Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montpelier, VT

Nice B&B in quiet location but close to shopping

Posted Dec 18, 2015
Pros: Location and comfort
Location: Shopping in Freeport.
The Kendall Tavern Inn was just what we wanted. It was two blocks past the main shopping area in a much quieter zone. The staff was great, personable, responsive. Wonderful Breakfast! We drew the smallest room in the Inn, but it was still clean and comfortable if a bit crowded.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Devon, UK

25th Anniversary

Posted Jan 4, 2015
Pros: The warm welcome, the relaxed experience as a guest, the quaintness of the rooms and staying in the oldest hotel in Freeport. Breakfast was superb!
Cons: No
The hotel was easy to find and upon arriving we were met by the owner who checked us in. Having found out we were the only guests staying, the owner was very hospitable by explaining but the facilities offered, freshly made cookies and hot drinks to the relaxed and open house policy afforded to us as guests. We were recommended local restaurants for our evening meal, with the highly recommended being the one we plumpt for- it was a great choice. Breakfast was a fabulous experience in the morning with our first chance to try homemade American pancakes - pumpkin - which were to die for and made from scratch.
5 out of 5
by Donald & Juliet from Maryland

A most enjoyable stay

Posted Aug 30, 2014 on Hotels
We selected Kendall based on its location and other reviews. My wife and I will return because of the wonderful hospitality of Mark and Nancy , the delicious breakfasts, and the very comfortable bed. Highly recommended!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 30, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 20, 2014
The inn is great. It is just a short walk from downtown Freeport and a short drive from many nearby attractions and cities like Portland. Rooms are comfortable, and the innkeepers are very helpful and welcoming. The breakfast is top notch
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montreal

A charming, quaint, traditional B&B

Posted Aug 8, 2014
Pros: It's period charm - it's very old, everything works well and it has a nice atmosphere. It has a lovely veranda.
Cons: The breakfasts were adequate but not great. I'm a Bacon and Eggs guy and expect a good breakfast so quiches and pastries are not my ideal.
Location: A good location not far from the shops.
We were warmly welcomed by the owners when we arrived. They had allocated a room in the front which was nice and large but we asked for a quieter location at the back and although the room was smaller it suited our purposes and was very quiet which is what we wanted. The room was clean and the bed very comfortable. The breakfasts were adequate but not outstanding. The location at the end of town was great and just a short walk to the stores. Mark is an ex Washington guy and has gift of the gab which kept us entertained at breakfast. A very nice stay and highly recommended. Apparently another Quebec couple didn't like the place but we can't understand why, although they were francophone and we are Anglophone and maybe our values are different.
5 out of 5
by Lisa & Don from Fair Haven, NJ

Practically Perfect in every way!

Posted Aug 4, 2014 on Hotels
Just a fabulous stay! Mark and Nancy are new proprietors and they are doing an excellent job! This was our first visit to Maine, but I hope it's not our last!
4 out of 5
by Robin from Pattingham

Excellent Breakfast

Posted Jul 25, 2014 on Hotels
Nice hotel and a really great breakfast however the situation on a bend on a major road distracted from the peace and quiet.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Halifax Nova Scotia

Okay B&B with nice breakfast included.

Posted Jul 12, 2014
The room was small, the toilet paper cheap and coffee was bad but the location was perfect and the host was gracious.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A pleasant stay

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Location: Wolfe's Neck Woods State Park
My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Kendall Tavern B&B. The hosts were warm and welcoming, the room was very comfortable and quiet, and the breakfast was lovely.