Ratings based on 726 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 8, 2016
No Breakfast No Airport pickup/drop off No free water Too much$ 4 too little
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 10, 2016 by Guest Services Ambassador , Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. As I understand that it's frustrating that our hotel doesn't offer a free airport shuttle, It is par for the course as a downtown location. Most shuttles you'll find picking up and dropping off at the airport are operated by airport area hotels. For the downtown area of Portland the hotels utilize the Blue Star Shuttle which provides an excellent service. The waters offered in room do cost $4, however there is always free flavored water in the lobby and bottled water provided at no charge in the fitness center and front desk. We also offer a full service restaurant on our second floor operating from 6:30 am-11 pm 7 days a week. If your travels ever bring you back to Portland we would love to host a stay for you offering an experience nothing short of brilliant.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A rusty needle!

Posted Jul 1, 2016
I was in Portland with my family celebrating a birthday, but our stay at the Marriott soured the trip. Upon arrival at 5pm, the two suites we booked were not ready (check-in is at 4pm). After finally getting one of our rooms, we discovered a RUSTY NEEDLE sitting on the bathroom counter. My 9 month old daughter almost grabbed it!!! We went to the front desk to complain. The front desk agent was able to move us to a different room, but since they didn't have another suite available they gave us two regular rooms for the price of one suite. They really should have comped a room completely, but the manager Preston refused. He was not helpful and was very condescending. I would not recommend staying here unless you want to wait for a clean room, only to find a rusty needle and not be compensated for your trouble.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 5, 2016 by Guest Services Ambassador, Hotel Management
Dear Sandy, We are very thankful that you took the time to offer this feedback. As a property we are disheartened to hear about your stay with us as the experience you had is well below the standards in which we strive to achieve. This matter has been brought to the attention of our executive team to ensure all matters will be addressed appropriately. Thank you again for your constructive criticism as it allows us to improve the quality of our services and offerings. Sincerely
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good downtown Portland hotel - close to Powell's.

Posted Jun 20, 2016
Pros: Good location, staff was very helpful and pleasant.
Cons: Rooms with 2 beds should have queens - not doubles. Also rooms with adjustable showerheads should be actually adjustable.
Location: Close to Powell's, food trucks, rest of downtown.
We took a short weekend trip to Portland to hit Powell's and see the city. This hotel was centrally located, and was the best price for the location (too expensive but so are all of the downtown hotels). The staff was extremely helpful, we used the valet parking which was also pretty expensive but worth it to not have to worry about parking overnight or around the city. Our room was ready much earlier than the required check in time, and the front desk held our luggage while we waited. Our room was nice enough although it had 2 double beds (instead of queens) and the shower, which was handicap-accessible, had an adjustable showerhead that was not actually adjustable, so it had to be hand-held. Overall we enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel for downtown Portland trips.
1 out of 5
by Paul

Reservation mess-up. Unapologetic staff.

Posted May 12, 2016 on Hotels
Booked a deluxe king room with a view. Got to my room: two double beds, no view. But what took broke the camel's back is that there is no cell reception in that particular room (room 1001). Went down to the front desk. Told them about the mistake. They were all full so they could not do anything. Fair enough. However, they were not apologetic, they did not offer free internet, a reduction in the rate to make up for the lesser room. It was very late. A little empathy, even feigned, maybe free internet (it's not the price but the gesture) would have gone a long way. But instead, it was a very "tough luck" sort of attitude. Hotels.com relocated me and ate the rate difference. Thanks hotels.com. Marriott not so much.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

walk to anything you want

Posted May 10, 2016 on Orbitz
Very easy walking distance to most sites and shopping in the downtown Portland area.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Staff friendly decent location

Posted May 3, 2016 on Orbitz
Staff was friendly and courteous location great not great quality bathroom linens and didn't clean room till we left other than the price being a little steep still recommend
3 out of 5
by Kim

Great location...but room was quite claustraphobic

Posted Apr 24, 2016 on Hotels
A bit disappointed -- they put us on the 5th floor and the view was very unpleasant looking onto a dirty rooftop and totally enclosed. It felt claustophobic and there was no Wifi except in the lobby. we thought we would be fine with our cell phones, but NO signal due to the location so we had to go out of the room, down the hallway just to get a signal. We had loud neighbors in the evening; by 1:00 am we could not take it anymore and called the front desk to ask them to quite down (and amazingly they did, thank you front desk). However, on a positive note staff was nice; great location and room was clean.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Eugene OR

Great location

Posted Apr 15, 2016
We had a wonderful stay and plan to return soon. The hotel is close to many very good restaurants and shopping.
5 out of 5
by JORGE from Seattle

Awesome location.

Posted Apr 12, 2016 on Hotels
Awesome location, great hotel. I would stay here again if I went to Portland, you can walk to many of the famous restaurants and breweries. If you stay skip the valet parking and use the self park around the block to save some money.
4 out of 5
by hong from Bellingham

Posted Apr 11, 2016 on Hotels
Parking is very expensive. No free wifi in room