Ratings based on 124 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Institutional rooms

Posted Sep 21, 2015
Pros: common areas were nice.
Cons: see above. The rooms have no character at all. Sort of "motel-6" inserted into an old building. Air conditioning units are noisy.
Location: nearly everything closed up by 7pm. Nearby was busy when we arrived at 5, but very quiet and nothing much to do after dinner.
I would not recommend this inn to anyone. It seems clear the owners/managers are primarily focused on the restaurant and their food network profiles, rather than the inn itself. The common rooms have some character, but the rooms (we stayed in Adams) felt very institutional, small, dark and dingy. There was only one chair in our room, no pictures on the walls, flooring was in bad condition (repairs to hardwood not made professionally) and virtually no shelves in the bathroom (a plastic shower curtain- really? in a historic inn?). I would challenge the owners to stay in one of their rooms to "experience" their inn from the perspective of the customers. My main impression was that with even a small investment and some attention/care to the rooms this could be improved, but, this is apparently not the goal of the owners (to make the inn a nice experience and worth the cost). This is not a B&B, and even so - we were promised at least OJ and coffee in the morning which by 8:30am was gone. Also when we were there, someone had a valuable purse stolen from the room -. Front desk staffing was problematic - multi-tasking led to no-one being around most of the time.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Do not book this inn!

Posted Aug 30, 2015
Not well maintained, extremely over priced old inn 10 miles from the action in Kennebunkport. We actually left and drove home early it was that disappointing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Wilmot, NH

Comfortable inn a few minures from Kennebunkport

Posted Aug 20, 2015
Pros: Homey atmosphere, excellent food, close to tourist attractions but away from the busy and over crowded streets and intersections.
Cons: Almost slipped and fell getting into the tub. Having a grab bar would be helpful for short folks.
Location: Minutes to Kennebunkport where there is shopping, schooner rides, horse and carriage rides, lobster trips, biking and dining.
The Kennebunk Inn is a historical building with original hardwood floors and lots of charm and character. We ate outside on the private patio to the wonderful sounds of the brass band performing in the Pavillion next door. The food was excellent and the bartender was topnotch. You can relax and have an after dinner cocktail in the parlor by the fireplace or sit outside on the front porch in a rocking chair. It does not have the fancy 21st century on suite type bathroom but it is clean and homey. My husband is a history buff and loved the atmosphere!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Don't expect to sleep.

Posted Aug 11, 2015
Window air conditioner was loud so I turned it off and opened the window and listened to the traffic on Main Street ALL NIGHT. Didn't sleep at all
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bermuda

Older Hotel OVERPRICED.!

Posted Aug 9, 2015
Pros: Staff were friendly when on duty. Nothing moves until 7.00am
Cons: See above
Location: Very noisy and nothing to do nearby.
Staff very helpful , older type hotel with lots of stairs and no elevators, (we had to carry 5 pieces of luggage up 2 flights of stairs), hardly any space in the room to store anything, things are very tight, small flat screen television could do with upgrading to something seeable. Bathroom even smaller with a tiny shower stall, difficult to turn round in and we are both MEDIUMS not XXL. no where to stand anything. This place has a nice restaurant but does not do BREAKFASTS, and DOES NOT OPEN SUNDAYS OR MONDAYS.?? which we thought was mighty peculiar as there was very little choice around about the place. THE COOKIE JAR WAS ALWAYS EMPTY.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from CT

Pet friendly

Posted Jul 3, 2015
Pros: Location
I chose the inn because it is pet friendly and it exceeded my expectations. The inn is in a great location, the staff was great and our room was comfortable. The decor shows a bit of wear, but it was much nicer than other places we have stayed with our small dog. We would definitely stay again. We paid a $15.00 charge to have the pet with us, which is within the range of what we have paid at other lodging during our travels.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oakland CA

Historic Hotel large room- deep clawfoot tub

Posted May 24, 2015
Pros: most everything, used their phone for local calls, no drop calls on cell,
Cons: availability of car or taxi service
Location: great shopping , good eats, sevices near by.....easy waking to most every thing in town and 4 miles or less to port with really great crafts & lodging
Was very happy with every thing. historic hotel with wonderful deep claw-foot tub = luxurious bathing... famous chef in kitchen... been to many restaurants in and out of town. ate in 3 meals in two days on site food at all price points did not choose expensive items yet delighted with items will go back again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NH

Needed a pet friendly inn

Posted Mar 10, 2015
Pros: We did sleep well in the bed, comfortable
Location: Not much to do within walking distance
Very disappointed in our room and location. Not much to do in center of Kennebunk... but Kennebunkport just a 10 minutes ride away wit nice shops and eats. Our rom was et friendly, which I guess means 'run down' room. Floors were slanted, toilet not stable on the floor, old old plumbing. Room was small and I did not feel safe, as they leave the back door unlocked 24/7 and the only thing between us and a crime was an old fashioned door lock! Oh, and public skating rink with loud music 2 feet away!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

VIntage Inn with convenient in town location

Posted Nov 17, 2014
A nice enough place. We had a "pet friendly" suite that consisted of 2 relatively cramped, typically Inn-noisy rooms with not a particularly comfortable place to sit in either -- which you might expect with a so-called suite. The 2 flat screen TVs the host bragged about seemed unnecessarily small, and not much larger than a computer monitor. The bar, restaurant and lobby had a nice, comfortably vintage feel to them. That was probably the best aspect of the Inn - at least given the room we had.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London, England

Quirky and old

Posted Nov 11, 2014
Pros: See above
Cons: Bar meals to complement the cordon bleu
Location: See above
The Kennebunk Inn is one of the places you stay if you don't like cloned motels. It was built in 1779 and has been retrofitted, so there are oddities - like the air conditioning piped out through a low and narrow window in our room. Ask when you book for a room with a full window. There are two flights of stairs and no lifts, so bear that in mind. And it can sometimes take 15 minutes for the shower to get hot. But you're not in any hurry, are you? We loved it. It smells of beeswax and furniture polish, with wooden floors and rambling corridors. It looks like a travel brochure illustration, white and clapboard, with a verandah with rocking chairs to watch the world go by. The food is high class, but pricy. Disappointingly, Kennebunk doesn't seem to have a diner where you can get a traditional heart attack breakfast, although there is a cafe next door with 10% discount for Inn guests. Get some muffins and bagels and enjoy them with free OJ and coffee in the morning room. Then get out into the countryside, particularly the beautiful wild beach. The much recommended Kennebunkport is actually a bit "Kiss-Me-Quick" (English for Boardwalk-fairground style) for our taste, but Kennebunk itself is actually a nice small town. You can imagine a production of Our Town here using the locals as cast. An Inn with history and soul.