Ratings based on 1,267 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Danvers MA

Close to all the action

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Great spot to stay. Walking distance to everything. Staff was very friendly
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Quebec

You pay for what you got.

Posted Sep 13, 2017
Booked the room at 22:15 on a Sunday, they got my reservation at the exact same time. Clean hotel. The bed were so comfortable that I had the feeling that my body would never want to leave this bed. Expensive, but it is well worth it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely spa experience, comfortable stay!

Posted Sep 10, 2017
I had a nice stay at the Regency- especially enjoyed the turndown service with chocolates! Found a couple of staff members cool or not-so-accommodating, but most were nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Perfect location, nice rooms, good restaurant/al fresca dining on the terrace.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from boston

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Excellent condition hotel while keeping the historic district the outside cafe very nice
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fairfield, CT

Historic building in a great location

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Pros: Portland is not a large city and the location was perfect to walk everywhere.
Cons: The stairwells were very industrial, reminiscent of my high school built in the 60's.
Location: Just a block off of Commercial Ave and within walking distance to lots of great shops and restaurants.
Needed a nice hotel for a girls' weekend and the Portland Regency was just right. The rooms were clean and tastefully decorated. Super comfortable beds and a nice little chocolate with the turn down. Loved that there was a spa in the building, unfortunately the jacuzzi and sauna space were not available due to maintenance work (timing in the middle of high season was odd, must have been an emergency). The staff were friendly and helpful, a nice throw back with actual keys for the rooms. The rooms did not have individual coffee makers or refrigerators for leftovers, but it wasn't a big deal and there is coffee and tea service in the lobby. It was fresh at 5:30am when I came down.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Franklin TN

Excellent downtown location

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Great service, excellent location and central for walking around the city, food and service were consistently great
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

We picked a winner!

Posted Aug 24, 2017
We just had a quick overnight, but everything was perfect from check-in through check-out. The location of the Regency is perfectly located in the Old Port amongst all the great shops and restaurants. The front desk staff, housekeeping, and valets were all genuinely pleasant to talk to.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Just a short walk to the pier area, where you can get food or book a tour. The rooms are dark unless you get a fourth floor room with a balcony. In that case, you have a down the block view of the water. A third floor room had small windows and was very noisy. You could hear noise in the hallway and the rooms on either side. Needed earplugs to sleep. There wasn't a coffee maker or refrigerator. One of the front desk ladies forgot to call our cab and we missed our Alagash brewery tour. She seemed unconcerned. There is a nice bar with friendly service and decent bar food. The computer and printer we used to get flight check in was so old we had to have help twice just to get on the internet and then use the printer. Not user friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York City

Beautiful hotel in a beautiful city

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Charming hotel with lots of style (used to be an old armory) Perfect location in Portland city center, two blocks from the port. Lots of restaurants and boutiques at walking distance. Our room was spacious. Very pleasant staff. The hotel spa is beautiful too. Definitely recommended.