Ratings based on 1,366 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mississippi

Favorite hotel

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Location: Central. Near Pioneer Square and many fine restaurants.
This was my second stay at the Heathman and I was delighted for the second time. Everything was great, the room, the staff and the location. The only bad thing was that the excellent restaurant was closed, but that is only temporary.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Hotel workout equipment didn't work;resturant and bar closed...dark halls..lobby bar area...no longer being used...computer at business section didn't work.....would not stay there again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Elegantly appointed

Posted Jul 11, 2016
Pros: It just exudes "comfort"! I was in town just overnight for a funeral, so being able to sink in to a luxurious room and be quiet was wonderful.
Cons: Could use a step stool to get into the very high bed! I'm past 60 and 5' 3" so the bed height was a challenge. Pillows were too hard; loud AC fan.
Location: Good location; walking distance to key attractions.
It wasn't busy when I checked in so the very small check-in area wasn't a problem, but I could envision it being awkward if there was a "rush". The best thing about this hotel is the staff! Everyone, from front desk to room service delivery to housekeeping is focused on guest comfort. Once again, an Expedia "upgrade" resulted in a room that had some minor flaw (there were a couple stains on the carpet heading into the bathroom; wrinkled pillowcases and a shower curtain that looked like it had been hauled from the bottom of a laundry basket) but these were VERY minor compared to fairly terrible conditions I've experienced from other hoteliers who accommodate the Expedia Gold "upgrade" with a shabby room. Room service was fast and the food very tasty. Well stocked in-room snack and mini-bar.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Heathman Hotel Portland 7/4/16

Posted Jul 5, 2016
Pros: The location and the wonderful staff, who went out of their way to be helpful and accommodating.
Cons: The parking facilities for sure.
Location: Great location, very easy walking access to most tourist attractions and great food all around.
The hotel is centrally located and the staff were super helpful and friendly. The room however was very small given the rate paid for it. The other challenge was the parking - there isn't a proper pull in area, and valet parking was the only way to manage unloading in close proximity to the hotel, and all the stuff that goes with travelling with children.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overpriced for the value

Posted Jul 2, 2016
Pros: It was quiet
Cons: move the mirror leaning against the wall. Put in an actual bar
Location: Downtown, plenty of things to do
The money we spent on a suite was not a good value at all. Our room looked directly at the side of a building with graffiti on it. There was a 7'x4' mirror leaning awkwardly against the wall next to the bed. It was comfortable enough, but to be honest I saw no difference in staying at a best western. The restaurant was closed for renovation. The beer and wine bar is not a bar at all, simply a table where you can buy beer and wine to take to your room
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Room to sleep in

Posted Jun 21, 2016
Room was very small. Bathroom was too small. Restaurant was closed for construction, but Expedia did not have that posted (did they know?). Room was clean, bed very comfortable. AC worked great.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Taipei

Very convenient, close to good restaurants

Posted Jun 17, 2016
Pros: Very central, close to restaurants
Cons: The layout of upholstery in the room
Location: Museum and farmers market and good restaurants
Rooms are reasonably sized except the restroom which appears relatively tight
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 16, 2016
Great hotel. Very classy. The is the place to stay in downtown. It is close to everything and the service is great. The room was large for a standard size room and the amenities are nice.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Olympia, WA

Heathman fan

Posted Jun 13, 2016
Pros: The Heathman décor has a wonderful vintage vibe and the rooms are nice.
Cons: Nothing comes to mind.
Location: I prefer this hotel when travel requires me to attend an event at the World Forestry Center. Ground transportation is close by for all events.
Everything about the hotel brings us back when company travel is required. The Heathman Portland is just a nice downtown hotel. It was disappointing to find the restaurant was under construction remodeling, but more travel is planned and looking forward to completion another time.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Excellent room and staff

Posted Jun 5, 2016
We only stayed one night but the staff was great. Valet, concierge and front desk all very helpful, providing great food suggestions and directions.