Ratings based on 1,970 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Nice hotel next to the river

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Pros: I liked the medium size of the hotel and the fresh coffee in the morning was very good. There were some nice trails for bike riding along the river.
Cons: To catch the street car we had to walk a few blocks along the tracks and it was rather dark and lonely later at night.
Location: The location was nice by the river and we walked a few blocks to the village where we could catch a street car into downtown Portland.
The room was very comfortable and the restaurant next door was very nice with a great view. We didn't use the spa but that was a nice option to have.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SoCal

Great Location NOT Downtown But Close

Posted Aug 22, 2016
We enjoyed the facility and it's environs tremendously. Instant access to a relaxing, or invigorating, walk along the river. I do not enjoy staying in the city center and this was a short, and inexpensive, trolley ride to downtown. As a one night stop for us, this was a good find. We were able to enjoy a wonderful dinner downtown (ask the staff for suggestions) and the spa is rewarding. Access is complementary. Services are, of course, for a fee. I would not take my children to this hotel as you are basically among business buildings with no offerings for them. For adults, absolutely fine.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Everything was perfect And the hotel is good located The staff are nice
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from oakland, CA

Nice hotel; our room had sound issues.

Posted Aug 19, 2016
The hotel is quite luxurious with spacious rooms, comfortable bed and our own balcony overlooking the river. Right on a lovely bike trail along the river. Unfortunately 2 of the 4 nights we were there I barely slept primarily due to noises. The AC is extremely loud when it turns on ( it cycles on and off) and our room was close to the elevator control closet and from the bed I could clearly hear the elevator motor turn on whenever the elevator moved. Also for a fancy hotel I expected staff to be more friendly. One night we came home and housekeeping had left our door ajar. The front desk said they could not give me any discounts since my reservation was thru Expedia.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from seattle

Nice hotel

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Old soap was left in room with no replacement. Mini bar was not restocked and air conditioning was very loud.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Portland at its best

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Great staff - helpful and cheerful; peaceful location on the river, with adjacent restaurant and bar also looking over the water (and a Portland-style menu with local produce). Easy access to light rail for short ride to downtown.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Great Experience!

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Pros: Room, Staff, Restaurant and Fitness room.
Location: Quiet location by the water, but close enough to get downtown within a few minutes.
It was our first time visiting Portland, and our stay at River's Edge Hotel and Spa made it a wonderful experience. The room was clean, up to date, and worth every penny. The staff were friendly and very helpful when we asked them questions about certain points of interest in Portland. The hotel's restaurant is fantastic! We loved the food, and chose to eat there over and over again! This place is worth it! Next time we plan to book a room facing the water, because unfortunately there weren't any available when we booked the room.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel on bike/walking trail

Posted Aug 6, 2016
Quiet location. Not the bustle of downtown but easy access on loaner bikes.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Jose CA

Hotel makes extra efforts

Posted Aug 6, 2016
Lots of things to like. Friendly staff; loaner bikes to ride along path at edge of Willamette River; overall vibe. Caution: very noisy refrigerator inside wood cabinet in room - next time I'd try using bulky bed cover to encircle and muffle it (or even unplug it overnight ). Lots of construction underway half mile north towards downtown -- makes bike riding that way a bit of an obstacle course, but that will pass and improve area.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to downtown attractions

Posted Aug 5, 2016
Pros: Amenities are nice.
Cons: Housekeeping knocked on our door at 8:30 in the morning and asked when we'd be checking out. A otherwise nice stay was lessened by this early intrusio
Location: The hotel is on the southern periphery of the downtown area. Within a 5 to 10 minute drive, there is lots of great dining and shopping.
The hotel is near downtown Portland, but not a quick walk to restaurants and shopping. You really need to drive to get to those attractions. Despite that, it is a nice boutique property.