Ratings based on 1,589 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Beirut, Lebanon

A chic boutique hotel close to restaurants/shops

Posted Mar 20, 2017
This is a beautiful boutique hotel loctated in a vibrant neighborhood. It is close to dining, shopping (pioneer square), trendy neighborhoods (pearl district), and the famous Powell Bookshop. My only negative comment is that the bed was not bery comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Fantastic hotel

Posted Mar 11, 2017
Wonderful hotel! Very helpful staff, excellent ROM and facilities. A real gem, will stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Britsh Columbia, Canada

Posted Mar 10, 2017
Pros: Was newly renovated, clean and bright spacious room. It has been a long time since a hotel bed (and especially the pillows!)were this comfortable.
Location: Excellent location, very walkable to many things (but that is what makes Portland so great). Trolley stop close by for places farther afield.
It was nice to find a hotel downtown that charged considerably less for parking than all the others we looked at. Felt that at most other hotels the parking costs were gauging the customer when the room rate was already high. Also, this hotel included a continental breakfast which saves a few extra dollars a day that can be much better spent at all the great Portland breweries nearby! Has nice extras like wine in the evenings that other places did not. Felt safe in this neighborhood and it was surprisingly quiet for a downtown hotel room (ask for a room on one of the higher floors.)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 5, 2017
Hotel staff was gossipy and rude. Not very helpful with the simplest things
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Small Room, no windows, misleading prices

Posted Mar 5, 2017
Pros: The lobby was nice.
Cons: Tiny windowless rooms should not be listed as "Deluxe King". Be transparent with room listings and with the process for resolving complaints.
The rooms our party booked at this hotel were small, barely fit the beds inside them and had no windows. They also upsold me on a room that was essentially the same as their standard room. The staff also told me they'd look into resolving this issue but never did. Overall I felt quite cheated and misled by this experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 14, 2017 by Ryan Horn, Hotel Management
I apologize that you didn't have a satisfactory stay. Please reach out to me directly and I would be happy to discuss your experience in further detail. Guest satisfaction is our top priority and clearly we missed the mark on your recent stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Good location, nice perks, accommodating staff.

Posted Feb 13, 2017
When we did not like the ground floor location we were switched right away to a nice room on the top floor. The free coffee and cookies plus wine and cheese before dinner are nice perks. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom spacious.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Salem, OR

Nice affordable stay in downtown pdx

Posted Jan 30, 2017
I went to a concert at the Roseland & booked this hotel because it was the closest and most affordable hotels to the venue. This ended up being one of the nicest hotels I've ever stayed at. The breakfast in the morning was great & my favorite part was definitely the shower. NICEST SHOWER EVER I SWEAR!!! 10/10 recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Comfortable and Close in

Posted Jan 13, 2017
I stayed at the mark Spencer recently, and was very pleasantly surprised by the hotel. The room was spacious and comfortable: I had a front facing room which had a nice view of downtown. The lobby isn't much, but the staff were very friendly and helpful. They were obviously in the middle of some renovations, but overall the hotel was quaint, quiet, and within walking distance of many nice shops and restaurants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jan 8, 2017
Good hotel for the dollar, in the middle of food, stores, books. We will return albeit in the summer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Rosa, Ca.

A lovely hotel close to everything

Posted Jan 6, 2017
Pros: Friendly and professional staff. Excellent location.
Cons: Took several minutes for water in shower to warm up (possibly due to being on sixth floor?). After waiting, plenty of hot water.
Location: Great location within walking distance to Pearl District with restaurants, shops and the awesome Powell's Book Store! Close to Portland Art Museum.
Very professional and courteous staff, room comfortable and clean. Hotel is centrally located with many excellent restaurants and shops within walking distance. Would definitely stay there again.