Ratings based on 1,036 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Elegant hotel right downtown

Posted Jan 18, 2017
Cons: There are many details that feel old and improperly maintained, some areas require a bit of dusting up. In room technology is sorely outtaded.
Location: It's close to everything that's everything in downtown Portland so it's kind of hard to pick.
This is a rather beautifully decorated, albeit aging building. The staff is remarkably courteous and helpful. The rooms are a tad quaint, but very comfortable and almost luxurious in some details. I highly recommend the penthouse suites and the Presidential suite :) Room service is quick and food is delicious. The El Gauche restaurant is also right there and it provides a gorgeous dining experience. Wi Fi is surprisingly fast and reliable. The TVs in the presidential suite were surprisingly old and barely functional (the big one didn't really work, and the one in the bedroom was out of range of the remote if you laid in bed). The jacuzzi was in good working order and sanitary. The bed was simply perfect. No hassle everything - check in, upgrade, extending the stay, checkout. This is a 'VIP+' hotel for Expedia, whatever that means. Really reliable and courteous limo service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Beautiful hotel in the heart of Portland.

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Pros: Beautiful, historic building. Perfect location.
Cons: The rooms lacked coffee and tea facilities. Coffee (not tea) is available in the lobby.
Location: Very central to restaurants, food trucks, shops, the waterfront and markets.
Unfortunately I only spent one night in this lovely hotel. The lobby of The Benson is spectacular, the staff are very helpful, considerate and kind. Check in, valet parking were a breeze. The rooms are well maintained, the bathrooms are modern. We arrived in Portland mid-afternoon which allowed time for a brief stroll, before settling on a lovely restaurant on the waterfront for happy hour and dinner. The hotel is very close to the food truck park, multiple restaurants, cinemas, the water front and associated markets.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento, CA

Nice getaway

Posted Jan 13, 2017
Staff was great. They let us check in early which was wonderful since we drove in earlier than we thought. Hotel is beautiful. Reeked of marijuana on our floor in the hallway though for a couple days, even the maids were annoyed by it. Bed was comfortable. Wish we could have more control over our ac unit, was too warm at night and my husband and I both run hot. Did like that you could open the window a little to get some fresh cool air circulating during the day. Shower was amazing. We ended up having to stay an extra day due to a snow storm and they were very accommodating and thankfully we got to stay in our same room. Only reason why I wouldn't give the room 5 stars is because there was a disgusting large cockroach on the wall next to the desk in the room. Only one I saw thankfully, everything else was very clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Hotel.

Posted Jan 11, 2017
Only drawback was the two fire alarms from the pot smoker at 5:30 am and 8:00 am. Other than that this was a great stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle , WA

Nice hotel close to shopping and restaurant area.

Posted Jan 10, 2017
Beautiful hotel , very clean and great staff.i would come back and stay on my next trip! Thank you
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Although the staff was very helpful and kind the hotel itself needs quite a bit of work (which it looks like it will undergo). It felt very outdated and run down. Not very luxurious as pictures portray.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from I am a former Mayor of Tacoma, Washington.

Classic historical old world hotel.

Posted Jan 3, 2017
I stayed in the Benson 30 years ago and was eager to return. I was not disappointed. Professional staff, friendly,efficient.Nice rooms, 4 pillows for each bed. Wonderful location.I was once mayor of a city so I know something about hotels. One of the best.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from La Verne, CA

The hotel was very nice located near shopping.

Posted Jan 1, 2017
Pros: I liked the helpfulness of the staff.
Cons: Nothing
Location: The location was perfect for us we could walk to the waterfront, downtown and to our daughter's appartment
The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. The room clean and comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel. Close to everything

Posted Jan 1, 2017
The staff was very nice and accommodating. Historic hotel with interesting architecture. Room was a little small but clean and comfortable. Overall, a great place to stay!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 1, 2017
Location: Great downtown location within walking distance to good restaurants, shopping and entertainment.
Good location and very friendly and helpful staff.