Ratings based on 2,500 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cedar Rapids IA

Great Location in downtown Portland

Posted May 6, 2016
Pros: The location, the staff, the comfortable bed, the restaurant - just about everything.
Cons: The bathrooms are being renovated and it seemed strange that no towel racks were provided. If you wanted to reuse your towels, it was a challenge.
Location: Powell's World of Books, Deschuttes Brewery, Pearl District, Pioneer Square (with superb shopping opportunities), the riverfront, lots of coffeehouses
My husband and I stayed six nights at the Benson Hotel at the end of April 2016. We could not have been more pleased with the location, the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff, and the facilities. The hotel is located only 3 blocks from Powell's World of Books and 4-5 blocks from the Pearl District, home of lots of interesting shops and restaurants. Pioneer Square is an easy 4-5 blocks away. Peacock Thai Restaurant - where we ate twice in six days - is just around the corner. All in all, an extremely convenient location for walking around an extremely walkable city. The lobby area is old world elegant, with lots of wood and marble and rich upholstery. In any of our interactions with staff, we were impressed by their natural friendliness and desire for us to enjoy and appreciate their wonderful city. The hotel is connected via underground walkway to a public parking ramp - another terrific convenience. We fully enjoyed breakfast and a nightcap at the restaurant on the ground level.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from C

Dated and extremely overrated hotel

Posted May 3, 2016
Was in the Portland and Seattle area for 10 days (part business, part pleasure) and stayed in 3 different hotels with similar pricing and this was, by far, the worst. The room was very small and the bathroom was terrible. It was dirty and cramped and absolutely no countertops at all. I was glad we spent very little time in the room. Definitely not worth the price in my opinion.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted May 1, 2016
Cons: Disappointed that room was not cleaned
Friendly staff, good location, nice looking hotel. Room was comfortable, although bathroom was small.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Hotel centrally located in downtown Portland

Posted Apr 18, 2016
Check in and out was quick and simple. Valet was efficient but every expensive ($40 a night.) Our room itself was spacious enough for two adults and one baby but overall I am disappointed with the hotel. It has some charm to it, but for the most part just feels very old and outdated. Our room smelled stale, the tub was clogged, the toilet had stains all over the bowl and the AC/ heating system was very loud. Good location but there are plenty of other hotels in the area. We were there for only two nights but that was enough for us to decide we won't stay here again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from springfield, Or.

Awesome Portland hotel.

Posted Apr 18, 2016
Got upgraded, staff was awesome, checking was all of 3 mins. Shall be returning to the Benson on my next trip to Portland.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel

Posted Apr 17, 2016
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Hallways need a bit of work. There was noisy construction being done on our floor but we received a letter from the mgmnt for 10% off in the bar.
Location: Downtown Portland, easy access to everything.
Very nice hotel with all amenities. Great service, excellent valet system. Enjoyed this place very much. Made life very easy while in Portland.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Champlain

Wonderful facility and over the top staff

Posted Apr 11, 2016
Pros: Everything- Service always determines the experience
Cons: Finish renovations
Location: Wonderful downtown location
Stayed for three nights this past week and absolutely loved it. The facilities are great but the staff was over the top! Mike was the most helpful concierge I have ever encountered. It is easy to see that he both enjoys his work and has decades of hands on experience. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who values the best service!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from d

Horrible hotel I've ever stayed.

Posted Apr 7, 2016
Old, smelly, emenity is so outdated. Locked badge or key doesn't worked at all. Got loocked out of the room for the whole time I stayed there. Would not recommended to other people. I would rather stay at holiday inn....etc...
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boise, ID

Nice old historic hotel in a perfect location.

Posted Apr 5, 2016
Pros: Our room was very nice. Enjoyed the bar. Friendly staff.
Location: Right downtown. Easy walking to sights. Close to restaurants and bars, etc
Nice hotel. Great staff. Good location to explore Portland
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location in Downtown Portland

Posted Apr 4, 2016
Pros: Comfy bed, classy ambiance, great amenities
Cons: Make the gap under the door smaller.
Location: Downtown Portland - Powell's, the river, easy access to public transportation, easy freeway access to view the rest of Portland.
Our only regret at The Benson was the we couldn't stay longer. This place was classy! Live piano music in the lobby, gorgeous marble walls, welcoming staff, easy breakfast in bed option, the list goes on. The rooms are fantastic. The shower is so nice and heated up right away. I wish there had been more of a "guide" on the TV as opposed to just a channel with what was on, but that was not very important as there were great options for watching. They were under construction while we were there, but made a point to let everyone know and offered ways to make it up to their customers - excellent customer service. Parking is not cheap, but we parked across the street in a pay overnight lot. Overall a very pleasant stay. I used the Business Center to print some things and it was so easy to use everything. The computers are Macs, but you can select a Windows OS if you'd like (which I needed for what I was doing). One very weird thing: the gap under the door to the room is massive. You could put your whole hand under it. I put a towel in front of it because not only was it creepy, but light from the hallway could come in.