Ratings based on 2,817 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seatle

Weekend get-away

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: Location, access to/from freeways, live music, 1st class bar,
Cons: Elevators, lights.
Location: Food and Starbucks,
Rainy long-weekend get-away. Nice hotel for "just that".
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

First time pleasant experience

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: Palm lobby restaurant, valet.
Cons: check in clerk more friendly and clear of all card holds.
Location: Not many close enough restaurants as other cities, and dark streets at night.
Liked the hotel area, but not as nice as other cities I have visited. The valet was super nice and friendly and the lobby was pretty fancy. The check in was vague, and didn't mention the incidental hold they do, and when I called later to find out about a extra charge being held on my card, they then informed me, and said all hotels do that, I have never had that at a hotel, and I have stayed at The Westin, Hilton, Pan Pacific, etc etc. I have only had a incidental charge at a Best Western once in my twenty + years traveling. I thought if they take your card number, then any purchases of the mini bars are taken by that means, and not an actual hold of a dollar amount. Their restaurant was in a strange area, but the service was absolutely amazing. The food was pretty good too. Overall a nice experience and visit in the heart of Portland.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Great room with plenty of space and a very comfy bed with lots of pillows.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Beach, OR

Great location and staff!

Posted Feb 20, 2017
The Benson is conveniently located to everything you'd want to do downtown. Great restaurants and bars and their staff is top notch as well. Rooms are smaller than some other 4 star places downtown but would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Clackamas, OR

Weekend Getaway

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Pros: Historic Landmark, Great Staff, Nice Upgrade for VIP, Free Parking, Within walking distance of several restaurants
Location: Downtown PDX. Great restaurants nearby.
Local Romantic Getaway to Downtown PDX. Enjoyed the nearby dining, staff was friendly. Enjoyed the classy historical hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland Oregon

Nice good location

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Towels weren't soft and refrigerator wasn't cold good location
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 9, 2017
Friendly staff. Will definitely stay at this property next time I visit Portland.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from oakdale, ca

Close to downtown, quiet, plain walls,

Posted Feb 8, 2017
Easy location to downtown. Super friendly staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tri-cities WA

outstanding hotel in the heart of Portland

Posted Feb 3, 2017
What an accommodating hotel. The staff are very nice and Robbie the waiter at the restaurant was amazing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice, close to downtown area

Posted Feb 3, 2017
Beautiful old hotel. We live close to Portland, and just wanted to spend a night downtown, and would stay here again.