Ratings based on 1,487 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

A perfect escape...

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: The staff ... they were amazing and real.
Cons: Continue and update frequently ... all will be well.
Location: Kell's Irish pub is a 10 minute walk along with many other theatres, venues and bars.
A Portland fixture that brings the charm of vintage Europe to the modern world. The restaurant Headwaters was fabulous and seated us with smiles even though it was only 30 minutes til closing. The staff was kind, and thoughtful. It was genuine and I believe they really loved their jobs. The room was immaculate and had so many amazing amenities in a cozy space. The hotel is in the heart of downtown with everything within walking distance.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel was not worth the price. Old and outdated.

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Booking on Expedia pretty much guarantees you will get the worst room every time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CA

Posted Feb 20, 2017
The hotel is in a good location to walk around the city. The room was nice, clean and pretty big for a family of 4. The only issue we had was that the bathroom kind of had a weird smell, almost a little like sewage, which was tolerable but annoying for the price paid.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Gorgeous hotel right downtown

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Pros: Staff, location and the room was nice.
Location: Right downtown.
The staff were amazing, very friendly and accommodating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Truckee, CA

Awesome way to see Portland

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Pros: Staff room beautiful bar area close to downtown Portland.
My husband and I were there for the night and were greeted by a warm staff. Our room was excellent and clean they even upgraded us at no additional cost. The staff were very helpful in pointing us to great thinkgs to do and see in a Portland.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Saint Paul, MN

Far more than I expected for the price

Posted Feb 10, 2017
The whole experience from check in to check out was outstanding. Great staff, amenities and service!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Classy old world style property

Posted Feb 8, 2017
Very comfortable room with nice touches I liked the tea and coffee making options
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from oregon

Furnishings Are Lovely

Posted Jan 31, 2017
We were given an upgrade with no extra fee so we could have a sofa bed. The staff were attentive. We got two emails letting us know the staff could help with our stay. The hotel fire place area was a great place to read the morning papers and drink coffee. January had the lowest prices. Will come again. We had gone to the symphony the night before so the location was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

3rd stay at the Heathman in downtown Portland

Posted Jan 18, 2017
Pros: Location, staff, beautiful warm and charming hotel, the restaurant.
Cons: Maid service could come a little earlier in the day.
Location: Shopping, Tasty n Alder, Multnomah Whiskey Library, Little Bird, the Pearl, etc...
The staff was the highlight this time, from Josh at the door to the folks at the front desk and even the staff at the newy remodeled restaurant, which was great, the Heathman is where I will always stay when visiting PDX. I should add that I lived in the Pearl District for 7 years, and had to move to LA a year ago. So I'm quite familiar with the hotel options in the area. Shopping at Mario's... I walked to the Little Bird (amazing French food) and walked to Stumptown and the Ace Hotel.. all in the snow and ice. The location is excellent.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A downtown Portland mainstay

Posted Jan 17, 2017
My experience, which wasn't "bad" is summed up by 1-ply toilet paper and a heater fan that ran constantly all night. Add in no fan in the bathroom and, other than book lovers enjoying the library, I'm not sure why you'd choose The Heathman over any other hotel in downtown Portland.