Ratings based on 71 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kew n.s.w

Lovely hotel that puts you in the 1800s

Posted Nov 8, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: The lovely 1800s decorations throughout. Loads of character
Cons: Wifi.
Location: In the midle of town overlooking the harbour. Close to various walks and gardens. A short walk to the listed heritage buildings.
Very comfortable and excellent position. Lovely old comfortable furnishings. Staff very friendly and helpful. Only downside was a problem with internet/wifi. We couldnt get it at all in the 2 nights we were there, a bit disappointing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 5, 2018 by Deb, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. Our Interne did have some problems in November and for that we apologise. We will be upgrading to the NBN in the not too distant future and we are hoping that this will stabilise our service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Interesting building, & comfortable

Posted Nov 1, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Good standard, clean & comnfortable - can;t ask for much more!
Cons: See above
Location: I was on business so the loation suited me, as I chose it!!
All good, although could not get the air/con - heating to work (probably me really) & being a cool evening the bathroom heater switching itself off a little was through a shower was a little quick I thought. Otherwise all good and even catered for me as a gluten free person.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from melbourne

good location

Posted Oct 8, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: as above
very clean, great bed & friendly staff, close to shops and the beach
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Great location. Pub restaurant food was anazing

Posted Jul 12, 2017 on Wotif
Will stay there again. Great location and overall great hotel
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brisbane, Aus

Posted May 4, 2017
Stuck in a back room over the kitchen, large painted out windows. Had dinner in the hotel dining room on arrival night, Monday, busy bar & restaurant, got entree after requesting all to come out together as my wife was having a main and we were tired, her main arrived 1hr 15 min later and was wrong main, replacement arrived 15 minutes later and was not cooked and had no sauce. Avoid at all costs, the table of four beside us ordered before us and hadn't had their meals delivered when we left. Obviously the Chef has Monday off no idea.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Adelaide

Excellent location - nice refurbishment.

Posted May 2, 2017
This hotel was tastefully refurbished. The interior was really nice. Great location in Portland, with a decent view. Staff were happy to help. Would happily stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

portland

Posted Apr 5, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Location was good. Great beds
Cons: maybe a lift -bit awkward
Location: close to all restaurants and shops
With work overnight, so needed wifi - had that, needed close to restaurants - had that
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Excellent hotel in prime position in Portland

Posted Mar 7, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Great positining and very comfortable - cost of bed, breakfast and dinner was very reasonable.
Location: Very central
The hotel is a stately old building with comfortable upstairs rooms and a wonderful dining room and bar overlooking the harbour.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from VIC

Nice reconditioned historic hotel in centre of tow

Posted Feb 27, 2017 on Wotif
Good facilities which is associated with a hotel which has a good bistro.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2017 by Deb, Hotel Management
Thank you Gavan.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Geelong

Historical charm

Posted Feb 21, 2017 on Wotif
A friend and I stayed for a night last weekend and were really happy with our experience! We checked-in near 10pm and the receptionist was a pleasure to deal with! Upon entering our room it had all of the period charm we were hoping for with the modern conveniences like airconditioning/heating and flatscreen tv. The ensuite was nicely renovated and the shower pressure was amazing for such an old building! The room was exactly what we wanted overall and we only wish we could have extended our stay! Highly recommend this hotel!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2017 by Deb, Hotel Management
I will make sure that I share you kind words with our team and I agree with you about the shower pressure.