Ratings based on 2,956 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 20, 2017
Great service. It was our honeymoon and they upgraded us. Beautiful hotel, great staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Torrington, CT

Beautiful, comfortable with great staff

Posted May 14, 2017
The hotel was beautiful, staff was exceptional, elevator was too dimly lit, rooms and bedding were very comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NH

Elegant hotel, well located

Posted May 11, 2017
Staff was friendly and accommodating. Hotel was beautiful, well located and comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Redmond, OR

Date night!

Posted May 9, 2017
Wonderful food and drinks. Beds very comfortable!! Nice hot water!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Classic older hotel

Posted May 9, 2017
Pros: The staff were helpful. The location was very good.
Cons: Improve the decor of the rooms. If there was a mirror above the credenza, I could have done hair and makeup. The bathroom was just too small.
Good location but bathroom is extremely small with a very small vanity. The room is sparsely decorated and there was no full length mirror.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Classy classic hotel

Posted May 8, 2017
Pros: Delightful lobby, comfortable rooms and good breakfast.
Location: Downtown Portland is a pleasure for walking, restaurants and great coffee. The Benson is centrally located with easy access to several neighborhoods.
I've been staying at the Benson for about 25 years and have always enjoyed its warm, classic qualities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Nice hotel in downtown

Posted May 8, 2017
Very nice place to stay in downtown Portland. Great places to eat or do shopping at walking distance We got a very comfortable room, clean, quiet, with street view They offer only valet parking at $40 the night. Fortunately there is parking available nearby
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

LOVED Portland and The Benson. I will be back.

Posted May 7, 2017
Top notch service and a beautiful hotel! The staff is very friendly and fun.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mexico city

Nice elegant hotel

Posted May 2, 2017
Pros: It's downtown , it's elegant and the beds are super comfy!
Cons: Your employees should be taught to smile and be courteous. Go to the Fairmont and see the difference for yourself!
Location: The famous food trucks are close by, walking distance.
I arrived tired after driving all day around and from Victoria. The girl at the reception was there and gave us our room. Not a smile not a good evening, nothing. How nasty I thought. The room was confortable ,especially the bed , has to be the best bed ever. Soft but deliciously sturdy. And the pillows were to die for, and believe me I've stayed in 5 star hotels but none has the beds this one has!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Seattle, Wa

Pleasantly surprised!

Posted May 2, 2017
Pros: space in room, close to downtown everything
Cons: the set up of the room
Location: food, shops, public transport
Had never stayed here before but visit Portland often. Everyone was very nice and hotel was classy and comfortable!