Ratings based on 2,008 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Puyallup, WA

Beautiful place, well located, quiet

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Pros: location, architecture, staff
Cons: better inspection/upkeep of facilities.
Location: close to the tramway that runs all around Portland, by the river, with excellent bike lanes
I had some apprehension because I did not know the hotel chain and some of the reviews in Expedia were negative. However, our river facing room was extremely quiet, in fact the whole hotel was quiet despite being almost full. The restaurant Aquariva is excellent. My room was lacking the shade curtain. The housekeeper told me that it was at the laundry and they did not have a spare. The hotel provided me with a free bottle of wine as a consolation. Despite the lack of shade the room was reasonably dark in the morning.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tacoma, WA

Posted Sep 26, 2016
We really enjoyed our stay at Rivers Edge. The room and bathroom were spacious and clean. It was very relaxing to set on the deck and look at the river and watching people going by on the path, and the hotel is pet friendly.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Our room wasn't ready. The first room we got smelled like cigarettes. The second room started leaking water in the middle of the night. We had to go home at 1 am.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from AZ

Nice Hotel with Lovely River Views

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Pros: The river views and landscaping on the river side
Cons: Our room did not get cleaned one day.
This was a delightful place to stay and was convenient to the bike/walking path, expressways, bridges, etc.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Great staff but overall too expensive for the quality
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Great location, nice light bright room. The staff was very helpful. Give us rides into Portland, the use of their bikes was really nice.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cincinnati, OH

Centrally located; outstanding staff; great room

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Pros: Katrina in room service was extraordinary! Great hire!! Valet services were quick and courteous. Excellent customer service here!
Cons: Complimentary continental breakfast would have been preferred. Had to find a store with quick options, as do not prefer a sit down breakfast.
Location: Easy/quick access to main highways I-5 and I-26. Trolley to Downtown Portland is nearby. City activities are endless; area is breath-taking!
Room was clean and spacious. Bed was very comfortable for my 4 day stay. Great balcony. Quiet area, so sleep was not disturbed by road or other noises. Separate glass enclosed shower with a great shower head, but also a tub for those who like to tub bathe. No variations in water temp during showers. Great mirror placements, both full mirrors and magnified make-up mirrors. Room service was excellent. Staff was outstanding! Restaurant on premises. Make time to drive a mere 2 hours to go to the coast! Cannon Beach area was great! Ecola State Park was a beautiful drive with excellent views, and got a surprise treat when we came across a herd of Elk enjoying the sunny day!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from H. washington state

visiting family

Posted Sep 20, 2016
We arrived in Portland early and took a chance at having a room ready. To our surprise they did have one, but only on the first floor. We decided to go ahead and take it. We didn't really look around, as we were going to meet our kids. When we got back to our room that night we realized that the bathroom wasn't as clean as we would have wanted and the bed and bedding needed to be replaced. The next day after returning to our room. House cleaning had come, however, the room still was not cleaned to my satisfaction and they hadn't restocked the coffee or creamer. ( this I didn't find out until the next morning). However, the staff at the hotel is very friendly and helpful, they just need to upgrade the beds and bedding, and maybe have a talk with the housecleaning staff. The hotel is in a lovely setting and very convenient for us.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice area on the river, close to downtown

Posted Sep 19, 2016
We enjoyed our stay. We had a first floor river view, which is more a view of the trees, and walkway. We are planning a return trip next month....nice hotel and convenient location.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great service, great spa, very friendly.

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Only drawback is its 13 min from downtown, and advertised as being in downtown. As long as you know what you're getting into its a beautiful hotel and a great stay!