Ratings based on 1,593 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stanford, CA

Central Portland

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Pros: The architectural feel. The room was comfortable and yet stylish. Excellent service and the restaurant was ideal for us.
Cons: The parking was valet only and $42 per day. We parked on the street (but can be tricky with the meters).
Location: Location was central Portland and generally pleasant area.
My wife and I wanted to explore Portland and area and we stayed for three nights. The hotel was centrally located and ideal for our purposes. The staff were extremely courteous and helpful. The hotel has a unique style of decor which is tasteful, slightly eclectic and not "corporate," a feature we enjoyed. The room was spacious, clean, pleasant and inviting. The beds were very comfortable and the linen service was excellent. We ate at the hotel restaurant three times for breakfast and dinner and found it very much to our liking. Somewhat "traditional" food (in a city that seems to feature anything but that) but prepared to the highest standards. Our service was top-notch. Highly recommended hotel for central Portand.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Eugene, Oregon

Way too expensive for the room.

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Pros: Location, staff, beauty of the lobby and bar.
Cons: Too expensive for the quality, simple as that. We have stayed at much nicer hotels in larger cities for much less.
Location: Location is great in heart of Portland downtown shopping and restaurant district. Don't miss Kenny & Zukes for breakfast a block away.
For the price we paid (over $300/night despite discounts) this hotel is just not worth it. Convenient location downtown, lovely lobby, good service. Room was small, no fan in bathroom and steamed up after shower. The only two windows looked out on bottom of airshaft and nothing else, and it was covered in cigarette butts and bird droppings. Valet parking $48/night at lot a block away, which would have cost less than $20 if we had known to self park. No mini-bar, but snacks on counter, no price list, turned out to be $6 for small bag of chips. Very nice bar off lobby, but turned out that drinks charged to room were about double the price if paid directly. This is a very old hotel, nicely updated, but half the rooms are on the center/air shaft side and dark. If you stay here, be sure to self-park, demand room with outside view, and go for dinner and drinks at one of the many very nice bars and restaurants in that area that are half as expensive. If this room had cost no more than $200 including taxes, we would have come back for our next visit to Portland. But never again at these prices.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Terrible WiFi in the room. Otherwise, wonderful hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kamloops, B.C.

Nice hotel in the centre of town

Posted Mar 30, 2017
Pros: Loved the funky decor and staff were excellent
Cons: The gym equipment was lacking a bit. Treadmills needed upgrading. A hottub would have been great.
Location: Excellent, walking distance to Pearl District, downtown & waterfront
Excellent stay, beautiful hotel, gorgeous decor, awesome staff, close to everything. Would recommend to anyone and look forward to hopefully coming back one day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton Alberta

Nice hotel. Would stay again.

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Friendly and efficient staff. Fresh water in lobby. Clean rooms mostly but a little dark (minimal lighting). Bathroom clean but old. Suggestions: Get room with good lighting. Avoid 6th floor.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 28, 2017 by Tessa Peterson, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review. I am so glad your enjoyed your stay. You are correct in stating that some of our rooms are less bright than others. I did want to mention that we do have two wings of our building. The 6th floor rooms on the east wing of the building are loft style rooms with skylights. They are perfect for guests who plan to get out and explore Portland during the day. The 6th floor on our West Wing is our executive floor. This floor has suites, rooms with terraces over looking the city, and access to our Room at the End of the Hall lounge. We hope you will be back to see us in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Comfortable, classy, and unique hotel

Posted Mar 25, 2017
The staff was friendly and the atmosphere was great in the hotel. The room was clean and comfortable. The hotel is near a lot of food trucks and great places to eat and stroll around. It is a perfect Portland hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 28, 2017 by Tessa Peterson, Hotel Management
Thank you so much! Look forward to seeing you again soon.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Bad wifi and no AC.

Posted Mar 20, 2017
I can not recommend this hotel to anyone. AC did not work and wifi was so slow we could not use it! We really suffered at this hotel. Please credit my account for the entire amount I paid. Thank you.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 28, 2017 by Tessa Peterson, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for your review. I have been working with Expedia as we discussed to get your room refunded. We have repaired the AC unit in the room you were in while you were in Portland. Apologies for not being able to resolve that while you were on property.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Centralized logistically for all fun in Portland.

Posted Mar 18, 2017
The staff at the desk is fabulous. Expedia sucked! The SENTINEL created a world of bliss and joy. Thank you, Angela
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 28, 2017 by Tessa Peterson, Hotel Management
Thank you! Glad we could turn the trip around. Come back and see us again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LA

Great location.

Posted Mar 9, 2017
Beautiful hotel with character. Our bathroom was quite cold and drafty near the window and we were on the side with the street car, but really not a big deal. We brought a sound machine with us, so that helped. Otherwise, a very nice stay. We were especially grateful for the umbrellas!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 28, 2017 by Tessa Peterson, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review. I will be sure to have our team check out the draft in your room. Thank you for the heads up. Glad you enjoyed your stay otherwise. Come back and see us in the future!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Nice but that lobby bar was terribly loud

Posted Feb 27, 2017
I only had one request which I listed when I made the reservation; please give me a quiet room. They gave me 209 which was above the very busy lobby bar with the music so loud (bass) that I couldn't sleep. I called at 12:30 and was told they would request that the bar turn down the bass. No difference. I called again about 1:00 a.m. and said they needed to move me, which they did. I don't spend a lot of time in my room when I travel, but I do need to sleep. Why my request was ignored and why they would put any guest right over that bar noise is a mystery to me. There are plenty of hotels and vacation rentals in Portland so I would try somewhere else on my next trip.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 28, 2017 by Tessa Peterson, Hotel Management
I am so sorry about this. We dropped the ball big time on your request for a quiet room. If you do return to Portland, we would love to make it up to you. Feel free to reach out to the hotel and we will gladly set you up with a nice quiet room with a view.