Ratings based on 1,520 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Classic downtown hotel.

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Heath man never fails to satisfy. The new restaurant has a few kinks to work out but the decor was very well done. Overall, my first choice in Portland.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver,BC

Great Hotel and Location

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: Comfort, location
Cons: A ramp by the front door. Handicap elevator is in poor condition
Location: All the restaurants, shops and scenery of downtown Portland is nearby
Nice classic hotel in the core of Downtown Portland. You don't need a car unless you're going outside the downtown core.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Beautiful old hotel w/ charm and character, yet with all modern conveniences as well.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

Bad experience at check-in

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: See above.
Location: LOts of good restaurants.
The staff who was at the counter was not very pleasant. Then she could not find my reservation in the system. She kept asking me when did I make the reservation. I told her it was from Expedia. She till could not find it. Asked me to show her any booking record. I showed the booking print out. The date that I booked was there but she did not how to look for it. She could find it. Then she could to call another staff over to ask for help. I told them they needed to upgrade there system. Then finally the other taff just told her to give me a room. Very bad experience. Will not stay with this hotel again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LA

Nice hotel in downtown

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Perfect location in the heart of downtown. Walked to all the downtown venues - restaurants, bars, parks, the esplanade, and Portland landmarks - i.e. the White stag sign, weird wall, Keller fountain, etc. For sites not within walking distance, the light rail and/or bus lines were super convenient! We even got lost on our way to Washington Park - but that was no biggie going back. Did rent a car just for one day to view the multnomah falls and drive along the Columbia river gorge - beautiful! must do when you're in Portland :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Unbelievable amenities and service!

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Unbelievable amenities and service at the Heathman Hotel. The staff were great, you can have a free beer, they upgraded my room to a suite, they sent me a text to make sure my wifi was working, and the list goes on and on. The room was decorated beautifully and very clean. The hotel is in a nice location in downtown Portland as well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Downtown Portland

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Hotel was great except bathroom being a little small!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 6, 2017
Loud door closings in the Hotels hallways where the rooms are. Door closers need to be adjusted to make quieter doors. Hotel looks a little dated and wore but Hotel was very good and helped us in many way over our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Eugene Oregon

Gorgeous downtown hotel!

Posted Apr 6, 2017
Pros: The furnishings and attention to detail....
Cons: Option for a breakfast package....your restaurant is so lovely, I would encourage your guests with some kind of free or discounted breakfast!
Location: Portland Art Museum, walking along the river, and Higgins for lunch and Gilda's for dinner....and perfect Portland day!
Warm positive greeting from front desk...gorgeous room....attentive service....pretty city view...excellence in every aspect...plan to stay again...one of the best in Portland Oregon
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Our experience at the Heathman Hotel.

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Cons: We did call down to the front deck and spoke to a lady regarding sending up a bandage .. She assured us it would be coming right up.....NO SHOW!!!!
I was greeted by the best bell staff who offered dinning recommendations. The front deck went out of there way to accommodate all of our requests.. The room was spotless and nicely appointed.