Ratings based on 163 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by dana from portland, me

Dirty

Posted Aug 19, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel was in a great location; however, it was so DIRTY! There was debris and dried leaves in the hallway, stains on the carpet and couch and plastic bags wrapped around the pipes. Breakfast was not good. Plus there was a funky smell in the hotel. We stayed in Portland one more night but changed hotels.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MI

Tired looking property

Posted Aug 19, 2016
Pros: Convenient Parking.
Cons: Needs to be completely renovated. Pool needs to be reopened and spa needs more than two outdated machines. Breakfast is geared for low cost.
Location: Location is fine. Well connected to all sights and excellent supermarket across the main road.
This must have been a very nice property years ago but age has taken its toll. The property is clean but everything is so worn out. This is clearly no longer a Marriott property as they would never brand it in its current condition plus they have an excellent Residence Inn right next door which is absolutely outstanding. I hope the new owners find the investment to modernize this place or it will eventually just close down.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Would not book this hotel

Posted Aug 16, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: nothing
Cons: This hotel needs to be renovated
Location: Location is fine.
We arrived after 6:00 PM and noticed that the pool was covered and the area had leaves around the pool cover and entire pool area. There were leaves in the entrance to the building. The carpets in the hall way and elevator were dirty and stained. The room was not clean properly and something was sprayed to cover up the smell in the room. We asked for the charges to our credit card be reversed and was told that we had to do that through Our booking agent. When I called Our booking agent, they in turn called the hotel. Guess what, The desk clerk checked the room and said that it was clean so the booking agent would not reverse the charge after 40 minutes on the phone. I always check the reviews prior to making hotel reservations. I could not believe that this hotel was rated 4.2. They will not see me again, nor will I do business with this booking agent in the future.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Dirty and horrible. Needs over haul. No breakfast just rasin bran and stale mini bagels. Run for the hills do not stay here. The shower lining has dirt and mold
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from RI

Great location

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Pros: location
Cons: A great deal....
Location: Very close to everything and easy access to Portland.
We were disappointed with our stay this time. We stayed at this same property 2 years ago and everything was great so we decided to come back. We checked in and found out the hotel was only half open due to renovations and it is transitioning into a different "brand". The room was dirty. I had to clean the glasses, utensils, coffee pot, counters and the old soap in the shower before we felt comfortable. I asked for two extra pillows and it took 2 and 1/2 hours for someone at the front desk to call us and have us go downstairs and pick them up at the front desk. We stayed for 2 nights. We had coffee and muffins at the kitchen area. there was no juice like in our prior stay. We left our room at 9:30am and returned at 6:00pm. our room had still not been cleaned. I went to the front desk and was told they didn't have enough help. I gathered my wet towels and trash and gave it to the cleaning person that was in our hallway 45 min. later. I asked for fresh soap and coffee for the coffee pot in the room. The next morning, there was juice at the breakfast area but it was VERY watery. I'm sad to say that it went down so dramatically in two years. We will not be coming back to this hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 12, 2016 on Hotels
The front desk staff members were very helpful and friendly. Be aware that this hotel has very limited housekeeping; daily room tidying and towel replacement cannot be expected. The hotel was a good value for the overall location during the high point of the tourist season, but the creature comforts and commensurate with the discounted price.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MA

Decent size room but outdated and dirty

Posted Aug 9, 2016
We needed a room to accommodate 4 adults and 2 children. This hotel did that. It even had a small kitchen. The downfall was that it was very outdated, the living room furniture was in terrible condition, and the kitchen was dirty- dirty pot holder & small bugs.
2 out of 5
by Elisa from Boston

Decent price, but won't be coming back

Posted Aug 9, 2016 on Hotels
My family and I decided to take a small weekend getaway to Portland, ME. We wanted to look for something closeby but not too pricey and came across Portland Hotel and Suites. Location was great, a short 15min drive or so to the city center. We usually are out most of the day so we are not too picky with hotels as we really just use them as a place to sleep and shower. With that said, the level of cleanliness was subpar. We found stain after stain, I'm sure the sheets were washed but when you decide to put white sheets on a bed, you should check for stains before you use them. These were noticeable stains. 2nd thing that was unfortunate was the sofa bed. We needed to use it as there were 3 of us, which I had checked off when I booked. The sofa bed was not made, ok no big deal we'll make it but there were no extra sheets to make it so we had to call the front desk and ask for some. Lastly a big negative, we came back to our room around 6:30pm to shower and change before going out to dinner, our room was not made or cleaned, housekeeping came at 7pm!! At that point, no thank you, we don't have time to leave the room for it to be cleaned, and plus, what is the point at 7pm to make the beds??!! Overall the stay was not horrible but I will not be coming back.
4 out of 5
by Lynne from upstate NY

Good value

Posted Aug 8, 2016 on Hotels
For the value, the Portland Inn and Suites was suitable for our needs.It is close to Portland, the beach, and stores. The lobby is very 'worn' and I was concerned about the room but it was clean and comfortable. The pull out couch was pretty stained. We were given the handicapped room although we are not which was okay other than an awkward bathroom configuration. The young lady at the desk was super pleasant and helpful
5 out of 5
by Elizabeth from Vermont

great for families

Posted Aug 6, 2016 on Hotels
The only negative was that the pool was not open and the kids were disappointed.