Ratings based on 1,509 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Me clonaron la tarjeta!

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Cons: los elevadores son muy antiguos y solo hay uno funcionando
Solo estuve dos días en Portland, y pagué todo con cash, excepto el voucher que me hicieron en caso de que hubiera cargos adicionales en la habitación, para lo cual utilicé mi tarjeta nueva (ni un solo uso tuvo, excepto ese).. y un día después de regresar, ya tenía 4 cargos en Brooklyn y con banda magnética, por lo que tuvieron que clonar la tarjeta para poderlo hacer.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 25, 2016 by Tessa Peterson, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We take our guest's security very seriously. I believe our accounting department has been in contact with you to discuss your concerns.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Great location and great amenities

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: Decor, staff, bar/restaurant, location.
Cons: We had a top floor room, and the plastic shower pan was a bit out of place given the otherwise well appointed furnishings.
This was our second stay at Sentinel this year and third overall since they opened, and as usual, we were impressed. Great lobby bar, comfortable and well decorated rooms, incredibly friendly and helpful staff, and an unbeatable location. Easy to walk anywhere in the downtown area and a short ride to east Portland.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 25, 2016 by Tessa Peterson, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear that you enjoy the hotel and that our team has taken great care of you. We do hope to continue to see you on your trips to Portland.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from salt lake city

Beautiful hotel, great location

Posted Sep 8, 2016
This hotel is a historic site that's been preserved in gorgeous style. The lobby, bar and restaurant are all classic designs and very luxurious areas to hang out in. The room was quite large, comfortable and decorated in a modern, fun way that was still very luxurious. We had a great stay. The trolley stops just outside so it was easy to get around and there were tons of restaurants and coffee shops in the immediate area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 25, 2016 by Tessa Peterson, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your trip.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from nv

Love it!

Posted Aug 31, 2016
Everything is great! Locations, food , amenities, staff, room. Only thing was $43 Valet parking....
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 4, 2016 by Tessa Peterson, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I am so glad that you enjoyed your visit.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, tiny bath not well appointed

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Pros: Love it, just hate the bathrooms!
Cons: Add two sinks with a counter in the bathrooms!!! PLENTY of room to do this!!!
Location: Awesome! GREAT location!!!
Love the hotel and location. The bathrooms are way small with a pedestal sink ( ZERO room for your toiletries) They try to make up for that with a bath stand, but still not adequate
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2016 by Tessa Peterson, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review. We have maintained many of the historical elements of our hotel including our bathrooms. We are always looking for ways to improve and do take your feedback to heart.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Hotel with a lot of character. Valet parking expensive. We parked in a nearby public garage for half the cost. Had dinner at Jake's Grill in hotel. Meal was very good and service was attentive.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2016 by Tessa Peterson, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel and staff but noisy room !

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Pros: Location, staff and comfortable room.
Cons: Noisy
Location: Well located for easy walks to stores, restaurants, brew pubs, etc.
Great hotel in an excellent location. Easy walking to many interesting spots and restaurants. Superb staff who were very accommodating. Large and comfortable rooms. However, the room we had,221,was very noisy with delivery trucks parked out with their engines running. We checked in Saturday so there wasn't much noise Sunday morning but around 4:00 AM Monday it was dreadful. We let the staff know when we checked out. They apologized profusely and suggested the next time to specifically request a quiet room .
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2016 by Tessa, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit. Please let us know the next time you are in town and we will be sure to set you up with a room further away from the street noise.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

A beautiful historic hotel

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Pros: Beautiful hotel and great location.
Location: Central location in the Pearl district within walking distance of sights and stores and transportation.
We stayed for 5 days in a corner king suite at The Sentinel. It's a beautifully renovated hotel with lots of character and comfortable surroundings. The staff was friendly and accommodating, and the location was great - within walking distance of Powell's, the farmer market and next door to a block of amazing food trucks. The room was spacious and quiet with a fireplace. Highly recommended!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2016 by Tessa, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. It sounds like you were able to enjoy all of the great perks of our neighborhood. We look forward to your next visit.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient location

Posted Aug 4, 2016
Pros: Location and having a starbucks on first floor....didn't have to walk outside to access
Cons: Only downside was noise level. The bar is off the lobby and the acoustics are terrible,even with a heavy sound curtain drawn it was just too loud.
Stayed three nights playing tourist. Easy to get around, hotel staff very helpful with travel tips
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2016 by Tessa, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am glad to hear our staff took such great care of you.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel. Good location. Very Noisy.

Posted Jun 27, 2016 on Hotels
Nice hotel. Service was okay. Very very noisy. Didn't sleep both nights between the traffic/cable cars and sirens all night. We were on the 5th floor. There was a party on the 4th floor that ran until 1am. We could hear the music as it was so incredibly loud and could feel the thumping from the base. I called down stairs around 11 about it and the response I got was..."well we do have a lot of parties here". I think we should have been told about that prior to our stay. We would not have stayed there. It was an exhausting night with very little sleep.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 3, 2016 by Tessa, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. I am so sorry to hear that your noise complaint was not handled with care. While we do have quite a few weddings at our hotel we do try and keep noise levels low enough so our guests are not affected. I will be sure to follow up with our team to make sure they know that our catering team does have the ability to lower the volume in our ballrooms. I appreciate your feedback.