Ratings based on 1,524 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manhattan

Classic and historic without the 'dated' feeling

Posted Apr 26, 2017
Pros: The staff, the location, the adjoining restaurant, the 2nd floor balcony lounge area, etc.
Cons: Wish the bathroom had a switch to turn on a ventilation fan for moisture removal.
We only had a short one-night stay, but we are glad we chose this location. The staff were very nice. The valet was professional and there was no pressure to quickly unload or load to free up the loading zone. Check-in staff were friendly, informative, and offered us a free beer. We ate at the adjoining restaurant for breakfast and found it to be very good. Our room was quiet, in good condition, if not particularly large. The bed was comfortable and everything from the TV to the coffee maker worked fine. (A French press in a private hotel room is a nice touch!)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Great location.

Posted Apr 25, 2017
The hotel was great but misleading advertising by Expedia cost us approximately $200 more for a three night stay. Expedia advertised that parking is free. It is not. Further Expedia prices do not include resort fees.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Elegant hotel with fine dining, strategically loca

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Best place for a girlfriend weekend. Walked downtown, to the museum, back across the bridge after a Moda Center game. Elegant surrounding. It was a pleasure.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel and Great location.

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: Location. Spaciousness of rooms.
Great hotel conveniently located to Pioneer Courthouse Square and public transportation. Rooms are big and updated. Great grand tea room. There is a restaurant attached to the hotel. Staff is excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Classic downtown hotel.

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Heath man never fails to satisfy. The new restaurant has a few kinks to work out but the decor was very well done. Overall, my first choice in Portland.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver,BC

Great Hotel and Location

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: Comfort, location
Cons: A ramp by the front door. Handicap elevator is in poor condition
Location: All the restaurants, shops and scenery of downtown Portland is nearby
Nice classic hotel in the core of Downtown Portland. You don't need a car unless you're going outside the downtown core.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Beautiful old hotel w/ charm and character, yet with all modern conveniences as well.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

Bad experience at check-in

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: See above.
Location: LOts of good restaurants.
The staff who was at the counter was not very pleasant. Then she could not find my reservation in the system. She kept asking me when did I make the reservation. I told her it was from Expedia. She till could not find it. Asked me to show her any booking record. I showed the booking print out. The date that I booked was there but she did not how to look for it. She could find it. Then she could to call another staff over to ask for help. I told them they needed to upgrade there system. Then finally the other taff just told her to give me a room. Very bad experience. Will not stay with this hotel again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LA

Nice hotel in downtown

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Perfect location in the heart of downtown. Walked to all the downtown venues - restaurants, bars, parks, the esplanade, and Portland landmarks - i.e. the White stag sign, weird wall, Keller fountain, etc. For sites not within walking distance, the light rail and/or bus lines were super convenient! We even got lost on our way to Washington Park - but that was no biggie going back. Did rent a car just for one day to view the multnomah falls and drive along the Columbia river gorge - beautiful! must do when you're in Portland :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Unbelievable amenities and service!

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Unbelievable amenities and service at the Heathman Hotel. The staff were great, you can have a free beer, they upgraded my room to a suite, they sent me a text to make sure my wifi was working, and the list goes on and on. The room was decorated beautifully and very clean. The hotel is in a nice location in downtown Portland as well.