Ratings based on 37 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 16, 2015
Pros: The service
Cons: Expedia did not follow-up on booking. We were lucky that they had rooms available.
The hotel is beautiful. Views of the ocean are exquisite. Great location close to everything.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NH

Old with elegant bones.

Posted Sep 30, 2015
Pros: walking distance to town and beach. Amazing pool and lot's to do.
Cons: Was fine for 2 nights but might wish a TV if staying longer or bad weather.
Location: close to town. Plenty to do close by and at the hotel.
Wanted a different experience than the normal beach hotel. Fascinating to see the beautiful old construction. Very elegant though slightly past it's prime. Fantastic saltwater pool, attentive staff and excellent breakfast buffet and service.. Stayed 2 nights which was perfect.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york

Nice location. Beautiful views

Posted Sep 19, 2015
Very relaxing atmosphere. Excellent complimentary breakfast. Great ocean setting. We'll return when possible
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Loved it!

Posted Sep 13, 2015
Hotel is beautiful from the moment you walk in the front door and see the ocean! Grounds are gorgeous, staff is wonderful and the rooms are updated and current! Can't wait to go back!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 11, 2015
Beautiful view. Nice grounds. But spotty Internet. Definitely worth going back
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Telford PA

Great Way To Experience Kennebunkport

Posted Jul 27, 2015
This hotel is beautiful and comfortable. Easy walk into the town. Food in the restaurant was very good, especially breakfast. Despite being pet friendly, it is very clean.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Upstate NY

Beautiful "old-style" hotel

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Pros: Friendly, helpful staff, lovely rooms with comfortable bed and pillows. Loved the pool and the views from the dining room as we had breakfast.
Cons: It would be nice to have tv in room. There is a tv in a lounge downstairs, but we like to watch tv in the evening before going to sleep.
Location: Kennebunkport is charming with fun shops, art galleries, and excellent restaurants. "Mable's Lobster Claw" is a walk down the hill, excellent.
The Colony is an elegant hotel in the style of the grand hotels of earlier times. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the staff is delightful and helpful. The hotel is pet-friendly, which I enjoyed, as we could visit with beautiful dogs who were all so well behaved. The swimming pool is comfortably heated and large enough to do laps, and the breakfasts were delicious. Grounds are beautifully kept, and a short walk to the beach and surf.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Would not return

Posted Jun 1, 2015
We had a horrible experience at this hotel. We knew it was an older hotel, but it was awful. No tv in the room is fine,but a comfortable chair to relax in would have been nice. And our room was adjacent to the Ball Room, which had to be set up early in the mornng with no regard for the sleeping guests. We told the staff and were shown another room, but it had only one chair and less room. We choose to check out and went to another hotel. would not return or recommend.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great old fashioned hotel by the sea

Posted Jun 1, 2015
Pros: No tv. No ac. Open windows and a breeze from the sea.
Cons: Room service would be nice.
We come here time and time again to relax and recoup from the busy pace of our life.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Beautiful historic hotel on the beach

Posted May 31, 2015
What a lovely place. We arrived at The Colony after spending 10 days in NYC, Upstate NY, and Boston. Upon pulling up to the hotel you appreciate the majesty of the place and the historical significance. Guests are greeted by friendly staff and offered champagne as you check in. The rooms are lovely and every but what you would expect in New England; chastening wallpaper and furnishings and a bathroom which exceed any expectations. There's a lovely ocean view whether you're in your room, the pool, the bar or walking around the beaches. We played shuffleboard, listens to the live music, collected seashells at the beach and enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere. The hotel offers trolly servixe which takes you directly to Dock Square and all the restaurants and shops. You can also bring your dog, many guests did. We can't wait to return and will stay time and time again at The Colony. What a fantastic experience.