Ratings based on 1,145 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel was fine ... But ...

Posted Sep 11, 2016
Members of staff were participating in a party in the adjacent room at 11:30 at night ... running up and down the hallway, laughing and slamming the room door. Informed the front desk that night and the next morning ... they tried to convince us we didn't know what we were hearing and were mistaken ...
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vermont

Overnight vacation

Posted Sep 9, 2016
Pros: Central location, friendly staff, nice spa area. Beautiful building.
Cons: Sauna did not warm up very fast. Sound deadening between rooms/bathrooms needs improvement. Mysterious mechanical sounds all night room 121
Location: Casco Bay ferries, Top of the East bar,
My wife and I wanted to take a short vacation and decided a trip to NH and ME would do the trick. Of the 4 overnight stays, this was the best. The room was nice, valet parking was a godsend given the lack of parking downtown in Portland. The front desk was very helpful in picking a place for diner within easy walking distance and confirmed the best place for a cocktail before dinner (Top of the East). Nice and central in the old port no need for a car as everything is an easy walk. We also wanted use of a sauna and jacuzzi for relaxing but unfortunately the jacuzzi was down for maintenance and sauna was warm only. Overall, a nice visit but it could have been great if it weren't for the drawbacks listed below.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Long Island, NY

Nice hotel, downtown Portland.

Posted Sep 3, 2016
Pros: The location is perfect. The valet staff was excellent. The breakfast was very good.
Cons: We had a basement level room. A room higher up would have been nicer.
Location: Shopping, biking, hiking, restaurants, pubs, live music, tours.
We had a great time in Portland. Staying downtown allowed us to ditch the car, and walk everywhere.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Newton MA

old fashioned but nice

Posted Sep 3, 2016
Pros: See above
Cons: New carpets. New shower curtain, especially the liner which was heavy cheap plastic
Location: Portland's old town is full of great restaurants, shops and harbor cruises. Artsy boutiques, funky stores, and lots and lots of bars.
This is an old hotel that is charming if you like mirrors framed in gold scroll, old fashioned furniture and slightly out of date feel. Our room was roomy considering it was one of the cheaper ones. The staff was helpful and friendly. Big plus: being able to have breakfast or dinner outside in a lovely courtyard. It's also convenient to all the Old Town attractions.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 3, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Michael A

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 28, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by tuyen

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 27, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by william from Crystal river

Posted Aug 21, 2016 on Hotels
Overnight stay, hotel quiet, but location for restaurants, theaters, sightseeing perfect
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Charming, newly renovated hotel, downtown

Posted Aug 18, 2016
Like many old hotels, the rooms are not very spacious, but are very nicely appointed.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 17, 2016 on Orbitz
Overall sort of run down. Portions remodeled but not done well. The staff is really good and responsive.