Ratings based on 76 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Auburn, Me.

Would stay there again

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Pros: Big room
Cons: Could not access internet
Location: Walks to the beach and Walkers point
Nice place if you like to relax. Room was very big with a great view of the waterfront.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

Nice hotel

Posted Apr 24, 2016
Pros: Walking distance to town and shops, lots of activities and things to see, great location
Cons: bathroom needs safety devices
Location: oceanfront dining, kayak rentals and guided trips, whale watching, scenic drives and walks
We had a one-night getaway here. Overall, we were very pleased with our stay and would recommend the hotel to a friend. The staff was extremely helpful and accommodating (even when I forgot something in the refrigerator in my room after check-out and called to ask if I could return for the item!) My only complaints were the lack of any sort of safety bar or rail in the bathroom. The tub seemed rather slippery, even with the "no-skid" surface on the bottom of the tub. It would have been so easy to slip and fall in this bathroom. If you book a room here, be sure to ask for a room that has a view of the lawn and the river. Our room did overlook the water---but the parking lot was directly below our window, which was a bit of a disappointment to me. I can only imagine the noise of cars coming and going if my stay had occurred in the busy summer season instead of in April!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great View but Dated Decor

Posted Apr 22, 2016
Stayed in best room on the property during slow season in the spa building, so it was nice and quiet. Great experience and would go there again in the future. Pros: 1. Awesome view - you can see the small hotel parking lot, but just over that is the ocean on one side and the river on the other. Best view of any hotel in the area, so far as we could tell. 2. Huge Room 3. Sweet hotel staff 4. Great spa services onsite with good prices (remember to book in advance) Cons: 1. Very dated decor that looked like it was last updated in the 90s. 2. No blackout blinds - huge negative as the light came streaming in at 5:50am everyday. 3. Bad lighting - can/spot lights over the mirrors made it almost impossible to shave or do makeup. All the cons could be easily and inexpensively fixed and would bring this property to a solid 5 rating in the future.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Georgia

Posted Apr 3, 2016
Beds were very comfortable, staff super friendly. Will definitely come back
5 out of 5
by Jayne

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 17, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Jason

Beautiful View

Posted Mar 1, 2016 on Hotels
A beautiful view from our room over the spa!
5 out of 5
by Arthur

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 29, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from southern New Hampshire

Great hotel and spa.

Posted Feb 7, 2016
My wife and I came to the breakwater for our anniversary get away. I booked a Delux room which put us in the spa building and NOT the Inn. Our room was spacious, clean and attractive. We were on the 2nd floor, and we had the option of using the elevator or the stairs. We didn't get to eat dinner at the restaurant in the Inn, but we did eat breakfast there and it was good. I received my first massage ever at the spa and my wife had a mani pedi. I was given a Swedish massage by Kelly and it was phenomenal. Staff is helpful and pleasant. We will be returning again.
5 out of 5
by Lois from Sherman Oaks, California

Breakwater Inn and Spa - always wonderful!

Posted Feb 1, 2016 on Hotels
Always a pleasure to stay at the Breakwater Inn and Spa while in New England. The service is wonderful and all amenities are perfect.
5 out of 5
by Kyle

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 17, 2016 on Hotels