Ratings based on 1,471 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Great location for Pearl District, streetcars, and MAX.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Österreich

Top Hotel in Top Lage

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Ein schönes, aber nicht opulentes Zimmer, das trotz Straßenbahn vorm Haus auch angenehm ruhig war. Eine Top-Lage: die ganze Innenstadt von Portland in Gehdistanz und alles, was man sonst so braucht (Lokale, Foodcars, Geschäfte), vor der Tür. Super geeignet sowohl für den kurzen wie längeren Aufenthalt.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from West New York, NJ

Nice Hotel Nowhere Near A Beach

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Pros: read above.... add your beautiful linens!
Cons: Mirrors in the elevator? More hangers in the closet (and they don't have to be the expensive wooden kind).?
Location: What I Did: Oregon Symphony. 1/2 day at your wonderful Art Museum. Oregon Historical Museum. Mt. Hood . Columbia Gorge & Waterfalls. Etc. Etc.....
I was very glad to make the Mark Spencer my "first home" in Portland. After ten days in its enviable location (my first time in Oregaon) I was able to explore this wonderful city of friendly people and well cared for streets with invigorating clean air and excellent public tap water "bubblers". This all combined with the multi-full varieties of excellent craft beers and restaurants to go with them, is the mecca of enjoyment. The streets are easy and safe to manage, mainly, I think, because of the prevalence of one-way streets which simplify confusions with buses, trolleys, trucks and cars. The hotel has just the right amount of amenities. No need to add another restaurant/bar to the scene that is already there and constantly changing in the surrounding nieghborhood, Your front desk staff was ever so special. The cleaning lady for my room ( "Aye") did a top-notch job in keeping my room spotless. I believe room #614 may be the "best room in the House" with terrific view of Mt. St. Hellenus to the North and the Eastern skyline. Had a wonderful time there in your very special part of the US. I'm sure I'll be back again and very much expect to enjoy the Mark Spencer care again. PS. It all started with my reading of David Pittsinger's article in "Opera News" magazine, June 2016.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from los angeles

Great place

Posted Sep 8, 2016
Loved the location, wine tasting, breakfast, upscale room....just don't expect the front desk to know much about the city
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Central location, great staff, beautiful room

Posted Sep 4, 2016
The Mark Spencer is so central - it was in the epicenter of everything we wanted to do, including Powell's, the Saturday Market, the Hawthorne Street Festival, and more. Ubers were fast and cheap to get to the Alberta and Mississippi areas. The hotel itself is clean and very charming, and the staff were so friendly and helpful. We booked a corner king suite and it was fabulous! It was a good sized room and we had a great view over Portland ....and the kitchenette was perfect for a quick breakfast (the fridge was handy for storing all the beers from all of the different microbreweries!). I would definitely stay here again!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tacoma, WA

Awesome! She upgraded our stay on arrival.

Posted Sep 4, 2016
I would stay here again in a "hot sec".it is located in the heart of the city right near a very fun dance club or two and tons of restaurants.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle ,Washington

Close to all the things

Posted Sep 1, 2016
Pros: Location and overall look
Cons: More storage in bathroom
Location: Stayed the night. Tons of great grew pugs and food nearby
Room was great but bathroom was smaller. Hotel is in the heart of downtown no need to drive anywhere. Staff was super friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Annandale, Virginia

Our go-to Portland hotel

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Pros: The Mark Spencer is just a five-minute walk from two of our favorite places in Portland, Powell's City of Books and Jake's Famous Crawfish.
Cons: Some rooms have a good view over the city, but others face very close-by buildings. We've ended up in both, and prefer the rooms with a view.
Location: Powell's, Jake's Famous Crawfish, Blue Star Donuts. Everything in downtown Portland is within walking distance of everything else.
We've stayed at the Mark Spencer several times before and are certain to stay there again. The facilities are very appealing and the location can't be beat. Their parking arrangements are quite convenient.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

If you have the money for it.

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Mark spencer hotel is pretty nice. Nothing out of this world but a nice location and plenty of tourist stuff in the surrounding area. The rooms are nice and the service is what you would expect from a well functioning hotel (room service, news paper in the morning etc.). A little pricey but if you don't mind that then this place is a comfortable stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from 台灣

成市中心的好飯店,房間出乎意料有廚房全套工作

Posted Aug 28, 2016
Pros: 房間設計,配備設施跟地理位置
Cons: 一是洗澡水壓太小 二是沒有免費牙刷牙膏組合
飯店環境漂亮優美,生活必需品基本上都有 各種優點種有兩個美中不足, 一是洗澡水壓太小 二是沒有免費牙刷牙膏組合 其他各住宿條件跟地理位置都很棒