Ratings based on 1,659 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Hotel is older, however the rooms have been updated. The rooms were very quiet. The workout room equipment is old. Its a good middle of the road option if you do not want to pay $$$$ for a hotel in downtown Portland in the summer.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 9, 2017
It was fine. Very nice staff. Affordable. Easy to get to and from Portland.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

Posted Aug 9, 2017
No issues with this hotel. I'd recommend it to anyone staying in Portland.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Near I-95 and the ME Turnpike

Posted Aug 1, 2017
We stayed a week in order to tour around the outlying areas. It was also easy to get to downtown Portland.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from boston

Dog friendly. Centrally located

Posted Jul 28, 2017
We chose this hotel so that we could bring our dog. The hotel was nice and clean and the on premise restaurants were excellent. Bringing the dog was an enjoyable experience. Not only was the breakfast restaurant dog friendly, but the hotel had a large park where the dog could safely get some excersize.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Westbrook Maine

Posted Jul 27, 2017
It was very comfortable and clean!! Parking is great ! And now withou anything more to say....
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Near loud traffic circle

Posted Jul 26, 2017
Hotel restaurant had the laziest waiter I have ever encountered
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New England

Quick & cheap

Posted Jul 15, 2017
This hotel is cheap and relatively clean. The building itself modern or contemporary at all, but if you want something cheap and clean then it's for you.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poorly managed roach motel

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: There is no managerial presence at all.
Check in: there was a couple in front of us in line to check in. the FD couldn’t find their reservation so they check them in. then we started out check in process. the other FD agent found the pother couples reservation and our FD agent left us mid check in to go over because she couldn’t believe she could have missed it and chatted with the other agent and couple and left us standing there waiting. Very rude and unprofessional for us and the other couple. The restaurant; When we checked in there was a sign that stated the restaurants specials for the week. Monday was $4 Margarita night. They were horrible. It is just bar sour and booze over ice served in a pint glass. I asked the server for something else to drink as it was so sour and salty it could not be consumed. she wouldn’t charge us for the margarita. The charge was never taken off the bill. Guest Room Linens: They were obviously used by other guests. There were wrinkles from other people sleeping in them and hairs and even a scab in the sheets. We were exhausted from our trip and sleep on top of the sheets instead of asking for them to be changed. There were also roaches in the towels in the bathroom. Pool; There is a sign that says adults only between 9pm and 10pm. We went at 9:30pm… filled with children
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2017 by Mark Heisler - GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs an update, bare bones

Posted Jul 14, 2017
If you need a bed for a night there is nothing wrong with the Ramada Plaza Portland. If you are in town for a few days, hoping to enjoy yourself, pay a bit more and stay somewhere else. Everything here is run down. Our "upgraded" king room was small and didn't come with a refrigerator. More annoying, there was only one night stand which meant my husband put his cell phone and the remote on the floor next to the bed. The bathroom ceilings had water stains and the shower curtain mildew. The pool had a yellowed vinyl liner and the drain tiles were missing chunks like a mouth full of bad teeth. The staff is nice enough but as far as a vacation goes, this place does not feel luxurious. Its more like being in your cousin's spare room.