Ratings based on 3,048 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Temecula, CA

Great location within a historic hotel.

Posted Jul 9, 2017
The Benson has a glorious lobby that is very reminiscent of a early twentieth century hotel. My only criticism is that the remodeled rooms are modern and do not reflect its history. The staff is very professional and made my stay very pleasant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington

convenient to my business needs

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: quality of the food
Location: good location
good hotel experience, other than the quality of my room service salad, which had old and damaged greens.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Run down room, thrift shop hallway

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Tthrift shop ambiance. Not a single piece of furniture matched in the room . This room should have been room should have been priced at no more than $100, certainly not $250 . I stayed at the Benson many many years ago, when conditions and decour were excellent. The building still has great character, history and location. The rooms and hallways just need a general facelifting and makeover at this time. All the best, Lawrence Buyers Half moon bay California
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from W

So perfect for us on many avenues!!!

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Staff was extremely accommodating on multiple occasions and all with a smile on their faces!! Location was amazing, rooms were awesome, fitness center rocked and everything exceeded our expectations!! Thanks Benson Staff!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Great location with old school charm

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Pros: Location, service, ambiance
Cons: Bathroom sink design
Location: Food trucks, Powells Books, Lan Su Chinese Garden, VooDoo Donuts, Tom McCall Waterfront Park
You cannot beat the location of this hotel. Great downtown Portland location which makes it walking distance from most places. The hotel itself has a nice old school luxury hotel feel which is awesome. Valet service was great which made this downtown hotel even more convenient. The room service was brisk as well. The rooms here are on the smaller side but they have arranged everything such that it really doesn't appear to be small or make you claustrophobic unlike some of the other downtown hotels. My only nitpicking would be with the bathroom sink configuration. The sink was placed too far and the sink top ending too early making the water spill over the sink top when you were washing your hands! Other than this minor inconvenience, the hotel was just great and I plan to stay here on my future Portland visits!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Decent hotel, terrible customer service

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Stayed 3 nights here. Decent hotel in a good location but no VIP benefits for Expedia gold members, terrible house keeping and in general bad customer service. Housekeeping here is probably one of the worst I've seen at any hotel in my life. The sheets were never done properly or the room cleaned or arranged. Towels weren't replaced (despite following the eco instructions), soaps etc were never replaced. Which in itself isn't that bad. I'd typically just call and ask for it. Each time I called to let them know, the staff was super rude and to every complaint the response was "It's OK sir, just tell me what you want for now". The hallways of the non smoking floor ( we were on the 6th) smelt of smoke. The rooms don't have a bathtub even though on some sites it does show one. Refrigerators are not default and you have to ask for them. We did eventually get one complimentary but when we called ahead of time they asked for $15 per day charge. Microwaves are indeed $15 per day extra. Saving grace for us in the rooms were the Tempur-pedic mattresses, super comfy! Hotel has been undergoing external renovation since January and ongoing still in July. Valet is pretty good but expensive. Location is awesome but for the price you can get many other hotels in the same area that are better.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary

At heart of downtown Portland

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Bigger room
Location: Voodoo Doughnut
The hotel is at heart of downtown Portland which is really close to everything in a great location. Hotel staffs are super friendly during check in. The hotel room is a bit small, but I guess it's downtown that's why it's smaller. Other than a smaller room size compare to other hotels I stayed before in the price range. The hotel is great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from California

Great Location!

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Pros: Great staff and location.
Cons: Bathroom size, shower access. Elevators were very slow and only two lifts appeared to be running during our stay.
Location: Great restaurants, pubs and entertainment. Also, El Gaucho Restaurant is a Portland "must" for those seeking a truly special dining experience.
The location of this hotel was perfect for great Portland dining and entertainment venues. The hotel itself was wonderful; comfortable and clean, provided a long list of amenities, staffed by exceptionally friendly and professional employees, all in a charming atmosphere. Only drawback was the terribly small bathroom; there was very little counter space for personal sundries and the shower was very narrow and hard to turn on and adjust water temp before entering the shower. Despite the undersized bathroom, the bedroom was spacious and comfortably appointed with nice bedding, relaxing chair and ottoman, and the large credenza provided plenty of room and outlets for laptops, phones, etc. The staff were always friendly and always helpful. Overall, a great stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Comfortable downtown hotel with good amenities

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Pros: Fantastic bed, spacious comfortable room, nice shower.
Cons: Couple of minor mechanical issues with various fixtures.
Location: We didn't spend much time downtown on this trip but there are lots of things to do around there, shopping, restaurants, cafes, bars for example.
We were late getting into town and called the hotel to let them know. No problems checking in and we were given a very nice room. Didn't spend a lot of time in hotel as we were visiting family and had a full schedule, but everything about the hotel was nice and met or exceeded expectations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful old building with modern touches

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Cons: I would have liked more cable channels available, but not a deal breaker.
The architecture is beautiful, holding onto as much of the old décor as possible. The staff was pleasant, attentive, and responsive, and the room service was prompt and delicious. They even gave me a companion fish to keep me company in my room!