Ratings based on 2,196 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Whidbey Islamd, WA

Convenient and Comfortable

Posted May 28, 2017
Pros: Location. Staff. comfortable quiet environment.
Cons: Attention to reservation details
Location: Close to city center, rose & Japanese gardens biking and walking paths. Close to City Center activities.
Great hotel with access to medical facilities & city center. Quiet, lovely paths along the river, Excellent on site restaurant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great weekend getaway

Posted May 24, 2017
I really enjoy my staying here. The staffs are courteous and professional. The spa was awesome and I really appreciated the 15% discount that I received before checking in. The whole experience was very pleasant. I saw many couples and families during my stay there, so I think this could be a perfect solution for a family weekend getaway.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Veneta, OR

Good Value

Posted May 23, 2017
Pros: Location
Location: Nice restaurant close by, and on the river with a nice riverwalk too.
Wonderful staff, great gym, and nice size bathroom. If you have a chance, stay on the river side...so nice!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Nice boutique hotel in Portland

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Bed
Location: Walking trail
We stayed at River's Edge for one night at the request of my husband. He stayed there almost a week in the past for business and really enjoyed it. this stay was just ok. Get a room with a view of the river other wise it's not worth it. Ours was right over the entrance so we could hear all the cars pulling in. Also the king bed clearly had a huge lump down the middle which made you feel like you were sinking when off to the side. the room was beautiful and large with a nice living room area. The valet was super helpful when we asked for places to go around Portland.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Eastside Seattle Area

Nice hotel but poor staff

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: Proximity to the river and trails.
Cons: Staff training to handle unsatisfactory situations.
Location: Not much to do. It is located in an area that is more commercial.
The hotel was nice. Unfortunately the staff was less than professional. I had to ask the housekeeper to clean and refresh my room. All she did was straighten the bed and put clean towels in the bathroom. She did not vacuum or dust. The bath tub was not cleaned and nothing restocked. She also left dirty dishes. I went to the fron desk and explained my dissatisfaction. She called housekeeping and was told they were cleaning other rooms. I sat in the lobby for over an hour before the front desk staff personally checked my room and said it was ready. That is when I was told someone else would knock on my door and restock the honor bar. I just wanted to relax alone in my room. I also found an opened bottle of wine in the refrigerator opened by a previous guest and left in there. Another indication of the lack of effort on behalf of the housekeeping staff. Considering what we paid for the room per night I would expect a far more attentive staff. We were not compensated for any of my frustration.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

View of the beach from our room

Posted May 17, 2017
It was wonderful clean, staff was friendly, the parking is valet only which is super nice in a city with little to no parking
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portland

Nice setting, needs some remodeling.

Posted May 10, 2017
Pros: The lobby was pretty and the valet was very friendly.
Cons: The rooms need to be remodeled.
Location: South waterfront area of downtown Portland. Downtown is quite a walk from here so best to have a car.
The view of the river from the room is nice. The suite was spacious, but it needs some seriously needs some updating. The couch had a big tear in it. The wooden table is very worn. The trim on the fireplace was sagging off. The room just looked tired.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel is nice, but with the price you pay...

Posted May 9, 2017
Hotel is nice, but with the price you pay, it does seem over-rated. You also need to pay $30 / night for parking. You may get a better deal elsewhere with the price tag.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Better than expected

Posted May 8, 2017
We loved staying at the Rivers Edge. The Hotel Staff were the most friendly and helpful of any place we have ever been.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Central Oregon

Loved the Riverwalk!

Posted May 8, 2017
Amazing workout facility! Good coffee in the morning! Of course we had a sunny day, but I think the Riverwalk would be lovely regardless of the weather. I would recommend they pay a little more attention to the workout facility. Lots of towels and cups of water laying around.