Ratings based on 504 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very close to the old port and downtown.

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Pros: Location and quality
Cons: Parking and there was a problem with the toilet in our room.
Checkin was easy, but parking is a block away at another facility.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St. Paul MN

Hotel near the water downtown

Posted Sep 19, 2016
The complimentary breakfast was lacking: coffee was very watered down, tea tastes like burnt coffee, eggs were overcooked and had no flavor, overall very mediocre at best. The gym has ok equipment that you can get by on. Pool is very shallow and small. Room had a small kitchen which was nice. Tables though and furniture was pretty beat up looking. The view was not great as we were only on the second floor and saw directly into a building. Could not leave the blinds open because people can see right in off the street. Overall it was a 3 experience.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scotia, NY

Very good hotel in walking distance to the Harbor

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Pros: Everything - staff were friendly, courteous etc.
Cons: This is just me but I would like to see personal safe's in the room instead of using the lock boxes behind front desk.
Location: The location is great as you are in walking distance to many gift shops, restaurants on Commercial St. Long Wharf is where you can sign up for tours.
When we first arrived at the hotel our first concern was parking. The hotel staff were very knowledgeable about the parking issue and explained in detail concerning the parking garage next door. We arrived at least 2 hours prior to check in time and our room was ready and to register took no time at all. Our room was wonderful, we had the water view which was great as could see the cruise ships that came in overnight through our window. The room was clean and hotel staff wonderful, friendly etc. The only issue we had was our hotel keys. We had asked for 2 and only 1 worked. We brought to front desk and issue was fixed, no. We brought it back again and this time fixed. There was an issue with strip, that key was tossed. Hotel bar, very nice. The pool and hot tub was a great way to end the day/night - swim or soak prior to turning in...clean and neat. Overall my husband and I would come back to this hotel again. This was our wedding anniversary weekend and we want to make Maine our anniversary State going forward.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very convenient location

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Pros: Spacious rooms with kitchenette, very nice continental breakfast.
Within walking distance of Old Port, great view of the water and port activities without being noisy.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 5, 2016
The room was comfortable and quiet. Excellent bed. Kitchen has dishwasher, microwave, a couple of burners, and good sized refrigerator. We had only a one-night stay so did not take advantage of all amenities. Good location and parking garage next door.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from W.

Close to downtown.

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Very friendly staff. The kids loved the pool. The room was clean and it was great to have a kitchenette with kids.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis, MN

Short 1 night stay in Portland

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Pros: Beds, lobby
Cons: Late night hotel check in staff
Location: Close to downtown shops
We only stayed here 1 night, hotel staff at night was okay, not great. Would have liked some late night dining recommendations since we hadn't eaten all day, due to flying with Delta delays. Room was excellent, beds very comfortable.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Very nice just a little off the beaten path but still an easy walk to anywhere in the old downtown area
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Western, MA

Posted Jul 31, 2016
Good location if you're visiting the waterfront/commercial Street area. Parking is convenient across the street in a garage for $15.00/day. Everything was within reasonable walking distance.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Highly recommend Residence Inn by Marriott

Posted Jul 15, 2016
We loved the location of this hotel. Check-in begins at 4pm, but we were able to get our room several hours earlier. The complimentary breakfast was the BEST we've ever experienced while traveling. And, it's just a short, pleasant walk down Fore street to great restaurants, eclectic boutique ships, and lobster rolls on every corner. :) If you're going to be staying in Portland, Maine, I would highly recommend checking in at the Residence Inn by Marriott Portland Downtown Waterfront.