Ratings based on 392 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Great stay

Posted Jan 7, 2017
Pros: Beautiful historic building, world class spa facility, great location.
Cons: Internet was a bit spotty in our room.
Location: We visited several restaurants and bars in the area. Would recommend Rhum, J's, Chez Jaqueline, & Duck Fat and Tomaso's cantine.
We had a great stay at the Portland Regency, the spa was fantastic and the room was very comfortable. The staff was very friendly and professional and quick to respond to all of our needs. We enjoyed the massage treatment and the spa facilities and would highly recommend. The neighborhood was really great, and the location of the hotel is very central. We found eccelent restaurants and bars within six blocks of the location. Looking forward to visiting again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from seattle

Very close to shopping and great dining.

Posted Jan 4, 2017
Wonderful location in the heart of the Old Port. Comfortable beds and great service. Sound proofing was not so great but hotel is old and a classic.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Walk around Old Port

Posted Jan 1, 2017
Nice comfortable stay during a blizzard. Walked to many nice establishments. Room was warm and cozy. Hotel was beautiful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Salem, MA

Beautiful hotel in the middle of everything!

Posted Dec 18, 2016
The best from beginning to end! Warm and inviting, historical building with a lot of class! Beautifully decorated for the season. Top shelf! Can't wait to come back. Fabulous staff as well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Was good, nice, clean. Would come back, but didnt enjoy the parking.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Albany, NY

Getaway

Posted Dec 7, 2016
The Regency is a beautiful hotel with an attentive staff. It's location in the Old Port is excellent for walking to all the shops and restaurants. The Armory Lounge on property has a great selection of adult beverages and a wonderful ambiance. Overall the Regency has class and charm. We will stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Relaxing

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Hotel staff was very courteous from arrival to departure. Rooms were clean. Valet was an added bonus. Didn't have to worry about parking. All around a nice stay.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from boston ma

Watch your valuables!

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Location: The area is wonderful and within walking distance to everything you want in a small little city
I have stayed at this hotel a dozen times over the years. I have never had any issues with this hotel or the staff-then again I have never left something valuable at a hotel-until this time. I left a pair of expensive earrings in the bathroom and within an hour of leaving the room had been cleaned and the studs were not to be found. They questioned the housekeeper-she found nothing. I'm not saying they're liars, but I told them within inches where the earrings were left only to have everyone say "Jeeze, sorry we found nothing".
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Great location!!

Posted Nov 12, 2016
Location: Great location. Stores closed early and opened late...their off season. Beautiful all around
Nice all around. Bed could be better Right in the heart of downtown.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location with classic charm

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Beds
The central location can't be any better. I love the free morning coffee and pastries delivered to my room each morning. The turn down service is a nice touch that I haven't seen from any other hotels in many years. The rooms are clean. My only complaint is our double beds were extremely soft and caused you to roll into the middle so it's uncomfortable to share.