Ratings based on 2,070 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wonderful place.

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Quiet,very comfortable. Great buffet breakfast with eggs sausage make yourself waffles, fresh fruit. A little hard to find without a GPS. Next to Sweet Tomatoes salad bar and Elmer's diner for lunch and dinner. Expedia showed it as dog friendly but they are clearly NO pets. Also Expedia showed them as having roll away cots but they did not have those either.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Port Townsend, Wa.

Shilo Inn

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Pros: See above
Cons: I would fire half of the staff. They acted like they could care less. The buffet offered hard eggs and warm fruit!
Location: We only stayed the night and left in the morning
The hotel was clean with comfortable beds. The staff was indifferent and the buffet I wouldn't feed to my dog!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Only hotel I could find in Beaverton.

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Pros: It's in a good location and close to everything in Beaverton.
Cons: This hotel does not have pizzazz but it is very clean with beautiful flower pots everywhere. They also have a nice breakfast.
Location: Portland has great older neighborhoods that were fun to walk through. The Columbia Gorge is a must see!!
The room was very clean and the mattresses and pillows were like sleeping on clouds. There was a large water fountain outside that lulled us to sleep.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Outdated Hotel

Posted Jul 18, 2016
The only reason I said I would recommend was because of the staff. The people working at the hotel were very nice and helpful but the hotel itself needs to be updated. One example is the TVd in the rooms are tube TVs. I can't remember the last time I even saw a tube TV. I thought everyone had a flat screen HDTV.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overpriced for old property

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Pros: Staff friendliness.
Cons: Updated furniture, carpet, room lighting.
Location: Canyon Grill has good burgers.
The Shilo Inn is a tired old place. It's OK overall, but for the room price ($150) you should get a cleaner, less worn down and better lit room. It's like Portland from 1983 in there. Basic cleanliness in the room was OK, but a deeper cleaning (dusting headboards, inside lamps, etc.) is sorely needed. The furniture and carpet is worn out, doors don't close properly and overall the feeling is a bit sketchy. Loud party types outside in the common area by the fountain don't help. The beds were comfortable enough anyway. We stayed for one night, which was enough. I can't imagine staying for more than that and using it as a resort-like stay, despite the pool and nice outdoor area, unless the price was about $85 a night or less. Breakfast was included and ok too.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bonners Ferry, ID

Quiet stay

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Pros: The breakfast buffet
Cons: The mattress was too hard.
Location: It was great to get out of the terrible Portland traffic!!
The buffet breakfast was very good, and the hotel is located in a nice wooded area. However, the bed was too hard for my back.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quaint hotel.

Posted Jul 14, 2016
Pros: Quiet, clean.
Cons: New carpet in hallways and lobby. Room was fine.
Location: Geraldi's italian restaurant is FANTASTlC...walking distance, too.
We checked in last minute when the other hotel we were in was too horrible to stay. This was a nice change. Although the lobby has the aroma of a 1970's hotel, its actually very quaint with a throw-back quality. You get an actual key to the room, not a card to swipe. The grounds are nice, very green with lots of blooming flowers. The hotel was very quiet, rarely saw other guests. The front desk staff was nice. AC works great. The rooms were clean and smelled good. The sliding door opened to a nice patio.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Beautiful grounds outdated hotel

Posted Jul 3, 2016
Staff was wonderful and the outdoor area's are very nice. Hotel needs updating, smells old, carpet feels damp to my bare feet. Easy access to freeways. Clean.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UT

Hotel outside of Portland

Posted Jul 2, 2016
We liked that it was very close to Portland, but the hotel itself is older and not as comfortable. The amenities were nice, like the pool and breakfast buffet. I would only recommend to a friend if they were looking for a decent place but not necessarily a nice place.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from l

Posted Jul 1, 2016
That hotel really needs a makeover. It is very dated and the chairs in the room were damaged and ripped. Their computer system is very slow, so the check-in process took a while. But the staff was kind and the breakfast was good.