Ratings based on 3,638 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from A., WA

Clean hotel, thin walls, sporadic hot water

Posted Jul 24, 2016
The room was comfortable and clean. The main concerns were that the walls were thin and the doors slammed. So you heard people coming and going at all times. The water pressure was bad and the hot water came and went. Our key cards didn't work when we returned very late at night and we had to go back to the front desk and wait in line to get them remagnetized. There was very little said about the inconvenience.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from portland oregon

Nice hotel, close to the airport

Posted Jul 24, 2016
We liked that it was close to a bunch of restaurants and stores. We liked that the shuttle was 24 hours, so we had to be at the airport at 3 in the morning and it was no problem. We didn't like that there was no elevator so you had to carry all your luggage up stairs. To get to our room you had to go outside, had it been raining we would of been soaked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

I stayed on one night and am sort glad that was it

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Pros: As mentioned, the staff were pleasant and it was available on short notice and within budget.
Cons: The buildings need lots of love.
Location: Portland is a cool city, with great restaurants and micro-breweries, but there aren't really and tourist attractions I am aware of. Business trip.
The building seemed rather old and wear was evident. Although it was a "smoke-free" facility, my room smelled vaguely of cigarettes and the attempt to remove the smell with chemicals. Draperies were worn and frayed. The air conditioner produced more noise than cool air. There were several spot is the tiny bathroom where I could tell poor repairs and attempts to hide mildew had taken place, and I say that as a 20+ year veteran of the paint and home improvement industry. The entryway to the second building,where my room was, had a large, deep puddle that had to be walked through and stood in while one operated to card-activated door. Overall, just needy of some cosmetic attention. Fairly friendly staff and complimentary airport shuttle were appreciated.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

Cute and Convenient

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Very close to the airport. Friendly, helpful staff. If you plan on being in downtown Portland, then don't stay here. We spent hours riding the train back and forth. Just a tip for first timers. Otherwise, our stay was perfect. Thank you, Red Lion.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Airport best stay.

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Close to the airport. Excellent staff, easy check in at 2 am!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oklahoma

Great budget hotel!

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Pros: Location, location, location. Bathrooms were very spacious.
Cons: Modernized, but not essential.
Location: Shopping center nearby such as Target, etc.
This is a great place for a basic hotel which is literally 5 minutes to the airport. It was clean, if not older. Staff was wonderful and very helpful. Workout room was better than most budget hotels. Didn't really check out any other of the amenities. We had a car but there is a shopping center close which we went to. There is a Target and Buffalo Wild Wings, Chipotle. I would stay here again if I needed a hotel by the airport for sure. They do offer shuttle service, too.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

NEVER STAY HERE!

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Scary dangerous area. Your car will be broken into. Looks like a set for American Horror Stories, we stayed approximately 5 minutes before requesting a refund. Decrepit old Howard Johnson building NOT A RED LION!!!!! Read YELP Stay at the Vancouver, Washington HILTON, where there is a beautiful ambiance.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 18, 2016
The rooms smelled like stale smoke, the beds are uncomfortable and the rooms are tiny.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northern California

Handy Hotel for PDX

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Pros: Standard US hotel room....after being in Europe for two weeks, it was nice to have some space
Cons: Needs an update
Location: see comments about food above.
We stayed one night in transit from Europe to California. The hotel pick-up was quick as was dropping us off in the morning. The room was comfortable and clean. Not much else to say as we arrived in the evening and left in the early morning. We had dinner in the restaurant adjacent to the hotel. The food was OK, nothing spectacular. It is too bad it only stays open until 9 PM as it rushed us a bit. Atmosphere was a bit "How long will this place stay open?"
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to Portland Airport

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Pros: Location to airport
Cons: Elevator
Location: Na
Reasonable rate. Clean, friendly staff. Only drawback, no elevator. If your room is on the second floor,myopic have to use the stairs