Ratings based on 1,318 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Dec 8, 2017
Excellent service from check in to check out! Easy walking to shopping and restaurants! Wonderful decorations at Christmas! The Christmas tree made out of lobster traps was beautiful!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place in a great location. Can’t beat it.

Posted Dec 5, 2017
It’s in the heart of the downtown area close to everything within walking distance. Great staff, clean room, great parking with valet too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlemont, MA

Awesome location!

Posted Nov 30, 2017
Pros: The convenience of this hotel to the historic district was great! Just walk out the door and you are surrounded by many shops and restaurants.
Cons: The bed pillows were way too big and firm to be comfortable; nice feather/down pillows would have complemented the comfortable beds.
Location: This hotel is just a block from the waterfront, and is in the midst of many fine galleries, shops, boutiques, and restaurants.
This hotel has old historic charm. The windows in our room were picturesque and overlooked the court yard. There was ample space with comfortable beds and a sofa to enjoy. The separate lobby areas were spacious; however, the decor was very dark and uninviting, although they did have nice leather furniture to relax in. It was lovely to have a restaurant on site; although the breakfast was nothing exceptional, it was convenient and relaxing. Valet parking was expedient and there was a bellhop to help take your baggage up the front stairs. All personnel were very helpful and friendly making check-in very pleasant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Best location in Old Port

Posted Nov 27, 2017
Pros: The hotel is charming and the staff, reception, room service, parking, bar and restaurant, everything was better than I expected.
Cons: I prefer my bathroom shower/bathtub amenities not stacked to the wall.
Location: The location is awesome and everything is around the hotel.
I had a great experience in the Regency, great location close to all my favorite sites in downtown Portland
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Fabulous hotel in a wonderful location

Posted Nov 22, 2017
Pros: Lovely historic hotel, excellent rooms in a great location.
Cons: I could not fault this hotel.
Location: Close to restaurants, shops, ferries and art galleries.
This is a wonderful hotel in an excellent part of Portland, close to shopping restaurants and the ferry. Staff were friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Rooms were large and comfortable and the service was great. The hotel provided coffee and tea pastries every morning and transfers to the Amtrak station at no extra cost. This was one of the best hotels we stayed at during our trip to the United States.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 20, 2017
Really nice hotel. Spa is fantastic. Right in the heart of old port. Close walking distance to so many delicious restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maine

Layover after long weekend in Virginia

Posted Nov 14, 2017
Pros: That shower, great!
Cons: Can't think of anything...
Location: Portland's an up and coming foodie town, eat! And shop, the hotel's very well situated for both, it's a walkable city. Old Port's a block away.
They've got some great rooms here, and wonderful rain head showers! Still can't find any rooms with windows to crack open, but beds are comfortable, hot carafe of coffee delivered to the door at requested time (but they forgot a muffin this time) and the bathroom overall a wee bit small, but all well done comfortable clean and just really comfortable hotel. We'll keep coming back. ((Valet parking upped, $20 but not so long ago $12)).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Amazingly quaint hotel in an amazing city. Fun/classy basement bar and prime location. Will definitely be staying there at all of our annual trips to Portland.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gaithersburg, MD

Highly recommended

Posted Nov 13, 2017
The hotel was in a great location. In the center of town. And Portland is a cool funky City. Lots of nice restaurants and cool shopping spots. Everything is old and Charming. The spa there was fantastic and everyone that worked in the spa was great. The people at the front desk could be a little friendlier but otherwise a great experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Muchigan

Great location

Posted Nov 13, 2017
The hotel is within walking distance to just about everything. Staff is friendly and helpful. The hotel is a bit older, but very clean.