Ratings based on 1,041 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel great service

Posted Jan 22, 2017
We love everything! Great hotel! Convenient location, beautifly decorated for christmas. All the amenities. The restaurant has a complete menu. The bar is always busy and on certain days they play live music.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from northern Idaho

Excellent hotel

Posted Jan 21, 2017
Pros: The lounge. Our breakfasts were amazing and Kathryn was the most fantastic waitress we've ever had. She needs a raise!!
Cons: Nothing
Location: It was right "down town" next to numerous restaurants, bars and other locations. Four blocks away from the tram.
I stayed with seven other ladies from work while attending a nursing class at the Zoo. From check in to check out the staff were polite and professional. Kathryn from the lounge was EXCELLENT!! She worked quickly and really made us feel at home. She is a great ambassador for the Benson hotel and needs a raise!!!!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Seattle WA

Beautiful Historic Hotel

Posted Jan 21, 2017
Pros: The architecture and comfortable environment.
Cons: Nothing, they do a nice job.
Location: Plenty of restaurants
Staff was friendly and professional, room accommodations were very nice. I like to stay at this hotel whenever I visit Portland
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 21, 2017
A Very good and clean hotel with perfect staff! Their service is excellent, enjoyed the stay. Thank you
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing customer service

Posted Jan 20, 2017
The stay was fantastic! The hospitality was superb.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Elegant hotel right downtown

Posted Jan 18, 2017
Cons: There are many details that feel old and improperly maintained, some areas require a bit of dusting up. In room technology is sorely outtaded.
Location: It's close to everything that's everything in downtown Portland so it's kind of hard to pick.
This is a rather beautifully decorated, albeit aging building. The staff is remarkably courteous and helpful. The rooms are a tad quaint, but very comfortable and almost luxurious in some details. I highly recommend the penthouse suites and the Presidential suite :) Room service is quick and food is delicious. The El Gauche restaurant is also right there and it provides a gorgeous dining experience. Wi Fi is surprisingly fast and reliable. The TVs in the presidential suite were surprisingly old and barely functional (the big one didn't really work, and the one in the bedroom was out of range of the remote if you laid in bed). The jacuzzi was in good working order and sanitary. The bed was simply perfect. No hassle everything - check in, upgrade, extending the stay, checkout. This is a 'VIP+' hotel for Expedia, whatever that means. Really reliable and courteous limo service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Beautiful hotel in the heart of Portland.

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Pros: Beautiful, historic building. Perfect location.
Cons: The rooms lacked coffee and tea facilities. Coffee (not tea) is available in the lobby.
Location: Very central to restaurants, food trucks, shops, the waterfront and markets.
Unfortunately I only spent one night in this lovely hotel. The lobby of The Benson is spectacular, the staff are very helpful, considerate and kind. Check in, valet parking were a breeze. The rooms are well maintained, the bathrooms are modern. We arrived in Portland mid-afternoon which allowed time for a brief stroll, before settling on a lovely restaurant on the waterfront for happy hour and dinner. The hotel is very close to the food truck park, multiple restaurants, cinemas, the water front and associated markets.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento, CA

Nice getaway

Posted Jan 13, 2017
Staff was great. They let us check in early which was wonderful since we drove in earlier than we thought. Hotel is beautiful. Reeked of marijuana on our floor in the hallway though for a couple days, even the maids were annoyed by it. Bed was comfortable. Wish we could have more control over our ac unit, was too warm at night and my husband and I both run hot. Did like that you could open the window a little to get some fresh cool air circulating during the day. Shower was amazing. We ended up having to stay an extra day due to a snow storm and they were very accommodating and thankfully we got to stay in our same room. Only reason why I wouldn't give the room 5 stars is because there was a disgusting large cockroach on the wall next to the desk in the room. Only one I saw thankfully, everything else was very clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Hotel.

Posted Jan 11, 2017
Only drawback was the two fire alarms from the pot smoker at 5:30 am and 8:00 am. Other than that this was a great stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle , WA

Nice hotel close to shopping and restaurant area.

Posted Jan 10, 2017
Beautiful hotel , very clean and great staff.i would come back and stay on my next trip! Thank you