Ratings based on 722 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A rusty needle!

Posted Jul 1, 2016
I was in Portland with my family celebrating a birthday, but our stay at the Marriott soured the trip. Upon arrival at 5pm, the two suites we booked were not ready (check-in is at 4pm). After finally getting one of our rooms, we discovered a RUSTY NEEDLE sitting on the bathroom counter. My 9 month old daughter almost grabbed it!!! We went to the front desk to complain. The front desk agent was able to move us to a different room, but since they didn't have another suite available they gave us two regular rooms for the price of one suite. They really should have comped a room completely, but the manager Preston refused. He was not helpful and was very condescending. I would not recommend staying here unless you want to wait for a clean room, only to find a rusty needle and not be compensated for your trouble.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 5, 2016 by Guest Services Ambassador, Hotel Management
Dear Sandy, We are very thankful that you took the time to offer this feedback. As a property we are disheartened to hear about your stay with us as the experience you had is well below the standards in which we strive to achieve. This matter has been brought to the attention of our executive team to ensure all matters will be addressed appropriately. Thank you again for your constructive criticism as it allows us to improve the quality of our services and offerings. Sincerely
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good downtown Portland hotel - close to Powell's.

Posted Jun 20, 2016
Pros: Good location, staff was very helpful and pleasant.
Cons: Rooms with 2 beds should have queens - not doubles. Also rooms with adjustable showerheads should be actually adjustable.
Location: Close to Powell's, food trucks, rest of downtown.
We took a short weekend trip to Portland to hit Powell's and see the city. This hotel was centrally located, and was the best price for the location (too expensive but so are all of the downtown hotels). The staff was extremely helpful, we used the valet parking which was also pretty expensive but worth it to not have to worry about parking overnight or around the city. Our room was ready much earlier than the required check in time, and the front desk held our luggage while we waited. Our room was nice enough although it had 2 double beds (instead of queens) and the shower, which was handicap-accessible, had an adjustable showerhead that was not actually adjustable, so it had to be hand-held. Overall we enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel for downtown Portland trips.
3 out of 5
by Kim

Great location...but room was quite claustraphobic

Posted Apr 24, 2016 on Hotels
A bit disappointed -- they put us on the 5th floor and the view was very unpleasant looking onto a dirty rooftop and totally enclosed. It felt claustophobic and there was no Wifi except in the lobby. we thought we would be fine with our cell phones, but NO signal due to the location so we had to go out of the room, down the hallway just to get a signal. We had loud neighbors in the evening; by 1:00 am we could not take it anymore and called the front desk to ask them to quite down (and amazingly they did, thank you front desk). However, on a positive note staff was nice; great location and room was clean.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Eugene OR

Great location

Posted Apr 15, 2016
We had a wonderful stay and plan to return soon. The hotel is close to many very good restaurants and shopping.
5 out of 5
by JORGE from Seattle

Awesome location.

Posted Apr 12, 2016 on Hotels
Awesome location, great hotel. I would stay here again if I went to Portland, you can walk to many of the famous restaurants and breweries. If you stay skip the valet parking and use the self park around the block to save some money.
4 out of 5
by hong from Bellingham

Posted Apr 11, 2016 on Hotels
Parking is very expensive. No free wifi in room
3 out of 5
by Mark from Centralia

Transit

Posted Apr 10, 2016 on Hotels
Layover, lived here so city was known. Price and valet charge way too high for quality. Should be 2- star, only.
5 out of 5
by THERESA from Richland, Wa

Posted Apr 4, 2016 on Hotels
Surprised with an upgrade to a room with a panoramic view. Great visit!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portland or.

Posted Mar 25, 2016
My only regret is that I was there for only one night. It was a nice hotel in the heart of downtown Portland and I would have loved to stayed for a week.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Spacious and comfortable

Posted Mar 6, 2016
Large windows and good light. Comfortable bed with plenty of good pillows. The room was very large and well appointed with good desk space and roomy closet. Location is ideal for downtown Portland.