Ratings based on 37 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Past its prime, but delightful all the same.

Posted Oct 17, 2014
Pros: Old fashioned style and ambience.
Cons: In-room facilities could be improved considerably, but other rooms may have been better equipped.
Location: Location is great, overlooking the estuary and the grounds are delightful. Kennybunkport is a lovely little town and well worth a visit.
We booked here because of the position and history of the place. Whilst the room that we had was not well-equipped by today's standards it was clean, comfortable and had a nice view over the water. The overall experience was good and I would stay there again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Classic hotel, felt like stepping back in time

Posted Sep 21, 2014
Pros: The beautiful grounds and gardens and fabulous ocean views were fantastic. The service from the reception desk, bellman, and all waitstaff was very p
Location: The location was perfect, remote enough to be quiet, but close enough to walk to. Shopping and restaurants. St Anthony Monastery, St Anne church, Sn
We had a wonderful restful time. We were supposed to be in Portland for two nights, but after passing through Kennebunkport and seeing the Colony, we decided to cancel our reservations when I found rooms available on Expedia for the Colony. We are so happy we did! The staff was attentive and the breakfast buffet that came with the room was great with lots of choices and a great selection of fresh fruits and berries.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from T

Beautiful old style hotel.

Posted Sep 19, 2014
Beautiful old world charm and class. Service was excellent. Would love to return here again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful classic hotel overlooking the ocean

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Wonderful location overlooking the ocean and close to kennebunkport. We got a free upgrade to an oceanview room which was great, but it also happened to be located right above a function room where there were three weddings that weekend. Although we could pretty much hear everything that was being said, the music thankfully stopped at a reasonable time in the evening. Breakfast was delicious and the view was lovely. Would definitely stay here again
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from long Island, new york

Very good location with very nice facilities.

Posted Aug 11, 2014
We found the main buildings great but the Carriage house was a bit shabby and run down. The staff was wonderful at every encounter.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

wedding weekend

Posted Aug 8, 2014
Pros: Old world charm but with modern customer service standards.
Cons: n/a
Location: Trolley bus trip that took approx 40 mins and took you to the coast, past the Bush residence, around port Arundal and town area. Lovely gardens.
We stayed for 2 nights and were delighted with our stay. We were located in east house and although initially disappointed, the rooms we had were large light and airy and had large tv and nice bathrooms. We also had air conditioning which proved exceptionally useful on such a hot weekend. Guests that were staying in the main hotel were surprised at our facilities. Breakfast was very good and the wedding fayre exceptional. Location is superb and next time we are in the area we will stay at the Colony - just loved it.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Pros: It's elegant and the staff is old-fashioned pleasant, courteous, personable and pleasant.
Cons: I don't really need a television in the room but... There is none but there are tvs where I would rather not have them... At the bar, the lunch room..
A lovely classic hotel, very well maintained. No bath robes in the room, tiny bath room, no minibar, no tv. Lots of kids everywhere, maybe works better for families than couples.
5 out of 5
by Park from Idaho Falls, ID

Wonderful hotel located in a beautiful spot

Posted Jun 15, 2014
Location: Location was convenient to restaurants and the shore. We took great walks every morning.
The hotel was a beautiful hotel in the "grand hotel" tradition. The location is beautiful with wonderful views from both the common areas and the rooms. The staff was friendly and knowledgeable.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful ocean views

Posted Jun 6, 2014
Perfect Rented bikes and rode the coast The breakfast was awesome!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lake Forest, IL

Peaceful through back near the ocean

Posted Nov 9, 2013
Location: Mabel's is a short walk from The Colony Hotel. We greatly enjoyed the food there. Family friendly and reasonably priced.
Great views of the Atlantic. Historic facility. No TV made our stay even more peaceful and relaxing. Could hear the ocean from our room. The included breakfast buffet service was outstanding. We will be returning to the hotel in the future.