Ratings based on 2,072 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Excellent location. Old school charm.

Posted Aug 18, 2015
I have stayed here numerous times and enjoy the classic ambience. Had a nice king bed corner room on 11 for 2 nights. Always find the lobby/lounge a comfortable place for drinks and dessert, and I do love their Irish coffee. Walking distance to many restaurants and sites-a fine place to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from portland oregon

Birthday

Posted Aug 16, 2015
Pros: History
Location: close to everything downtown
Fun birthday celebration for my 14 year old grandaughter. We received sparkling cider and brownies delivered to our room!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic historic hotel in Portland

Posted Aug 10, 2015
Received an Expedia upgrade to a corner king room with a fantastic view. Very comfortable room in a beautiful historic hotel. Excellent location near the water front, Powell's Book Store and restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from l

Posted Aug 9, 2015
I loved it, it was very clean very friendly staff.I would recommend it to anyone
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

One night

Posted Aug 4, 2015
Pros: The classy old school feel.
Location: Plenty of restaurants and entertainment within walking distance.
Only one night stay but perfect. Everyone was really friendly. The room was the perfect size and really clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 11, 2015 by Ron, Hotel Management
Thank you for your 5 star review. We are pleased to see that our staff was friendly and that our guest rooms met your expectations. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future and can once again enjoy the hotel and the Portland area.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Historic charm at a cost

Posted Aug 3, 2015
Pros: The staff is incredible. Couldn't ask for a more convenient location.
I waited until two weeks before my trip to book, and didn't have lots of options. I chose the Benson thinking the charge would be worth it for the historic charm and amenities. It was great to be downtown, and the lobby is stunning, but a nice lobby really isn't worth this much money to me. There is no pool, not much of a fitness facility (they offer guest passes to a nicer facility at a "minimal charge" which I did not explore), and the rooms are underwhelming. Not very big, a bit dated, and the bathrooms are tiny. If I'm going to spend this kind of money (I'm apparently not allowed to provide rates) I want a nicer room and more extras.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great stay in Portland!

Posted Aug 3, 2015
Pros: The bar, the ambiance, the friendly staff, the concierge and the valet folks were all wonderful
Cons: I'm picky about mattresses and the ones in our room were too soft for my taste, but the room was lovely.
Location: A short walk to Gruener where we had dinner.
Great hotel, hospitable professional staff. Wonderful bar and bartender. Beautiful lobby just made you want to sit and stay all day.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 11, 2015 by Ron, Hotel Management
We are pleased to see that you found our guest rooms comfortable and enjoyed our historical ambiance. At The Benson, we strive to provide excellent service and are glad to see that it shows. Thank you for the 5 star review and for your feedback about the mattresses.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Nice hotel, small room

Posted Aug 2, 2015
We booked this hotel through the hidden price option. The room rates for the time period we were there were really high (maybe a convention going on?), so I used that option to get a better rate. I saved some money off the rack rate, but they gave us the smallest room (we saw other rooms when housekeeping was there) - it was about 100 square feet. We've stayed here before and enjoy the location, but we were penalized for trying to save money.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 11, 2015 by Ron, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are sorry to see that you were unhappy with the size of your guest room. We wish that we had been contacted while you were still on property, as we would have attempted to find you a more suitable room. We hope to see you back again with the hope of renewing your feelings about The Benson.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ashland,Oregon

Bad area of town

Posted Jul 28, 2015
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Police and cameras
Location: Strip bars and donuts
With in two hours of parking are car in a parking garage,are windows were smashed out. Thoughout the night 6 other cars had there windows smashed out.This was right across the street from the hotel.The security guard on duty said this happens every night.Lots of drug addicts and homeless people in the area.Have fun staying at the Benson hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 25, 2015
Pros: Concieege was great and helpful.
Location: Walkability to eveerything. Loved it.
Close to ;everything which is why we stayed there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 30, 2015 by Ron, Hotel Management
We are happy that our central downtown Portland location suited your needs during your recent stay at The Benson. Thank you for taking the time to write a review.