Ratings based on 1,545 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

So lovely!! Welcome with sparkling wine!!!!

Posted May 24, 2017
Pros: So Classy!
Staff was so amazing! Thank you for the wonderful memories!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from British Columbia, Canada

Close to everything downtown, great location

Posted May 23, 2017
Stayed here for 4 nights, great location, friendly staff. Service at attached restaurant wasn't fabulous.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Sad stay in my hometown

Posted May 22, 2017
Cons: service
The service was terrible starting with the check in and it went down from there.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

The real check in time was 5.45 pm !!!

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: the chandelier in the waiting area
Cons: operations
No rooms were available at the check in time (4 PM). We were told to wait 30 minutes. Nothing after 30 min either. More waiting and, finally, at 5.45 PM we walked into what they call a "deluxe room". Badly cleaned too...
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Native of Portland

Disappointed in my home town.

Posted May 17, 2017
Pros: The Classic Old Portland Hotel is lovely and has a fabulous restaurant on site. I thought this an ideal location to treat my Mother.
Cons: Service. I kept thinking that it was just the gentleman checking me in but it was absolutely everywhere.
Location: Shopping close by. Headwater Restaurant, connected to Hotel, is top notch.
Well, I wrote this the day after the experience and decided not to submit it. I called the hotel and left a message with the Manager instead, voicemail. After no response, I called again. Voicemail once again. It is Wednesday morning and my stay was on Saturday evening. I do not have anything positive to say. There is no focus on service at all. Perhaps the place is in crisis mode. I am in the service industry myself and my experience at the Heathman Hotel leaves me speechless.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Disappointed

Posted May 12, 2017
Pros: Décor.
Cons: Comfort of customers.
Location: Location was downtown, and convenient if you needed to be there. Not great if you do not need to do anything in the downtown area.
Looked all over (especially in the closet) for hair dryer - there was not one in room. Went to call out of the room and phones did not work. Quickly got dressed and went to desk with wet hair. Restaurant service was terrible (had to ask for silverware after food brought to table, took a very long time to get seated, had to ask for a napkin) Room and bathroom were tiny. (A man over 5'5" would not be able to fit in bathroom comfortably) No spoon to measure out coffee in room. Had to guess how much to put in coffee press.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 12, 2017
Cons: Room service was slow and not very professional, coffee with no spoons, not consistent, sometimes with a hot pot sometimes without and cold.
Love rhe Heathman! The staff is friendly and very helpful. The most comfortable bed!! Great location and the Valet staff is fast and professional. Only complaint is room service. 45 minutes for cold coffee with no spoons.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 10, 2017
Beautiful hotel and room! Definitely will be back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good downtown location for shopping

Posted May 8, 2017
Pros: In-room slippers and robes were a nice perk!
Cons: Lindsey at the concierge desk is awful. She is unpleasant, not helpful, and downright rude. The ice machine on our floor was broken.
Location: Close to Nordstrom and other good shopping, high end restaurants nearby.
Room was nice and comfortable, although a bit stuffy and it was too loud to keep the windows open due to construction noise on the street below. There was a bit of confusion at the valet at arrival, also due to construction clogging up the street. The front desk staff and parking attendants were great, the concierge was rude and unhelpful. Overall, we had a pleasant stay in a nice location central to shopping in downtown.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Terrible Hotel

Posted May 4, 2017
The hotel is very old. The bed was very uncomfortable. The need to buy new mattress The drainage of the sink didn't work in our room, so the move us out to another ugly room with an ugly decor. In general the carpet is very old The need to renew it. It hotel should be 2 stars no 4 Please don't waste your money stay in another place