Ratings based on 623 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Comfortable and Close in

Posted Jan 13, 2017
I stayed at the mark Spencer recently, and was very pleasantly surprised by the hotel. The room was spacious and comfortable: I had a front facing room which had a nice view of downtown. The lobby isn't much, but the staff were very friendly and helpful. They were obviously in the middle of some renovations, but overall the hotel was quaint, quiet, and within walking distance of many nice shops and restaurants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jan 8, 2017
Good hotel for the dollar, in the middle of food, stores, books. We will return albeit in the summer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Rosa, Ca.

A lovely hotel close to everything

Posted Jan 6, 2017
Pros: Friendly and professional staff. Excellent location.
Cons: Took several minutes for water in shower to warm up (possibly due to being on sixth floor?). After waiting, plenty of hot water.
Location: Great location within walking distance to Pearl District with restaurants, shops and the awesome Powell's Book Store! Close to Portland Art Museum.
Very professional and courteous staff, room comfortable and clean. Hotel is centrally located with many excellent restaurants and shops within walking distance. Would definitely stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Redmond, WA

Great hotel close to the Pearl District

Posted Dec 12, 2016
This was my second stay at this hotel, and is now my first choice hotel for Portland. The location is perfect as it's on the edge of the Pearl District which is where I like to be. It's also a short walk to downtown and public transport gets you almost everywhere else.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Location

Posted Dec 8, 2016
Within walking distance to yoga, healthy eats and shopping. However, it's an older building and the bathroom sink didn't drain nor did the hot water for the sink work properly though the fixtures were all new. Yet, the staff was responsive and discounted my room as requested. They would have come up to fix it but but since we were only staying one night I requested they wait until we checked out. Our room included a fully functioning kitchenette with china, utensils and cooking tools. The sitting room was comfortable and it was set up well for an extended stay. There was no evening door man or bell hop which I could have used at check in. Parking was across the street and due to one ways a bit cumbersome. I would stay there again just for the location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Boutique Hotel

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: Vary the treats at Tea Time.
Location: Centrally located to all the main attractions and transportation.
The hotel is ideally situated with proximity to restaurants, attractions and transportation.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Its close to the downtown for shopping many restaurant nearby but the hotel is small and room is also small I dont like it because there is no room slippers provided
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Salem, OR

Looking forward to going back

Posted Nov 25, 2016
Quick check-in. Great location. Parking available for a reasonable price, but we parked for free on the street within two blocks of the hotel. Easily the nicest hotel I've stayed at in this price range. Unbelievably comfortable bed/pillow
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Renovated with character

Posted Nov 23, 2016
We got upgraded to one of the the deluxe corner king rooms. It was beautiful! Spacious, clean, and cozy with a big picture window. The exposed brick added so much character to the room. The hotel is undergoing renovations and we got one of the newly renovated and tastefully decorated rooms. It's in the the perfect location, delicious restaurants are literally around every corner and it's right on the edge of downtown making all of downtown easily accessible by foot. The bed was comfortable, and the room was very clean. The only drawback, if you want to call it one, is the bathroom doesn't have hooks to hang your towels and there isn't a shelf in the shower to place your shower items. The continental breakfast (included in our reservation) consisted of hard boiled eggs, yogurt, fruit, oatmeal, cereal,a small variety of breads, coffee, and juice. I would definitely stay here again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice place in a great location in Portland

Posted Nov 16, 2016
Nice location. Near pretty much everything downtown, Good food nearby. Comfortable, clean, very pleasing hotel.