotel but right next to Doug Fir. We had loud music blasting until 1am, and even louder guests after. I loved the decor and the location. I don't think I'll be heading back to this hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Friend's Wedding

Posted Oct 3, 2016
No refrigerator or microwave. No elevator, so plan on hauling everything up at least one flight from the underground basement, two if your room is second floor. The fact that they did supply condoms and earplugs speaks volumes. The central courtyard area is used for receptions, wedding parties, etc. and is quite loud until 11pm. Forget trying to catch a nap in the evening. The entire neighborhood is somewhere between urban blight and urban renewal. There are some nice restaurants around and there are far fewer homeless than across the river towards Powell's bookstore. It is a pleasant three block walk to the Portland Rock gym. Quite frankly, this hotel was worth less than $70, but charges more based on its name. If not for my dear friend getting married nearby, I would have left after seeing the room/location. You can get a far, far, far better hotel for less money within a short drive to the suburbs.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cute boutiquey hotel

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Pros: The cozy feel. Staff were excellent.
Cons: I can't think of anything.
Location: Restaurants and bars close by. Otherwise did not do anything except attend the conference.
Attended a conference at the Oregon convention centre. Nice 10-15 min. walk to the convention centre. Good restaurants close by. Hotel is very functional with a restaurant and bar. Rooms are small but lots of outdoor space to lounge in. My room was right by the outdoor patio of the lounge. A little loud at times.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fun hotel

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Be sure to book on the "chill" side if you don't want to be up all night with bar music. Walkable to the convention center, simple and modern. Staff was incredibly nice. Would stay again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hip spot in a fun neighborhood

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Pros: Nice location and fun theme
Cons: We are not smokers so the number of smokers all around the property was an annoyance. Allowing smoking in the enclosed patio seemed odd.
Location: Great in town location with Hippo Hardware a must see for anyone who has an old house.
We were in town for a conference nearby and this place looked fun. The artwork in the lobby is impressive and the funky feel was a nice break from chain hotels. Our room was small but had everything we needed.