Ratings based on 1,310 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Outstanding customer service

Posted May 18, 2017
The bed was very comfortable and the breakfast was outstanding!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 18, 2017 by LQ Customer Care , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the amenities we take pride in offering. Please come see us again soon! Sincerely, LQ Customer Care
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Halifax

Reasonably priced comfortable hotel in Portland.

Posted May 1, 2017
Pros: Quiet, comfortable, clean, central and inexpensive.
Location: Portland has a lovely historic centre with an excellent art museum and enjoyable shops. We were there for a scientific meeting.
This hotel is within 20 min walk of all the major attractions in Portland. It is exceptionally quiet, comfortable and well organized. Having both parking and breakfast included was excellent. The staff were all friendly, courteous and helpful. Having an exercise room was also appreciated. We stayed for almost a week and were very happy with our decision.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 2, 2017 by LQ Customer Care, Hotel Management
Dear Helga, Thanks so much for your kind review. It sounds like you had a great stay at our clean and friendly hotel. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed our location, complimentary breakfast and fitness center and we look forward to having you visit us again in the future. Sincerely, B Ames, LQ Customer Care
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Stayed one night. Staff were helpful. Room was fine. Convenient location but not the greatest surroundings.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 24, 2017 by LQ Customer Care, Hotel Management
Thanks for your review. We truly appreciate your business and hope you will choose us for your future lodging needs. Sincerely, LQ Customer Care
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Convenient drive to downtown Portland

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Location close to downtown, but requires driving. Not safe part of town for walking and besides, there are no pedestrian walkways. Room was in need of updates and there was trash left behind from former guest. Room had odd odor to it; similar to melted plastic/resin. Bedding was clean and bed comfortable. Refrigerator, coffee maker, and microwave were clean. Heater was noisy and woke me up through the night. Rooms not very noise-proof, so I was awakened every time a door was closed. Breakfast was predominantly carbs, no healthy protein source..a disappointment. I regret not spending a little more money for better quality.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 12, 2017 by LQ Customer Care, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We truly regret that the accommodations were not what you have expected. Your opinion and satisfaction is very important to us and we are very sorry we were unable to meet your expectations. We continually try to do our very best for all of our guests. We will share your review with the hotel's management team to address and resolve the issues you noted. We appreciate you taking the time to give your honest opinion and hope that they surrounding area does not deter you from visiting us in the future. Respectfully, LQ Customer Care
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Nice Hotel Near Downtown

Posted Apr 6, 2017
Pros: The place was very clean and comfortable. The staff were very nice and helpful. The big surprise was the free breakfast was generous and very good.
Location: I was there only one night. However, the hotel is near the downtown and a short ride from the Maine Mall.
This was a nice hotel - nothing fancy - near the downtown. The parking was ample and the room was quiet, clean, and comfortable. Furthermore the staff were very pleasant and friendly. Breakfast, unlike most hotels that include breakfast, was very good, with a wide selection of items to choose from. I would stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 7, 2017 by LQ Customer Care , Hotel Management
Thanks for brightening our day! We appreciate the positive feedback and will share your review with our staff. Sincerely, LQ Customer Care
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Location: Convenient location
Everything was fine, except for the construction noise above (roto hammer) . I asked front desk staff if they could relocate us, but was told the noise was throughout the facility. That was the only disappointment web had.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 22, 2017 by LQ Customer Care, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review. We are glad to hear you had a good stay and our location was convenient for your visit. As you noted, we are currently running several projects in the hotel as we work through upgrading and refurbishing our rooms and corridors. We are extremely sorry for any disturbance this created, but are confident that the improvements we are making will benefit all our guests, and we hope that you will return to us one day to enjoy them. Thanks again and we look forward to being of service to you again soon.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maine

Ok Hotel, Iffy Location

Posted Mar 3, 2017
Pros: The staff.
Cons: Add amenities. At least shovel the sidewalk.
Location: Yuck. Nothing to do. Nowhere to walk, nothing to eat.
Everyone working there was very nice & went out of their way to be helpful, but the facility itself is way below LaQ's usual standard. No gym, no restaurant, and a terrible location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 4, 2017 by LQ Customer Care, Hotel Management
Thank you for your compliments of the front desk staff. We are happy that you were provided great service. However, we are very sorry that you had such a negative experience while staying with us. Please note that this information has been passed on to our management staff. Rest assured we are doing everything we can to improve our hotel. We very much appreciate your business and thank you for staying with us. Sincerely, LQ Customer Care
5 out of 5
by Amy

Posted Feb 27, 2017 on Hotels
Very nice clean place to stay... Beds will make you feel right at home. Breakfast there while I'd say just hit a local Mcdonalds because it would be better..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Great Value

Posted Feb 26, 2017
This is a top notch value play. $85 for a 2-double room. Really quite comfortable and so cheap to Uber to and from breweries, the Old Port, or both.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 1, 2017 by LQ Customer Care , Hotel Management
We are so sorry to hear your stay was not enjoyable. We will forward your comments to management for review. Sincerely, LQ Customer Care
4 out of 5
by Joanne

La Quinta Portland Me

Posted Feb 26, 2017 on Hotels
Stayed one night on way to Florida