Ratings based on 1,132 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent location with classic charm

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Beds
The central location can't be any better. I love the free morning coffee and pastries delivered to my room each morning. The turn down service is a nice touch that I haven't seen from any other hotels in many years. The rooms are clean. My only complaint is our double beds were extremely soft and caused you to roll into the middle so it's uncomfortable to share.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

We were pleasantly surprised!

Posted Oct 9, 2016
The location of this hotel was near the Old Port which makes everything within walking distance. the roon was on the small side but not to small. We only ate breakfast there and it was good and the waitior was pleasant but often seemed overwhelmed!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nashua NH

Great Hotel within walking distance to everything

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Pros: Its history and location were perfect for us.
Cons: Not sure as everyone was so nice.
Location: We were there only as a stopping place on our way to a nearby island for a wedding. I want to go back and explore the area around this hotel.
We were greeted by the staff with huge smiles and felt they really met it. At breakfast, John, our waiter went above and beyond and it showed. While waiting for friends hours after breakfast I felt my sugar level dropping fast. Went into the restaurant and asked to purchase a glass of coke. John overheard my conversation and immediately produced a glass of regular coke. When I went to pay for it he said no and would not even accept a tip. The following morning when he saw us come in he came over and asked if I was OK. You don't find many folks like that in the industry these days. Wish there were more folks like this guy.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Staff was friendly, the beds were comfortable and the location was great! Would definitely stay here again!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Good location... Clean and quaint. Good service and friendly check-in. Nnnnnnnnnnnnn n n n n nnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect location

Posted Sep 12, 2016
This is the perfect place to stay in Portland. One block from everything yet far enough away from the noises at night. This is where you want to be. The balcony deck was perfect
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minnesota


Posted Sep 12, 2016
Great location, mostly everything with in walking distance. Our room was a little noisey as we were near the laundry area. Staff very nice, helpful, and interested in making sure we had anything or needed info.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel was fine ... But ...

Posted Sep 11, 2016
Members of staff were participating in a party in the adjacent room at 11:30 at night ... running up and down the hallway, laughing and slamming the room door. Informed the front desk that night and the next morning ... they tried to convince us we didn't know what we were hearing and were mistaken ...
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vermont

Overnight vacation

Posted Sep 9, 2016
Pros: Central location, friendly staff, nice spa area. Beautiful building.
Cons: Sauna did not warm up very fast. Sound deadening between rooms/bathrooms needs improvement. Mysterious mechanical sounds all night room 121
Location: Casco Bay ferries, Top of the East bar,
My wife and I wanted to take a short vacation and decided a trip to NH and ME would do the trick. Of the 4 overnight stays, this was the best. The room was nice, valet parking was a godsend given the lack of parking downtown in Portland. The front desk was very helpful in picking a place for diner within easy walking distance and confirmed the best place for a cocktail before dinner (Top of the East). Nice and central in the old port no need for a car as everything is an easy walk. We also wanted use of a sauna and jacuzzi for relaxing but unfortunately the jacuzzi was down for maintenance and sauna was warm only. Overall, a nice visit but it could have been great if it weren't for the drawbacks listed below.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Long Island, NY

Nice hotel, downtown Portland.

Posted Sep 3, 2016
Pros: The location is perfect. The valet staff was excellent. The breakfast was very good.
Cons: We had a basement level room. A room higher up would have been nicer.
Location: Shopping, biking, hiking, restaurants, pubs, live music, tours.
We had a great time in Portland. Staying downtown allowed us to ditch the car, and walk everywhere.