Ratings based on 511 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis, MN

Short 1 night stay in Portland

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Pros: Beds, lobby
Cons: Late night hotel check in staff
Location: Close to downtown shops
We only stayed here 1 night, hotel staff at night was okay, not great. Would have liked some late night dining recommendations since we hadn't eaten all day, due to flying with Delta delays. Room was excellent, beds very comfortable.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Very nice just a little off the beaten path but still an easy walk to anywhere in the old downtown area
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Western, MA

Posted Jul 31, 2016
Good location if you're visiting the waterfront/commercial Street area. Parking is convenient across the street in a garage for $15.00/day. Everything was within reasonable walking distance.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Highly recommend Residence Inn by Marriott

Posted Jul 15, 2016
We loved the location of this hotel. Check-in begins at 4pm, but we were able to get our room several hours earlier. The complimentary breakfast was the BEST we've ever experienced while traveling. And, it's just a short, pleasant walk down Fore street to great restaurants, eclectic boutique ships, and lobster rolls on every corner. :) If you're going to be staying in Portland, Maine, I would highly recommend checking in at the Residence Inn by Marriott Portland Downtown Waterfront.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney, AUS

Only as good as the staff you get

Posted Jul 11, 2016
Pros: Large rooms, modern, clean and in a relatively central location for Portland.
Cons: The service from the manager. Not throwing out all the breakfast cutlery and plates/bowls.
It is a nice hotel, spacious rooms and nice and modern and clean. However, the service i received from the Manager, Bianca, was disturbing. I had my vehicle parked out the front to unload and was given the ok from the front desk. When i went to move it - after unloading a lot of luggage - i was confronted by Bianca, who had a colleague who was trying to be a heavy and intimidate lurking nearby behind her. I was told that she had ordered to have my vehicle towed away, which was pretty disturbing as the front desk knew which room it belonged to, so a phone call would have been sufficient. To see that sort of approach to people who are paying customers of a business was mind-blowing in its absurdity. The only other downsides were letting pets into the hotel and into the area where breakfast was being served...surely a hygiene matter. Also, all the "cutlery and crockery" for breakfast was disposable, so a really poor environmental footprint just throwing everything away afterwards. The hotel has a lot to recommend it, but also a lot that works against it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank your for providing feedback for your most recent stay at the Residence Inn Portland/Waterfront. I am sorry to hear that there were a few missed opportunities during your stay with us. I will be sure to properly address this. On a positive note, The Residence Inn is becoming more environmentally friendly by discontinuing the sole use of disposable plates and utensils.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 5, 2016 on Hotels
One TV station came on multiple channels and other did not come on at all. Told they were on Dish so sorry but nothing could be done. Sofa and chair in room were like sitting on a board. Extremely uncomfortable. Price quoted was not what the price we were charged. For $400+ a night I would expect better.
5 out of 5
by John from Greenville, SC


Posted Jun 29, 2016 on Hotels
Perfect location and great bar
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 28, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Robert from Dover NH

Weekend Getaway

Posted Jun 13, 2016 on Hotels
Celebrated wedding anniversary.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 31, 2016 on Hotels