Ratings based on 1,223 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location near the harbor and shops.

Posted Jul 11, 2017
We came to Portland for a Wine Wise Sunset Cruise. Everything at the hotel was perfect. We valet parked our car and walked everywhere! Definitely recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cambridge, MA

A perfect place to stay

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: the staff, the lovely rooms, the outdoor cafe, valet parking, the coffee service in the morning, and the great location
Just completed our third visit to The Regency, and we are always sad to leave. The hotel is lovely in every way - from the staff who are so friendly and accommodating, to the tasteful rooms, and the absolute perfect Old Port location. We just love it there and always look forward to our return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Stopover in Portland for two nights

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Nicely renovated hotel in Old Port close to good restaurants and shops.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It was a great fishing town with lots to do.

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Great food and plenty of small stores. Went on a boat ride and saw a eagle and a group of seals. Well worth going.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 7, 2017
The room was very comfortable,quiet too. Room service was excellent! Hotel walking distance to everything.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Simi Valley, California

Beautiful hotel

Posted May 20, 2017
What a great place to stay, an old armory converted into a beautiful retro hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester, NH

Lovely hotel right in the center of town

Posted May 12, 2017
Pros: The staff, the bar (piano player, lively but not too lively), the room, the bed and the pillows.
Location: Picked the hotel because I had stayed here before and knew the location. Within 3-5 minutes of unique dining and shopping.
The staff was kind and courteous, from the people who checked us in to the people who parked our car and carried our luggage. The location was fabulous. The room was clean, the beds and pillows were super comfortable. The TV worked with no issues. They delivered coffee and tea to our room at our requested morning time. Besides the restaurant, there are numerous choices all within 5-10 minutes of the hotel. Portland is such a wonderful place to visit!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maine

Great old hotel in the heart of the Old Port.

Posted May 3, 2017
Pros: Location, room cleanliness.
Cons: Just thought this room was smaller than most, and we've had a lot of rooms over the years.
Location: This is a walkable city, and the Regency is plunk downtown next to the Old Port. Concert Hall, movie theatre, museum, restaurants, bars, all there.
We've stayed here often, this time I thought room 338 was quite small. Well taken care of, excellent rain head shower! Very hot water, be careful. Front desk responsive to cable tv issue as well as their maintenance engineer. Love the coffee and muffin left quietly at your door before 8am. Order that!
5 out of 5
by Sharon

Short getaway

Posted Apr 21, 2017 on Hotels
Great location! Friendly staff. Room was a little plain but nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Great Place to Stay When in Portland Maine

Posted Apr 20, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Loved the hotel the staff and the room was larger for a standard room with double beds and clean . And so Convenient to Down Town.
Cons: NO
Location: There are a lot of great restaurants and boutiques, history to this seaport town
Needed a get away and choose this Web site and booked it through Orbitz and got a 3 night package back in January. It was a good deal and could not pass it up for a April vacation.