Ratings based on 497 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Unique experience in a beautiful hotel

Posted Jan 8, 2017
Pros: see above
Cons: Small detail but the gym could have more treadmills, especially because it is quite large (which is great for a city hotel!)
Location: Great restaurants, foodtrucks, Powell's books, beautiful designer shops all walking distance. The Museum of the Oregon historical society is great.
We loved everything about this hotel: historic building in the heart of Portland, wonderful service, incredible attention to detail (ornaments, globes, paintings, locally-sourced food etc), in the middle of a great neighbourhood, 5 minutes away from the Pearl district. We had a perfect time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel with great characterr

Posted Dec 9, 2016
Clean, cozy, comfortable hotel with lots character in great location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St.Augustine,Fla

Hotel's location was perfect for our needs...

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Restaurants, shopping (from Target to Nortroms!) boutiques & services were all easy walking distance from the hotel's great downtown location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent stay

Posted Nov 8, 2016
Pros: Loved the room and how cozy and relaxing it made our stay.
Cons: I liked everything. There was nothing I didn't like. Amazing!
Location: Excellent proximity to the Pearl, shopping and all restaurants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Nice hotel. More than acceptable. Very convenient to downtown.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 28, 2016
Very friendly staff, Nice location, nice atmosphere
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Great location and great amenities

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: Decor, staff, bar/restaurant, location.
Cons: We had a top floor room, and the plastic shower pan was a bit out of place given the otherwise well appointed furnishings.
This was our second stay at Sentinel this year and third overall since they opened, and as usual, we were impressed. Great lobby bar, comfortable and well decorated rooms, incredibly friendly and helpful staff, and an unbeatable location. Easy to walk anywhere in the downtown area and a short ride to east Portland.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 25, 2016 by Tessa Peterson, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear that you enjoy the hotel and that our team has taken great care of you. We do hope to continue to see you on your trips to Portland.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from salt lake city

Beautiful hotel, great location

Posted Sep 8, 2016
This hotel is a historic site that's been preserved in gorgeous style. The lobby, bar and restaurant are all classic designs and very luxurious areas to hang out in. The room was quite large, comfortable and decorated in a modern, fun way that was still very luxurious. We had a great stay. The trolley stops just outside so it was easy to get around and there were tons of restaurants and coffee shops in the immediate area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 25, 2016 by Tessa Peterson, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your trip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nv

Love it!

Posted Aug 31, 2016
Everything is great! Locations, food , amenities, staff, room. Only thing was $43 Valet parking....
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 4, 2016 by Tessa Peterson, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I am so glad that you enjoyed your visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, tiny bath not well appointed

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Pros: Love it, just hate the bathrooms!
Cons: Add two sinks with a counter in the bathrooms!!! PLENTY of room to do this!!!
Location: Awesome! GREAT location!!!
Love the hotel and location. The bathrooms are way small with a pedestal sink ( ZERO room for your toiletries) They try to make up for that with a bath stand, but still not adequate
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2016 by Tessa Peterson, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review. We have maintained many of the historical elements of our hotel including our bathrooms. We are always looking for ways to improve and do take your feedback to heart.