Ratings based on 971 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oakland, CA

Great location, some glitches

Posted Jun 25, 2017
Pros: Great location, nice décor.
Cons: The size of the really, really small rooms.
The hotel is in a great location, and overall was good, but the first room I had was like a shoebox with air conditioning that wouldn't shut off and I had to stay that night in that room because they were full. The second room was much nicer and the thermostat worked, but at 7:30am on Saturday morning, someone was jackhammering so close to my room, the entire room was vibrating, and my belonging were shaking. Apparently there is construction in the building I shared a wall with. Would have been nice to know ahead of time. Staff was very nice, but the stay had a number of issues.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 26, 2017 by Lisa, Hotel Management
Hi Sara, Thank you for your review. We appreciate you giving us the opportunity to find a room that was a better fit for you and are disappointed to hear there was construction noise from a neighboring building. This is something we were unaware of prior and will be reaching out. Thank you for your compliments of our staff and decor. We hope to see you again. Lisa
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a typical Kimpton experience

Posted Jun 23, 2017
I am a huge fan of Kimpton hotels from there modern yet funky decor and lovely flavored waters to availability of commonly forgotten toiletries. Well located in downtown Portland, this hotel has a comfortable loungy reception area and the game room that I wish I had more time to utilize. The hotel room was well-appointed, though I didn't love that there were dirty spots near the sink wall area and hairs that were not my own on the edge of the sink counter. The staff is friendly and were happy to provide deodorant and toothbrush/toothpaste when I realized I had forgotten my own. The one thing that was extremely disappointing is my room was not ready when i checked in at 4:30pm. I was given a coupon for a free drink at the bar, but that did not make up for the fact that I wanted to take a quick nap and freshen up after a 6am flight and long day of meetings but before my business dinner. It would have been nice if they offered to upgrade my room when it was ready (which was around 5:30 pm) but it wasn't offered.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Nice staff, fun hotel. Wine tastings were great. The room was quiet and well designed
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Downtown Location

Posted May 29, 2017
Pros: Neat and clean room. Close to restaurants.
Cons: A business center would be nice.
Location: Good location for business.
Good location for business access. Great location relative to rapid transit to/from the airport.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 4, 2017 by Lisa, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your room and the location. We do have a business area with a computer/internet access, printer and office supplies on the 8th floor. The Front Desk is also happy to assist with any printing or copy needs. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Portland! Lisa
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Location is excellent. Staff is outstanding.

Posted May 13, 2017
Amazing staff, Check in took less than a minute. Very clean, easy in and out, parking is great. Located within walking distance to everything downtown.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 13, 2017 by Lisa, Hotel Management
Thank you for the great review Simpsons! You covered it all and it always makes us smile when our staff is called "amazing". We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Lisa
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South Jersey

Great bed! Weird bath fixtures, some good staff.

Posted May 12, 2017
Pros: The bed!
Cons: The decor tries a little too hard -- 7th-floor lobby had two beanbag chairs constructed to look like brains. Better to have seats to sit in.
Location: Downtown Portland! Great city for walking, coffee and beer. Terrific French bakery on corner; first-class tasting bar down the street.
The charge for valet parking was a shock, and the air of entitlement from the valet when I declined set my teeth on edge -- the other valets were fine. I found cheaper parking on the next block over. On entering, one of the two elevators was broken, so getting to my room took a while. Not a great first impression. Things improved after that. The room was large and clean. I generally hate big, puffy beds, and this puffy bed was enormous, but it turned out to be about the most comfortable hotel bed I've ever slept in. Add in the room darkening shades and hanging one of my tee-shirts over the too-bright alarm clock, and The Kimpton comes up a winner for sleeping comfort. The bathroom fixtures get a special note -- I figured out the sink faucet soon enough, although the sink itself resembled a baptismal font. Managed to get the shower to work, too, and it was fine, but seems to have been installed with hot and cold water reversed and the connection between faucet and shower left me wondering how many people it baffles. Except for that one supercilious valet, the rest of the staff were gracious, friendly and helpful. I'd stay here again, but I don't know that it'd be my first choice for Portland. Maybe after they adjust the plumbing fixtures.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 22, 2017 by Lisa, Hotel Management
Dear Dave, Thank you for the detailed review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay overall and would love to welcome you back the next time your travel plans bring you to Portland. We will be sure to share your feedback about the shower with our Engineering team. If you let us know while you were here, it is most likely already fixed. Lisa
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Austin

Not a quiet hotel

Posted May 9, 2017
Pros: Beds are comfortable
Cons: Move the dumpster, reduce the "resort" fee
Location: Other restaurants, museums walkable distance
The room we were given was over where the dumpster stays. Between 4 & 5 am every morning I was awoken by glass crashing into the trash truck. There is also a $23.00 "resort" fee added to each days charges. There is no pool, no spa at the hotel-nothing deserving a $23.00 a day fee. The fee must go towards the "free" happy hour. They also charged me for the room charge when I had already prepaid. The Italian restaurants food was good, the waitress service was a 2 out of 10. Not impressed with this hotel at all-won't return :(
Comment from Hotel Management
May 11, 2017 by Lisa, Hotel Management
Hello Judy, We are glad to hear you enjoyed our comfy beds and location which puts you in walking distance of many of the great things Portland has to offer. Being in the heart of Downtown Portland also means that there can sometimes be city noise and we will be sure to look into what you have described. We do hope the next time your travel plans bring you to Portland that you will once again consider staying with us. Lisa
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing downtown hotel

Posted May 8, 2017
Pros: Downtown location
Cons: Better staff training
Location: Good nearby restaurants
The place is small and loud. The staff are young and inexperienced. The rooms are small with thin walls - you cannot pick your neighbors. Beware of hidden charges - so called activity fee. You are paying for the so-called free wine tasting and morning coffee! Watch out for sniffing dogs in the elevator!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 30, 2017 by Lisa, Hotel Management
Hello Traveler, Thank you for staying with us. We are pet friendly and definitely have an active lobby with Bacchus Bar and live music on weekends. You're right, you can't always pick your neighbors but if you are ever disturbed, please let our team know. We are happy to follow up and provide options for other rooms. Lisa
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Claremont, CA

It will be my go-to hotel when in Portland

Posted Apr 26, 2017
Pros: Location, Vibe, Design, Room comfort.
Cons: The shower in the ADA Room. The cost for parking
Location: Just about everything Portland has to offer.
Great Location, great vibe. We enjoyed the hotel and our experience at the hotel. The staff was helpful and efficient.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 27, 2017 by Lisa, Hotel Management
Hello Markltect, Your go to Hotel in Portland - we love it. Thank you for the kind words about our staff, location and design. Remember, if you are ever unhappy with your room or bathroom, let us know - we wil find something that is just right. Looking forward to welcoming you again soon! Lisa
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Roseville, Ca

Amazing customer service

Posted Apr 22, 2017
We recently stayed at the Kimpton for my birthday. The hotel was adorable and so trendy with cool art work at every turn. The day of my birthday they upgraded us and sent champagne and cookies to our new room. I was completely blown away by the extra effort they put in to make our trip amazing. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 28, 2017 by Lisa, Hotel Management
Hi Carissa, Customer service, it's what we are all about and we are so glad you chose to spend your birthday with us! Hopefully you will be back before your next birthday celebration - we can't wait to see you again! Lisa