Ratings based on 1,645 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New England

Quick & cheap

Posted Jul 15, 2017
This hotel is cheap and relatively clean. The building itself modern or contemporary at all, but if you want something cheap and clean then it's for you.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poorly managed roach motel

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: There is no managerial presence at all.
Check in: there was a couple in front of us in line to check in. the FD couldn’t find their reservation so they check them in. then we started out check in process. the other FD agent found the pother couples reservation and our FD agent left us mid check in to go over because she couldn’t believe she could have missed it and chatted with the other agent and couple and left us standing there waiting. Very rude and unprofessional for us and the other couple. The restaurant; When we checked in there was a sign that stated the restaurants specials for the week. Monday was $4 Margarita night. They were horrible. It is just bar sour and booze over ice served in a pint glass. I asked the server for something else to drink as it was so sour and salty it could not be consumed. she wouldn’t charge us for the margarita. The charge was never taken off the bill. Guest Room Linens: They were obviously used by other guests. There were wrinkles from other people sleeping in them and hairs and even a scab in the sheets. We were exhausted from our trip and sleep on top of the sheets instead of asking for them to be changed. There were also roaches in the towels in the bathroom. Pool; There is a sign that says adults only between 9pm and 10pm. We went at 9:30pm… filled with children
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2017 by Mark Heisler - GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs an update, bare bones

Posted Jul 14, 2017
If you need a bed for a night there is nothing wrong with the Ramada Plaza Portland. If you are in town for a few days, hoping to enjoy yourself, pay a bit more and stay somewhere else. Everything here is run down. Our "upgraded" king room was small and didn't come with a refrigerator. More annoying, there was only one night stand which meant my husband put his cell phone and the remote on the floor next to the bed. The bathroom ceilings had water stains and the shower curtain mildew. The pool had a yellowed vinyl liner and the drain tiles were missing chunks like a mouth full of bad teeth. The staff is nice enough but as far as a vacation goes, this place does not feel luxurious. Its more like being in your cousin's spare room.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hayward, CA

Disappointing

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Pros: Lots of parking, right off freeway
Cons: Almost everything.
Location: Central to strip club, 20+ minute drive to everything else (lighthouses, breweries, restaurants)
We pulled into the parking lot, and I noticed the strip club across the street. Not a terrible thing, in my opinion, but it raised my eyebrows. The lady at the counter wasn't exactly welcoming at check-in, but whatever - she let us check in early when she could have said no. The door to our room HAD to be slammed to shut. Opening it and shutting it made the wall bow. Literally. The room was dingy. Not dirty, more like years of accumulated use was showing. We Ubered to the Allagash Ale Brewery for a tour and tasting, and continued tasting at nearby nano breweries. Our plan was to come back to the hotel and try the restaurant attached. It was closed due to a broken water heater. Drunk (and therefore not driving) we tried to find a way across the street since food was over there. Unfortunately there aren't any protected crossings, and you have to jay walk across 6 lanes of traffic trying to get on/off the freeway onramps. Definitely not do-able. We ended up ordering delivery Thai food, which was OK and going to bed. My dreams that night were full of long creepy hotel hallways and feeling lost. That could have had something to do with beer, Thai, and long hallways that felt like mazes at this hotel... or it could be coincidence. All I know is I'm not planning to come back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2017 by Mark Heisler - GM, Hotel Management
Please accept my apologies for the issues you experienced during your stay. We strive to provide friendly service and a well maintained facility for all of our guests, I am sorry that we did not meet these standards. We will use your comments to help improve our property for future guests. I hope that you will give us the opportunity to show you those improvements if you should visit the Portland area again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Little Rock AR

Just what I needed

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Clean, easy highway access, quiet. Ralph glass coffee mugs
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Not a bad place to stay

Posted Jul 13, 2017
We stayed in the hotel for a night en route to our destination. The clerk at check in wasn't overly friendly but other interactions with other staff later on were pleasant. The room was comfortable, the kids enjoyed the pool. The hotel was good value (a complementary breakfast would go really increase the perception of value), but as a stopping point only. The distance to downtown is a bit of obstacle for those looking to explore that area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Long Island, NY

Convient location

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Pros: comfortable bed, location, reasonably priced, clean Cons: could hear neighbors, water pressure in shower could be better
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Pros: Will not stay here or at any Ramada again.
Cons: Fix ice machine and put materials in room that describe all charges.
Location: Hotel is not in a good area. Must drive to see anything.
When checking out, I was asked if I had used the room safe and she said "isn't it convenient". I agreed and did not realize that she had charged me for using the safe. There was no warning or indication in the room of any safe use charge. I felt ripped off by this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2017 by Mark Heisler - GM, Hotel Management
Please accept my apologies for the way the safe warranty charge of $1.05 was presented to you. There is a notice on the registration card explaining that you are only charged if the safe is used and that the charge covers a limited warranty on the contents. We normally ask that you initial that at check-in.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: We really enjoyed breakfast at The Egg and I.
Location: Easy drive to downtown Portland, ME. Great town! Lots of good food!!! Lastly, LOBSTER!!!
Hotel needs updating. The pool deck had something green growing on it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sanford, NC

Nice and close to downtown.

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Pros: It was clean and we were on the first floor.
Location: Downtown Portland is near and easy to get to.
Enjoyed our stay and enjoyed having the Seasons restaurant close by.