Ratings based on 225 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sisters, Oregon

I'll stay here again.

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Cons: The soap was too "smelly" to use. Aromatic wood - very masculine, not in a good way. Lucky I had bar soap with me.
Location: The independent shop owners are friendly and love their community. Walk around and meet them.
This hotel is central to downtown. We walked everywhere we needed to go. Exploring, Powells Books, shopping, restaurants, coffee, art museum.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Great location, stolen credit card information

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Pros: Location, checkin staff friendliness and helpfulness
Location: Pioneer Square, great shopping and restaurants
Have stayed in this hotel many times, usually without problems, but this last visit came with my credit card information being stolen and its attempted use that day, from the bar/lounge. When notified, management not concerned about possible staff involvement in this credit card fraud. My previous visit involved a non guest, who slipped into the elevator, which requires a key to operate, followed me to my room, and when I asked him what he was doing, turned and rapidly exited by the stairs. This is a hotel with a great location in downtown, but I have concerns about safety and the management commitment to that standard.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 22, 2016 by Guest Satisfaction Ambassador , Hotel Management
Thank you for this valued feedback. We are truly sorry to hear that your credit card was compromised. I was made aware of this situation the day you brought it to our attention. Please rest assured our management team did take the proper steps in evaluating camera footage and speaking to all restaurant staff who were on shift that day. We wish you the best of luck in sorting out this unfortunate issue.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san antonio, tx

hotel

Posted Nov 18, 2016
in the middle of downtown. Did not have to walk far for clubs or food carts. Bathroom sink would not drain properly but after notifying them a technician came right away and fixed it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from anchorage

Great location

Posted Nov 17, 2016
Helpful friendly staff. Right off public transit nice big rooms. Nice city view. Love bar and atrium
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Woodland hills, United States of America

Close to shop

Posted Nov 11, 2016
Friendly staff, welcoming and accommodating.... its very close to shopping and in the heart of downtown
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

The staff was very nice and accommodating.

Posted Oct 23, 2016
The hotel was nice but there was a issue with the dressing of the beds that I did not like. The bed covers looked unorganized and made incomplete. I asked for another room and noticed the same problem there. Otherwise the hotel was fine.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nickeled and dimes customers.

Posted Oct 3, 2016
For a descent, not amazing hotel, they nickeled and dimed the customers. No complimentary coffee- you had to pay $5. The hotel clerk even recommended going down the street to get a better cheaper cup. Over 40 bucks to valet your car daily- more expensive than Seattle, and 10 dollars a day for wifi.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Great staff, great location,comfortable stay

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Great place for a weekend or business trip. Central to about everything. Great food surrounding you, Close to public transportation, and excellent valet service when needed. Clean and comfortable rooms, nice and quiet.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 8, 2016
No Breakfast No Airport pickup/drop off No free water Too much$ 4 too little
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 10, 2016 by Guest Services Ambassador , Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. As I understand that it's frustrating that our hotel doesn't offer a free airport shuttle, It is par for the course as a downtown location. Most shuttles you'll find picking up and dropping off at the airport are operated by airport area hotels. For the downtown area of Portland the hotels utilize the Blue Star Shuttle which provides an excellent service. The waters offered in room do cost $4, however there is always free flavored water in the lobby and bottled water provided at no charge in the fitness center and front desk. We also offer a full service restaurant on our second floor operating from 6:30 am-11 pm 7 days a week. If your travels ever bring you back to Portland we would love to host a stay for you offering an experience nothing short of brilliant.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A rusty needle!

Posted Jul 1, 2016
I was in Portland with my family celebrating a birthday, but our stay at the Marriott soured the trip. Upon arrival at 5pm, the two suites we booked were not ready (check-in is at 4pm). After finally getting one of our rooms, we discovered a RUSTY NEEDLE sitting on the bathroom counter. My 9 month old daughter almost grabbed it!!! We went to the front desk to complain. The front desk agent was able to move us to a different room, but since they didn't have another suite available they gave us two regular rooms for the price of one suite. They really should have comped a room completely, but the manager Preston refused. He was not helpful and was very condescending. I would not recommend staying here unless you want to wait for a clean room, only to find a rusty needle and not be compensated for your trouble.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 5, 2016 by Guest Services Ambassador, Hotel Management
Dear Sandy, We are very thankful that you took the time to offer this feedback. As a property we are disheartened to hear about your stay with us as the experience you had is well below the standards in which we strive to achieve. This matter has been brought to the attention of our executive team to ensure all matters will be addressed appropriately. Thank you again for your constructive criticism as it allows us to improve the quality of our services and offerings. Sincerely