Ratings based on 170 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from P

Awesome location, right on the beach!

Posted Mar 28, 2017
This hotel was great. I had a kitchen, small sitting area, and great beds. It was right on the beach with many restaurants nearby.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, D.C.

Don't Pay for Waterview!

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Pros: Price
We plunked down the additional cost for waterview. If you are picturing a private balcony facing the beach, you will be disappointed, as I was. You enter the room through a sliding glass door from a common second floor porch. That same sliding glass door is your waterview. That means that, to enjoy the waterview you have to leave the curtain to the common area open. It is the walkway to and from other rooms. If you want any privacy at all, you will have to close the curtains. If you want waterview, go to a different motel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 28, 2017 by The Owner, Hotel Management
Some of our guestrooms and suites have private balconies, while others have shared balconies, which is explained to our guests by our staff upon booking. Unfortunately, we have had some issues with inaccurate information being conveyed to our guests by third party agencies. We are working with those agencies to bridge the communication gap and to ensure that all of our guests will receive the most accurate details about our available accommodations and will find that their travel needs are being met to their satisfaction.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 30, 2017 on Hotels
The heat was very noisey and kept turning on all night. No one in the office to mention it to.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 28, 2017 by The Owner, Hotel Management
We're sorry if there was a problem with the heat during your stay. Unfortunately, unforeseen problems occur during hours when our office is closed. However, we do have an emergency telephone number posted for our guests to use during after-hours, to ensure that problems are addressed and guests are happy.
5 out of 5
by Dawn B. from New Hampshire

Winter Break from Home

Posted Jan 17, 2017 on Hotels
We wanted to just escape the confinement of the house so choose to sneak off to Old Orchard for the weekend. The motel was easy to find, right on the beach and the staff were helpful, pleasant and accommodating. The room was clean and made from quality materials, the bed was incredibly comfortable, and the room was warm with a great view. It was a great place to stay for a couple of nights, and we are definitely planning the next trip away.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Love it

Posted Jan 13, 2017
We have stayed there a few times. It's ALWAYS extremely clean . The beds are very comfortable. The staff very nice. We love it. The hot tub is great in the warmer months.
1 out of 5
by Charles

Pathetic Treatment

Posted Jan 9, 2017 on Hotels
We informed them we had a service dog, then paid for the room and was given the key. When we returned after diner found we were locked out of our room. Desk clerk said we could not stay because a guest in a different room was allergic to dogs. I explained ADA. Again we were told hotel did not have to comply. My finance had chemo that day was exhausted, serious snow storm and evening and we were sent to find other accommodations. I think not only does this hotel violate the law but they should have to return our payment in full at least in an amount double what we were charged. I would highly suggest that this motel be boycotted because of there indifference to not only the law but individuals with medical issues and or handicaps.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice getaway spot

Posted Dec 17, 2016 on Hotels
Everyone was very nice, checking in and out was easy, and the room stayed nice and warm despite it being one of the coldest days of the year so far
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ripped off deposit with no evidence of any wrongdo

Posted Dec 10, 2016 on Hotels
Barely even spent any time in the room because went to a concert in town. Slept on the hard bed the best we could. No smoking signs were placed in plain view and were followed by my partner and i. WE went out to.our vehicle to smoke during our short stay there in the freezing cold. WE never ended up getting our refund back because we were accused of smoking in the room of which we DID NOT! Never received a call to tell us of the problem. When confronted, we were met with rudeness and yelling by the manager and I was actually told to "Shut the F up" while calmly trying to explain. NO smoking waste was in the room yet was lied to saying there was. No Smoke detector ever went off while we were there either.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 16, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
The Sea Cliff House values our high quality of excellence in the style, performance, and durability of our furniture, especially with our beds, which feature the industry’s most widely selected medium-to-firm innerspring coil mattresses for heightened support and maximum endurance for a comfortable night’s rest. Unfortunately, if you are accustomed to a particular level of softness or firmness at home, you may have difficulty adjusting to a bed style different from your own. In addition, despite the cold temperatures – the Sea Cliff House is a non-smoking facility in Maine, which is a non-smoking state and this established policy is posted in all guestrooms and suites, on our online site, and on all email confirmations, which must be signed by each guest as a check-in prerequisite. Our office staff reiterates the non-smoking policy to all guests when explaining the required refundable deposit against damage, theft, or smoking in the guestrooms, suites or on the Sea Cliff House property. While the couple in question was seen smoking outside on occasion – our housekeeping staff discovered clear evidence of smoking within the room, which is an automatic forfeiture of the Damage & Theft Deposit, as explained to the guest. Further, the allegations of profanities and confrontational language being used against the guest by our staff were not only false, but also libelous based upon the defamation guidelines of civil law with the explicit intention of harming the reputation of our business, while deflecting attention away from the guests’ own misconduct.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 12, 2016
Mini vacation, nice relaxing stay, we always stay in room 1. This is the only room that faces the beach. Unlike most hotels these days, this one freshens your room up every day.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 8, 2016 on Orbitz
Room was not as discribed and bed was like a rock.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 17, 2016 by The Owner, Hotel Management
Contact Megan Borman, Expedia Representative (Boston) regarding this review and the rejected response.