Ratings based on 123 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Weymouth, MA

It was so okay

Posted Aug 24, 2016
The location is awesome. You are literally 100 feet to the beach. The picture is deceiving, the large newer looking hotel is not where you are staying, it's the smaller one in front. The room was very clean a just what I needed, it had a balcony and two entrances to it. The downside to this place was the pool. I went with my daughter who is 6 to go for a swim and when we got to the pool there must have been 30 kids in it and was as cloudy as heck and they were all acting like a bunch nuts with their half biffed parents not paying attention to them. But overall the place is good to stay at, over priced but it served a purpose for me.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from quebec

Hotel bien situé

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Un séjour de 5 jours, la proximité de la plage est excellente.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Slightly Disappointed

Posted Jul 6, 2016
Came for 4th of July. Knew I was over paying, but certainly would never pay $350/night for this place again. Amenities were fine though modest and a bit weathered. Staff was a bit uptight for me, but that could be my CA demeanor. Probably best for families vs couples. It was right on the beach- that's the best thing I can say about it!
4 out of 5
by Pamela

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 31, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Doug from Rochester, New Hampshire

Put this motel on your list of places to stay

Posted May 31, 2016 on Hotels
Two day get away was extremely great. Good location awesome place to stay. Spectacular view of the ocean from our covered deck which also overlooked the pool. Tried to book for fourth of July weekend but location was already booked. Will definitely make this our room rental in the future when we visit Old Orchard Beach again. Great friendly owners and staff. Very well maintained. Comfortable and cozy. 5 Stars, great job to everyone at the Sea Cliff House Motel.
5 out of 5
by Linda from Belvedere ctr.

Posted May 25, 2016 on Hotels
Was there for a basketball tournement and was great area for the ocean and pool we didn't get to use the facilities cause of the schedule we had but was a great place to stay and relax we had a great time while there
5 out of 5
by Thomas

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 20, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

They do not refund the deposit

Posted May 16, 2016
Cons: Refund the deposit.
As many have said before, they do not refund the deposit. The hotel is nice and in a good location, but do not expect to get your $100 deposit back. I contacted them by the e-mail on the website, and the e-mail does not work. Honestly, I would stay away unless you think that adding $100 to the listed price is worth it. I was there for one night on April 28.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 20, 2016 by The Owner, Hotel Management
The Sea Cliff House Damage & Theft Deposit is required via credit card and each guest must sign the email confirmation agreeing to this policy upon check-in. This is a standard policy among many small and large, privately owned and corporate chain facilities throughout the US. Each establishment has their own guidelines regarding procurement of funds … and deposits typically range from $100 to $200 with some even higher at larger chain establishments. The Sea Cliff House Damage and Theft Deposit is only $100 and it protects our business against damages (accidental or intentional), theft, or smoking within the guestrooms and suites or anywhere on the Sea Cliff House Property. By charging the credit card, we are ensured to receive this deposit with a viable means for return, as it cannot be refunded back to the customer until the guestroom or suite has been fully inspected after check-out. The 3-5 day turnaround time is because Merchant Services, the business entity that is in charge of credit card processing requires that much time to process and to release the funds back into the credit card holder’s account, something of which we cannot control, as this is a guideline set by Merchant Services. Of course, if there are no problems, the guest does not need to worry, because a full refund of the Damage and Theft Deposit will be returned to his or her credit card as soon as Merchant Services release the funds, which rarely ever exceeds 5 days. We certainly understand when accidents occur, but this is precisely the reason that the Damage & Theft Deposit is necessary to cover at least part of the cost for repairs if the need should arise and more often than not, the cost we incur out of pocket for cleaning, repairs or replacement as a result of guest damages, far exceeds $100, which clearly works in favor of the guest.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 8, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 26, 2016 by The Owner, Hotel Management
When a guest books with a service other than through the establishment itself ... those services typically do not have access to all details regarding facility policies, guestroom features, payment terms, and deposit information. Consequently, because the guest may have been given partial or inaccurate information when the reservation was made ... check-in expectations may be different from the actual accommodations and procedures. Unfortunately, this issue has caused much dismay and confusion. However, because customer satisfaction is paramount to our success … we are making every effort to work with other services to find a viable solution that will help to bridge the gap and ensure that guests are making informed decisions when booking, arriving with expectations being met, and experiencing an enjoyable vacation.
3 out of 5
by Lori from Billerica

Weekend away

Posted Apr 19, 2016 on Hotels
I was a bit disappointed once I arrived to check in that two beds meant, single size twins. This aspect was not specified on the room designations, and it should be - since I thought they were doubles. Also, I was informed by Hotels.com that no deposit would be taken and that I would pay the complete two nights room and tax again upon check in. And that was not the case, the first night was charged the same day I made the booking. Again, a second point that should be clarified. Thank you.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2016 by The Owner, Hotel Management
When a guest books through a 3rd party, rather than through the establishment itself ... those travel agencies typically do not have the authority to convey or access to all details regarding facility policies, guestroom features, payment terms, and deposit information. Consequently, because the guest may have been given partial or inaccurate information when the reservation was made ... check-in expectations may be different from the actual accommodations and procedures. Unfortunately, this issue has caused us and our guests much dismay and confusion. However, because customer satisfaction is paramount to our success … we are making every effort to find a viable solution that will help to bridge the gap between 3rd party travel agencies and our establishment to ensure that our guests are making informed decisions when booking, arriving with expectations being met, and experiencing an enjoyable vacation during their stay. We can only hope that guests who have faced similar circumstances will understand and will not allow this to be a deterrent when making future plans.