Ratings based on 1,500 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from nv

Love it!

Posted Aug 31, 2016
Everything is great! Locations, food , amenities, staff, room. Only thing was $43 Valet parking....
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, tiny bath not well appointed

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Pros: Love it, just hate the bathrooms!
Cons: Add two sinks with a counter in the bathrooms!!! PLENTY of room to do this!!!
Location: Awesome! GREAT location!!!
Love the hotel and location. The bathrooms are way small with a pedestal sink ( ZERO room for your toiletries) They try to make up for that with a bath stand, but still not adequate
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2016 by Tessa Peterson, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review. We have maintained many of the historical elements of our hotel including our bathrooms. We are always looking for ways to improve and do take your feedback to heart.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Hotel with a lot of character. Valet parking expensive. We parked in a nearby public garage for half the cost. Had dinner at Jake's Grill in hotel. Meal was very good and service was attentive.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2016 by Tessa Peterson, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel and staff but noisy room !

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Pros: Location, staff and comfortable room.
Cons: Noisy
Location: Well located for easy walks to stores, restaurants, brew pubs, etc.
Great hotel in an excellent location. Easy walking to many interesting spots and restaurants. Superb staff who were very accommodating. Large and comfortable rooms. However, the room we had,221,was very noisy with delivery trucks parked out with their engines running. We checked in Saturday so there wasn't much noise Sunday morning but around 4:00 AM Monday it was dreadful. We let the staff know when we checked out. They apologized profusely and suggested the next time to specifically request a quiet room .
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2016 by Tessa, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit. Please let us know the next time you are in town and we will be sure to set you up with a room further away from the street noise.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

A beautiful historic hotel

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Pros: Beautiful hotel and great location.
Location: Central location in the Pearl district within walking distance of sights and stores and transportation.
We stayed for 5 days in a corner king suite at The Sentinel. It's a beautifully renovated hotel with lots of character and comfortable surroundings. The staff was friendly and accommodating, and the location was great - within walking distance of Powell's, the farmer market and next door to a block of amazing food trucks. The room was spacious and quiet with a fireplace. Highly recommended!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2016 by Tessa, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. It sounds like you were able to enjoy all of the great perks of our neighborhood. We look forward to your next visit.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient location

Posted Aug 4, 2016
Pros: Location and having a starbucks on first floor....didn't have to walk outside to access
Cons: Only downside was noise level. The bar is off the lobby and the acoustics are terrible,even with a heavy sound curtain drawn it was just too loud.
Stayed three nights playing tourist. Easy to get around, hotel staff very helpful with travel tips
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2016 by Tessa, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am glad to hear our staff took such great care of you.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from YVR

Anniversary getaway!

Posted Jun 25, 2016
Another wonderful stay at the Sentinel. This time we stayed in an executive king which permitted access to the 'Room At The End Of The Hall'. The room was clean, very comfortable with a great view. The staff are always exceedingly professional and helpful with just the right amount of friendliness. Definitely willing to go that extra step to ensure your stay is an enjoyable one. The front desk staff sent a pint of Salt & Straw ice cream in celebration of our anniversary. A thoughtful gesture that was well received.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 26, 2016 by Tessa, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. I am so glad to hear that your anniversary was a special one. I will be sure to pass your comments along to our team. Warmest Regards,
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 23, 2016
Great attentive staff. No request too large or small.
Comment from Hotel Management
by Tessa, Hotel Management
Thank you so much. We hope to see you again soon.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NO, La

Posted Jun 4, 2016
nice hotel. staff friendly and helpful. view from room to the inside wasn't great. but overall very nice
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 19, 2016 by Tessa, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear that our staff took great care of you. Warmest Regards,
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Redmond, Wa

Quiet, unpretentious, dog-friendly hotel!

Posted May 29, 2016
Pros: Location, dog toy and dog dish, friendly staff
Cons: The card readers were a bit finicky, and the cleaning staff missed our sign to skip the room, but not a big deal.
Location: Close to Powell's book store, parks, shopping, 0.5 mile from the waterfront, easy to get to the Pearl district, breweries, Voodoo Doughnuts.
The Sentinel is a beautiful renovated hotel close to Powell's in Portland, and is a great place to stay for a weekend when traveling with a dog. The rooms are clean, spacious and have nice amenities. There is free wireless, and the staff is very friendly and attentive.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 19, 2016 by Tessa, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your great review. I am so glad to hear that you and your dog enjoyed your stay at Sentinel. I also want to thank you for your note about our card readers we will be sure to take a look at that. Warmest Regards,