Ratings based on 71 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from carlisle UK

Lovely two days

Posted Jun 23, 2017
Super hotel, recently refurbished and very comfortable.Doug was a great host behind the bar.Garden with fire pit most welcome.Would highly recommend Chris Uk
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

perfect location

Posted May 27, 2017
Even in midst of renovations, the hotel was great. Perfect blend of old and new with great attentive staff
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Under construction so noise / debris was a nusence

Posted May 21, 2017
Needs microwave in room.also needs gaming/entertainment compatable telivision.both for visiting families if that is a target demographic
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Had a request to change room accommodations after arrival (one king to two queen /traveling with daughter ). Staff so quick to respond and switch us to the double queen, with such a friendly and courteous demeanor it made the stay very pleasant. Overall the hotel and staff were lovely.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from BOSTON, MASSACHUSETTS

Great location and lovely property !

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Pros: SEE ABOVE
Cons: RATES A WORTH IT BUT "TRES CHER"
Location: SHOPS, BOATS, RESTAURANTS, BREWERIES, IT'S ALL THERE
I have stayed at the Portland Harbor Hotel since it's inception. Always a delightful place to be. The chef is most creative so I often enjoy Breakfast and Dinner there, The staff is mostly young and energetic. They all seem to love being there. Older staff adds a nice balance to the service. The Hotel is quiet which is most important to me. I always book the "courtyard rooms" to insure that feature. Close to Casco Bay Lines for trips to the harbor islands. Peaks is a short (12 minute) trip. Love the shops around this area and walking up to the Eastern Promanade provides great views and EXERCISE! YOU WILL LOVE IT
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from portland or

Right in the Old Port

Posted Apr 12, 2017
This hotel is great if you want to just park the car and spend your days enjoying Portland on foot. There is a $20 parking fee. The hotel is small and very nice with the outside brick mirroring the style of the old port. The room was a good size with a king bed, sofa, coffee table and desk and a spacious bathroom. Good water pressure in the shower. The rooms do have laminate floors which makes it a bit noisy. In fact, if you are sensitive to noise, this is not really a quiet hotel. More interior noise than street noise. But it's still very nice and the location is unbeatable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Medford, MA

Lovely hotel. Wonderful staff. Great Location

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Pros: The pleasant staff. The comfortable, attractive rooms. Location. Attention to detail like complimentary shuttle service on request.
Cons: When the renovations are complete I can't think of anything that could be improved.
Location: Old Port is a fun place to tour. Lots of shops and restaurants. Seaport views. First class museum. Harbor tours.
This is our second visit to the Portland Harbor Hotel. It is a great place to stay. The staff are to a person pleasant and helpful and knowledgeable. The rooms are lovely with comfortable beds. There is a pleasant courtyard with fire pit to relax around. The only reason I didn't give it five stars across the board is that they are currently going through a renovation. I understand, however, that this will be complete very shortly. The renovation work is not obtrusive but the hotel doesn't show it's full beauty at the moment. The hotel could not be more conveniently located to Old Port activities and shops. A great experience all around.
5 out of 5
by Marion

Wonderful place to stay

Posted Mar 12, 2017 on Hotels
Staff was super friendly, property was beautiful and we loved the complimentary car service! We will definitely stay here again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Hampton Bays, NY

Wonderful hotel from start to finish

Posted Mar 8, 2017
Pros: Everything! Made me feel special, not just like a guest.
Cons: Heating system. It turned off and on and the temperature fluctuated a bit at night.
Location: Lots of wonderful bar and restaurants nearby. I would need a few weeks to visit everyone I thought was interesting.
From start to finish, this hotel was delightful. Everyone in the hotel, including the guests, were so pleasant and helpful. The rooms were comfortable and bright. Quiet for getting work done. The restaurant food was as good as any I've ever had. Absolutely delicious. I eat a vegan diet, and the chef was able to re-create the menu items to accommodate me. Fantastic!
4 out of 5
by William

Posted Mar 3, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel is under renovation, elevators difficult to use